Modern & Contemporary American Poetry & Poetics

The Poetry Society of America, the nation's oldest poetry organization, was founded in 1910. Its mission is to build a larger and more diverse audience for poetry, to encourage a deeper appreciation of the vitality and breadth of poetry in the cultural conversation, to support poets through an array of programs and awards, and to place poetry at the crossroads of American life.

Founded in 1934 in New York City, the Academy of American Poets is the nation's leading champion of American poets and poetry, with members in all fifty states. Its mission is to support American poets at all stages of their careers and to foster the appreciation of contemporary poetry. It is also guided by its publicly stated values of anti-racism, collaboration, equity, and inclusion.

This site is a comprehensive guide to locating poetry resources available on the Library of Congress's Web site. Major areas of the Library's Web site that include poetry resources are listed at the right. Select a link to view a description of and links to poetry resources available through each area.

A University at Buffalo Libraries Special Collection, the Poetry Collection is the library of record for 20th- and 21st-century poetry in English. Founded in 1937 by Charles Abbott, the Poetry Collection now holds one of the world’s largest collections of poetry first editions and other titles, little literary magazines, broadsides and anthologies; a substantial collection of artworks; and more than 150 archives and manuscript collections from a wide range of poets, presses, magazines and organizations.

The poetry library of record for the 20th Century.

The Poetry Center is a leading literary institution and a living archive of poetry. As a premier example of a thriving public/private partnership, the Poetry Center connects the University of Arizona with the greater literary community in Tucson and beyond.

Presents the best poetry of the modern and contemporary era.

Among the largest and most comprehensive independent poetry collections available to the public in open stacks anywhere in the country, the Reed Foundation Library at Poets House houses over 70,000 poetry books and related materials, all freely accessible to poets, readers, researchers, and the broader poetry community.

The largest public collection of modern poetry in the world.

Each year, Attic Institute founder David Biespiel accepts 2-4 writers into Highgate, a private, one-on-one workshop for writers interested in close, in-depth feedback. Highgate consists of guidance and instruction based on the idea that accountability, ambition, and tailored goals lead to achievement, growth and joy as a writer.

The Writers Grotto is a community of working writers and narrative artists who connect in physical and virtual space, pooling our talents to support each other, mentor and teach others, and engage the wider world. The Grotto fosters a literary culture that is generous in spirit and deeply inclusive, elevating writers of all backgrounds.

GrubStreet works to remove social, cultural, and institutional barriers in order to facilitate and support an expansive and equitable artistic ecosystem where all voices thrive and where storytelling flourishes. This mission is essential because our collective voices have the power to shape a more just and connected world by revealing truths, transforming lives, and deepening human understanding.

Hugo House opens the literary world to everyone who loves books or has the drive to write. It is our mission to give people a place to read words, hear words, and make their own words better. We strive to create a place where that vision comes to life. Where experienced writers become teachers, sharing the craft with new writers. Where passionate readers gather to discuss a new novel. Where writers of all ages find quiet corners to hone their ideas. Where communities converge to hear new talents and literary stars.

The mission of Lighthouse Writers Workshop is to provide the highest caliber of artistic education, support, and community for writers and readers in the Rocky Mountain Region and beyond. We strive to ensure that literature maintains its proper prominence in the culture, and that individuals achieve their fullest potential as artists and human beings.

Founded in 1974 (incorporated in 1975), the Loft is a haven for readers and writers; one of the largest centers of its kind in the country. Our mission is to advance the artistic development of writers, foster a thriving literary community, and inspire a passion for literature.

The Muse Writers Center is Hampton Roads’ nonprofit literary center. We offer creative writing classes and seminars for beginning and experienced writers--whether they be adults, children, or teens; house a resource center in Norfolk for area writers; and host readings, open mics, and special events at The Muse and around the region.

Poets House is a comfortable, accessible place for poetry—a library and meeting place which invites poets and the public to step into the living tradition of poetry. Poets House seeks to document the wealth and diversity of modern poetry, to stimulate dialogue on issues of poetry in culture, and to cultivate a wider audience for the art.

The Poetry Center is a leading literary institution and a living archive of poetry. As a premier example of a thriving public/private partnership, the Poetry Center connects the University of Arizona with the greater literary community in Tucson and beyond.

In late 1976, a group of writers, small press publishers, and literary enthusiasts came together to create an independent home for the literary arts in the Washington DC metro area. Led by three founders, Allan Lefcowitz, Patricia Griffith, and Mary MacArthur, more than 70 members, including Barbara Lefcowitz, Ann McLaughlin, John Hill, Merrill Lefler, and Richard Peabody, gathered to celebrate The Writer’s Center. This new home would bring together a community of likeminded individuals who would build relationships with one another and share their love of writing, literature, and the creation of books.

Book reviews can be an indispensable asset to writers and their careers. Our Book Review Outlets database is an excellent platform for authors—from self-published independents to household names—to research and discover a spectrum of book review options.