UCF Research Guides: Middle Eastern Studies: Articles & Databases

Key Journals

International journal of Middle East studies (IJMES) (1970+)
"The International Journal of Middle East Studies publishes original research on politics, society and culture in the Middle East from the seventh century to the present day. The journal also covers Spain, south-east Europe, and parts of Africa, South Asia, and the former Soviet Union for subjects of relevance to Middle Eastern civilization. Particular attention is paid to the history, politics, economics, anthropology, sociology, literature, and cultural studies of the area and to comparative religion, theology, law, and philosophy. Each issue contains approximately 50 pages of detailed book reviews."
Middle Eastern Studies (1964+)
NOTE: Most recent 8 years not available
"Since its launch in 1964 Middle Eastern Studies has become required reading for all those with a serious concern in understanding the modern Middle East. Middle Eastern Studies provides the most up-to-date academic research on the history and politics of the Arabic-speaking countries in the Middle East and North Africa as well as on Turkey, Iran and Israel, particularly during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries."

Taylor & Francis Journals

Taylor & Francis Journals (T&F) This link opens in a new window
a one-stop site hosting international journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge
You can search and browse the journals and reference works on Taylor & Francis Online for free. Use advanced search to restrict to "Only content I have full access to" unless you want to request articles through Interlibrary Loan since UCF's subscription only includes some journals, one reference work, and none of the abstract databases.
Journal subject coverage includes:
- Area Studies
- Arts
- Behavioral Sciences (includes Archive Collection)
- Bioscience
- Built Environment
- Communication Studies
- Computer Science (includes Archive Collection)
- Development Studies
- Earth Sciences
- Economics, Finance, Business & Industry
- Education (includes Archive Collection)
- Engineering & Technology (includes Archive Collection)
- Environment & Agriculture
- Environment & Sustainability
- Food Science & Technology
- Geography
- Health & Social Care
- Humanities
- Information Science
- Language & Literature
- Law
- Mathematics & Statistics
- Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing & Allied Health
- Museum & Heritage Studies
- Physical Sciences (includes Chemistry Archive Collection)
- Politics & International Relations
- Social Sciences
- Sports & Leisure
- Tourism, Hospitality & Events
- Urban Studies

provides browsing and searching access to many UCF Libraries' subscriptions, including:

Cultural Studies (1987+)
Ethnic & Racial Studies (1998+)
Ethnopolitics (2001+)
Europe-Asia Studies (1949+)
Global Society: Journal of Interdisciplinary International Relations (2000+)
Identities: Global Studies in Culture & Power (2002+)
Immigrants & Minorities (2003+)
Inter-Asia Cultural Studies (2000+)
International Interactions: Empirical & Theoretical Research in International Relations (2002+)
International Journal of Cultural Policy (2002+)
International Journal of Human Rights (1997+)
International Spectator (2007+)
Iranian Studies (1967+)
Israel Affairs (1994+)

Journal for Cultural Research (2002+)
Journal of Baltic Studies (1970+)
Journal of Ethnic & Migration Studies (2000+)
Journal of European Integration (1977+)
Journal of Intercultural Communication Research (2006+)
Journal of Intercultural Studies (2000+)
Latin American & Caribbean Ethnic Studies (2007+)
Middle Eastern Studies (1964+)
Mobilities (2006+)
National Identities (2000+)
Nationalism & Ethnic Politics (2003+)
Nationalities Papers (1972+)
Regional Studies (1997+)
Social & Cultural Geography (2000+)
Social Identities: Journal for the Study of Race, Nation & Culture (1996+)

Databases

ATLA Religion (EBSCOhost) (1949+) This link opens in a new window
This index database is an essential resource for religious and theological studies, providing bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Indexed journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. This database is produced by Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Multi-ethnic
- Native People
Ethnographic Video Online: Volume I (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some of the videos included are: - Amin - The Architecture of Mud - Asiklar: Those Who Are in Love - The Dervishes of Kurdistan - From Babylonia to Beverly Hills: The Exodus of Iran's Jews - Hassan Baï'Ake - The Ladies Room - Love Iranian-American Style - My Mother's Home, Lagoon - Qudad, Re-inventing a Tradition - The Revolution of Alphabets - Six Days in June - (un)veiled: Muslim Women Talk about Hijab - Yemen's Cultural Drug: Qat
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
Middle East and North Africa: Global Perspectives, 1958-1994 (NewsBank/Readex) (1958-1994) This link opens in a new window
"The content in this database is sourced from newspapers, journals, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in the Middle East and North Africa as well as other nations with regional political, economic, and security interests. In addition to local and international news, it also includes government-level analysis and commentary. The material was identified, curated, and translated into English by the Joint Publication Research Service (JPRS), a division of the CIA."
Spanning from 1958 to 1994-- the final years of the Eisenhower Administration to the early years of the Clinton Administration, this database covers many topical categories, including the Israeli-Arab conflict, human and civil rights, international relations, terrorism, and others. The collection includes many points of view and contemporary accounts from both inside and outside the region on events such as:
-Six Day War
-Yom Kippur War
-Operation Entebbe
-Taking American Hostages in Iran
-Assassination of Egyptian President Anwar Sadat
-The Achille Lauro Hijacking
-Persian Gulf War

It also covers the origins and growth of organizations such as:
-Arab League
-Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO)
-Hezbollah
-Hamas
-Muslim Brotherhood

Other Databases for Middle Eastern Studies

PAIS Index (ProQuest) (1915+) This link opens in a new window
contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, & more.
The print index provides coverage for 1915-1974 - Main Library Reference H1.P8
"PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original, historical subject headings have been retained. PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century’s most important public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate."
ProQuest Congressional (1789+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
access to vast and varied information published by and about Congress, including full text of almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward.
formerly called "LexisNexis Congressional"
Contents include:
- Legislative Histories, 1969+
- Bills & Laws, 1987+
- Committee Prints & Misc. Publications, 1789+
- Congressional Record & Predecessors, 1789+
- CRS Reports, 1916+
- Hearings, 1824+
- House & Senate Documents, 1789+
- House & Senate Reports, 1789+
- Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1939
Filmakers Library Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more." Some of the videos included are: - Arabian Sands - Ataturk: Founder of Modern Turkey - Bisha: The Awesome Fire Test - City Walls: My Own Private Tehran - The Conscience of a Warrior Nation - Daughters of Allah - Devil on the Roof - Encounter in Ramallah - Inside the Closed Kingdom: Saudi Arabia - Iran: The Cyber-Dissidents - Islam & Democracy - Israel-Palestine: Two Peoples, Two States for One Peace - Jews of Iran - Jordan - Kuwait: A Changing Nation - Not Without My Veil: Amongst the Women of Oman - Oil in Iraq: Curse or Blessing - Orhan Pamuk: Facing Up to Turkey's Past - Primetime War - Saddam's Revenge - Salam Iran: A Persian Letter - The Tears of Mesopotamia - The Tenth Planet - Voices from El Sayed - The Yemen Option
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) (1975+) This link opens in a new window
provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.