UCF Research Guides: European Union (EU): Academic Resources

Key Journals

Journal of Contemporary European Research
The JCER is an open-access, academic journal published by UACES (University Association for Contemporary European Studies) in conjunction with the UACES Student Forum.
Journal of Contemporary European Studies
Seeks to provide a forum for interdisciplinary debate about the theory and practice of area studies as well as for empirical studies of European societies, politics and cultures.

Key Political Science Databases

***NOTE*** PAIS is a UCF subscription databases. Open access is available to anyone on campus, but off-campus access is limited to UCF students, faculty & staff.

PAIS Index (ProQuest) (1915+) This link opens in a new window
contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, & more.
The print index provides coverage for 1915-1974 - Main Library Reference H1.P8
"PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original, historical subject headings have been retained. PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century’s most important public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate."
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online (1991+) This link opens in a new window
Theory & research in international affairs, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs.

Other Related Databases

***NOTE*** these are UCF subscription databases. Open access is available to anyone on campus, but off-campus access is limited to UCF students, faculty & staff.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of research journals and eBooks from numerous publishers. For most of the journal content, we can access all but the 3 to 5 most recent years of the journal.

Lexis-Nexis
The European Union, Commonwealth & Foreign Nations section of Lexis-Nexis provides full text searching for EU primary sources, using Terms and Connectors and Natural Language. EU-related databases include:

EUR-Lex EU Law Database: Treaties
EUR-Lex EU Law Database: Legislation
EUR-Lex EU Law Database: Combined Files
EUR-Lex European Union Cases
Smit & Herzog on the Law of the European Union

World Development Indicators (World Bank) (1960+) This link opens in a new window
"provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960."
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) (1975+) This link opens in a new window
provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Working Papers

Center for European Policy Studies
A Brussels based center that publishes on economic, financial, and security policy.
The Swedish Institute for European Policy Studies
The official website of The Swedish Institute for European Policy Studies, which publishes working papers on all aspects of European Policy Research.