Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCF Libraries Home

Coronavirus Update: See Coronavirus Info for updates about the UCF Libraries and the Academic Resources guide for other information about access to resources.

Graduate Nursing Library Resources: Nursing Leadership & Management Track: Terminology

Terminology

Abstract: A short summary of an article, book, document, or non-print item, written by the author or a member of the editorial staff.

Bibliographic: The descriptive components of an item such as; edition, authors, volume, issue numbers, date, etc.

Boolean: The terms AND, OR, NOT, which are used to link groups of concepts when searching online.

Call Number: A representation that indicates an item’s shelf location usually based on subject.

Citation: The information about a book, article, document, or non-print item that identifies it. Pertinent data include author, title, date, and page numbers.

Database: An organized collection of electronic records that are standardized in format and content, which can be searched using specific techniques.

E Z proxy: The previous method for accessing UCF databases from off campus. Required login with an activated 14-digit UCF library number. It has been replaced by OpenAthens which authenticates using your NID and NID password.

Field: A subdivision of a database record; e.g., Title, Author, Date, or Subject Heading.

Full Text: Articles, books, or other items that can be displayed or obtained in their entirety online. Usually available in either HTML, PDF, or Text format (see related definitions).

Get Full Text: A link that connects a search result in a database to the full text of that article, if available, and/or to other relevant library resources and services. Also known as SFX.

HTML Format Articles: Articles or other items converted to HTML (Hypertext Markup Language) for display or distribution on the World Wide Web. Can include graphics or images from the articles.

Index: A resource that provides access to the contents of a file, document, or group of documents.

Internet: A worldwide interconnected network of computers.

ISBN: International Standard Book Number.

Journal: A periodical, particularly one containing scholarly articles.

Keyword: Words used in database and internet searching that appear in any number of fields which describe an article, book, document, or non-print item.

Magazine: A periodical which contains articles on various subjects designed for general reading.

Online Catalog: A compilation of computer records that provide access to a library’s collection.

PDF Format Articles: Articles or other items converted to Portable Document Format, a file format created by Adobe and which displays as an “image” of the original article. To display PDF documents, you need a copy of Adobe Reader installed on your PC.

Peer-Reviewed Journals: Journals where articles are evaluated (refereed) by subject specialists before being accepted for publication.

Periodical: A serial that is published at regular intervals, generally more frequently than once a year.

Search Strategy: A systematic process used to find the most relevant information on a topic.

Serial: A publication issued in successive parts intended to be continued indefinitely.

SFX: A link that connects a search result in a database to the full text of that article, if available, and/or to other relevant library resources and services. Also known as Get Full Text.

Subject Heading: A valid term or descriptor that is part of a controlled vocabulary used to describe the contents of a book, article, document, or non-print resource.

Text Format Articles: Articles or other items displayed in ASCII (or plain) text which displays only the text characters of the item; not the format, color, or any graphics.

Thesaurus: A compilation of terms providing a standardized or controlled vocabulary, including broader, narrower, and related terms.

Truncation: A search strategy method where variants of a word are searched by replacing one or more letters with a symbol.

World Wide Web: A hypertext system for finding and accessing information on the Internet.