An interdisciplinary research centre in the social sciences, ECASS is supported by the European Commission Access to Research Infrastructures program. It specializes in comparative and longitudinal data analysis and is a centre for the production and analysis of household panel studies as well as longitudinal research
Overview Sheets do exactly what they say on the tin! These sheets will provide you with a first glance at the European Union – its history, its framework, how it works and the arguments that are used when debating it. Read these before delving deeper as they will help make sense of the background and context of the individual factsheets!
The website for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission. Since 1973, the European Commission has been monitoring the evolution of public opinion in the Member States, thus helping the preparation of texts, decision-making and the evaluation of its work.
Eurocoin is a coincident indicator of the Euro area business cycle. The indicator provides an estimate of the monthly growth of Euro area GDP - after the removal of measurement errors, seasonal and other short-run fluctuations.
The official European Union website for economic and financial issues. It provides news and information on the economic and financial policy of the EU, including the Stability and Growth Pact and historical documentation of European Monetary Union (EMU).
The European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA) was set up in 1993. It is one of 11 independent agencies established by the European Community to work on specific topics ranging from education and training to the environment and drugs.
This European wide social survey aims to " ... chart and explain the interaction between Europe's changing institutions and the attitudes, beliefs and behaviour patterns of its diverse populations". The survey now covers at least 30 nations and is funded by the European Commission.
A large-scale, cross-national, and longitudinal survey research program on basic human values, initiated by the European Value Systems Study Group (EVSSG) in the late 1970s, at that time an informal grouping of academics." Data on surveys is available from 1981 onwards.
The role of EURYDICE, the Information Network on Education in Europe, is to promote the exchange and the production of reliable and comparable information on education systems and on national policies in the field of education in Europe.
This website was updated in 2008 and offers information on how the European Union works. Click on a graphic to view information on: the candidate countries, population, education, European at work and other sections.
Part of the Eurobarometer service in the European Union, this site contains the results of a series of public opinion surveys on attitudes to the Single European Currency. These run from 2002 to the present day.
The Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs (ECFIN) has been publishing a wealth of reports, studies, and analyses since the late 1970s. Publications can be obtained for free from this site.
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
"provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960."