UCF Research Guides: CHM 4930/4931 Chemistry Senior Seminar: Chemical Safety

Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)

Where to Find Material Safety Data Sheets on the Internet

DISCLAIMER: The Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) found in these links are available for information only. Since the composition of materials may vary by manufacturer, always consult the MSDS specifically issued for the product you are using.

The Safety Zone

The Safety Zone covers chemical safety issues in academic and industrial research labs and in manufacturing. It is intended to be a forum for exchange and discussion of lab and plant safety and accident information without the fanfare of a news article. Written primarily by C&EN senior editor Jyllian Kemsley, the blog also includes contributions from other C&EN staff writers as well as health and safety experts in academia, industry, and government.

The Journal of Chemical Health and Safety focuses on news, information, and ideas relating to issues and advances in chemical health and safety. Official Publication of the ACS Committee on Chemical Health and Safety

Featured Safety Publications & Resources

Chemical Data Government Resources

OSHA Occupational Chemical Database
"compiles information from several government agencies and organizations. Available database reports include: "Physical Properties," "Exposure Guidelines," "NIOSH Pocket Guide," and "Emergency Response Information," including the DOT Emergency Response Guide."

NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
PubChem databases (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
Household Products Database (National Library of Medicine)
NIOSH/WHO International Chemical Safety Cards
available in Chinese, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish, Swahili, Thai, Urdu, and Vietnamese

TOXNET (NIH)
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals and related areas.
Most visited
- HSDB: Hazardous Substances Data Bank. Peer-reviewed toxicology data for over 5,000 hazardous chemicals
- TOXLINE: 4 million references to literature on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals
- ChemIDplus: Dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures)
Breastfeeding & Drugs
- LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database. Drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed
Developmental Toxicology Literature
- DART: Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database. References to developmental and reproductive toxicology literature
Chemical Releases & Mapping
- TOXMAP: Environmental Health Maps provides searchable, interactive maps of EPA TRI and Superfund data, plus US Census and NCI health data
- TRI: Toxics Release Inventory. Annual environmental releases of over 600 toxic chemicals by U.S. facilities
Genomics
- CTD: Comparative Toxicogenomics Database. Access to scientific data describing relationships between chemicals, genes and human diseases
Household Product Safety
- Household Products Database: Potential health effects of chemicals in more than 10,000 common household products
Occupational Exposure to Chemicals
- Haz-Map: Links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms
Risk Assessment
- IRIS: Integrated Risk Information System. Hazard identification and dose-response assessment for over 500 chemicals
- ITER: International Toxicity Estimates for Risk. Risk information for over 600 chemicals from authoritative groups worldwide
Animal Testing Alternatives
- ALTBIB: Resources on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing
Archived, No Longer Updated
- CCRIS: Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System. Carcinogenicity and mutagenicity test results for over 8,000 chemicals
- CPDB: Carcinogenic Potency Database. Standardized analyses of the results of 6,540 chronic, long-term animal cancer tests
- GENE-TOX: Genetic Toxicology Data Bank. Peer-reviewed genetic toxicology test data for over 3,000 chemicals

Haz-Map
Haz-Map now covers over 9,170 chemical and biological agents and 241 occupational diseases and is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work. It also links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms.