Introduction
Professional writing is a multidisciplinary subject with no dedicated subject database. Therefore, you should explore databases in related subject areas such as business, language, psychology, education, and others. You can access our extensive collection of databases through the database portal where you can browse and explore them by subject area. This will involve some trial and error until you discover which databases and keywords work for you. Here's a selective list of some databases that will have content relevant to professional writing.
Key Databases
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+)The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
- CompPileAn inventory of publications in post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse studies.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) (1966+)ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- JSTORFull text of research journals and eBooks from numerous publishers. For most of the journal content, we can access all but the 3 to 5 most recent years of the journal.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest) (1973+)abstracts & indexes the international literature in linguistics & related disciplines in the language sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) (1952+)
This link opens in a new window
Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.
