Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCF Libraries Home

Coronavirus Update: See Coronavirus Info for updates about the UCF Libraries and the Academic Resources guide for other information about access to resources.

Graduate Nursing Library Resources: Nursing Leadership & Management Track: Peer-reviewed

Peer Reviewed Journals

Peer Reviewed Journals

Peer reviewed or refereed journals are scholarly publications that publish articles that have been through a review process by a peer group.

  • article is critically evaluated by other specialists or scholars in article’s subject area during the review process and before publication.
  • how do scholarly publications differ from magazines read "What’s the Difference? Scholarly Journals vs. Magazines" https://guides.ucf.edu/c.php?g=78405

How do I find a peer reviewed or refereed journal article?

  • Easiest way is use the limiter in a database.
  • Check the Help section of the database for assistance in using available limiters.
  • Many databases allow you to limit to scholarly journals directly from the results list.
  • Some databases contain only scholarly resources.
  • Look for information that describes the database or check the Help section.

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory is a database that provides detailed information about journals, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Search by journal title to find publication and format information, where the journal is indexed, and if it's refereed (peer reviewed).
  • Do not use Ulrich's to search for articles or article titles.
  • Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory is available via Articles & Databases from the UCF Library home page (login required).

More information can be found on the following web sites:

Peer-Reviewed or Refereed Journals
https://guides.ucf.edu/refereed?hs=a

NCSU Peer Reviewed in Three Minutes
http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/pr/