M.A. in Clinical Psychology (Sanford/Lake Mary Campus)

This highly regarded practitioner guide provides state-of-the-art tools for supporting the academic and behavioral success of PreK-12 students with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). The authors explain the learning and behavior difficulties associated with ADHD and describe screening and assessment procedures that facilitate data-based decision making.

A step-by-step guide to assessing couples and families, this text offers a clear delineation of the process of family therapy through richly illustrated case material, featuring clients from a diversity of backgrounds. Appealing to both experienced and novel therapists, Assessing Families and Couples portrays a clear picture of what occurs in a two-session model in conducting a family therapy assessment.

Offering vital tools for working with 4- to 18-year-olds in a wide range of settings, this book presents engaging cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) activities that can be implemented rapidly and flexibly. Concise chapters guide the provider to quickly identify meaningful points of intervention for frequently encountered clinical concerns, and to teach and model effective strategies. Each intervention includes a summary of the target age, module, purpose, rationale, materials needed, and expected time for completion, as well as clear instructions and sample dialogues and scripts.

Treatment manual describing a 16-session program for the treatment of anxiety disorders, specifically generalized anxiety disorder, social phobia, and separation anxiety disorder, in children and young adolescents. Treatment's goal is to teach children to recognize signs of unwanted anxious arousal and to follow that recognition with the use of anxiety management strategies.

Presenting clear-cut strategies for working with traumatized patients who have multiple co-occurring disorders and life problems, this highly practical manual puts an array of proven cognitive-behavioral strategies at the clinician's fingertips. The authors illustrate the "whats," "whys," and "how-tos" of exposure, cognitive restructuring, and other effective techniques for treating posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and shows how to organize interventions within a systematic yet flexible case formulation.

Individuals with serious and persistent mental illnesses, including schizophrenia and affective disorders, often experience cognitive deficits that make it challenging to perform everyday tasks. For example, they may have difficulty paying attention, remembering and learning, thinking quickly,and solving problems, and this may interfere with functioning at work, school, and in social and living situations. Cognitive remediation is an evidence-based behavioral treatment for people who are experiencing cognitive impairments that interfere with role functioning.

This landmark work was the first to present a cognitive framework for understanding and treating personality disorders. Part I lays out the conceptual, empirical, and clinical foundations of effective work with this highly challenging population, reviews cognitive aspects of Axis II disorders, and delineates general treatment principles. In Part II, chapters detail the process of cognitive-behavioral therapy for each of the specific disorders, review the clinical literature, guide the therapist through diagnosis and case conceptualization, and demonstrate the nuts and bolts of cognitive intervention.

Concurrent Treatment of PTSD and Substance Use Disorders Using Prolonged Exposure (COPE) is a cognitive-behavioral psychotherapy program designed for patients who have post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and a co-occurring alcohol or drug use disorder. COPE represents an integration of two evidence-based treatments: Prolonged Exposure (PE) therapy for PTSD and Relapse Prevention for substance use disorders.COPE is an integrated treatment, meaning that both the PTSD and substance use disorder are addressed concurrently in therapy by the same clinician, and patients can experience substantial reductions in both PTSD symptoms and substance use severity. Patients use the COPE Patient Workbook while their clinician uses the Therapist Guide to deliver treatment.

Empirically-supported CBT to reduce anxious distress in youth. This newest edition is a revision of the original Coping Cat Workbook by Philip Kendall that has been in use since 1992. Sixteen therapy sessions promote coping skills for dealing with anxiety. The program can be adapted for use with individual youth or with groups. Appendices include "situation cards" with three levels of difficulty, a "feelings barometer," as well as other cut-outs and a certificate of achievement

The Coping Power Program is designed for use with preadolescent and early adolescent aggressive children and their parents and is often delivered near the time of children's transition to middle school. Aggression is one of the most stable problem behaviors in childhood. If not dealt with effectively, it can lead to negative outcomes in adolescence such as drug and alcohol use, truancy and dropout, delinquency, and violence. This program has proven effective in helping to avoid these types of problems.

The Coping Power Program is designed for use with preadolescent and early adolescent aggressive children and their parents and is often delivered near the time of children's transition to middle school. Aggression is one of the most stable problem behaviors in childhood. If not dealt witheffectively, it can lead to negative outcomes in adolescence such as drug and alcohol use, truancy and dropout, delinquency, and violence. This program has proven effective in helping to avoid these types of problems.

From Marsha M. Linehan--the developer of dialectical behavior therapy (DBT)--this comprehensive resource provides vital tools for implementing DBT skills training. The reproducible teaching notes, handouts, and worksheets used for over two decades by hundreds of thousands of practitioners have been significantly revised and expanded to reflect important research and clinical advances. The book gives complete instructions for orienting clients to DBT, plus teaching notes for the full range of mindfulness, interpersonal effectiveness, emotion regulation, and distress tolerance skills.

This authoritative manual presents an accessible 18-step program widely used by clinicians working with challenging teens. Steps 1-9 comprise parent training strategies for managing a broad range of problem behaviors, including those linked to oppositional defiant disorder (ODD) and attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). Steps 10-18 focus on teaching all family members to negotiate, communicate, and problem-solve more effectively, while facilitating adolescents' individuation and autonomy.

Filled with vivid clinical vignettes and step-by-step descriptions, this book demonstrates the nuts and bolts of dialectical behavior therapy (DBT). DBT is expressly designed for--and shown to be effective with--clients with serious, multiple problems and a history of treatment failure. The book provides an accessible introduction to DBT while enabling therapists of any orientation to integrate elements of this evidence-based approach into their work with emotionally dysregulated clients.

Emotion regulation difficulties are central to a range of clinical problems, yet many therapies for children and adolescents lack a focus on emotion and related skills. In a flexible modular format, this much-needed book presents cutting-edge strategies for helping children and adolescents understand and manage challenging emotional experiences. Each of the eight treatment modules can be used on its own or in conjunction with other therapies, and includes user-friendly case examples, sample dialogues, and engaging activities and games.

The Expanding Family Life Cycle, gives readers a solid understanding of human development and the life cycle. Featured are a groundbreaking integration of individual development within a systemic context discussion of the increasing racial, ethnic, and cultural diversity across the life cycle in the United States today; life cycle perspectives on LGBT issues, alcohol, sexuality, migration, social class, violence in the family, and assessment of "home place" as fundamental to clinical work.

Long considered the standard of excellence--the best introduction and guide to the practice of family therapy available--this accessible resource explores the rich history and contemporary practice of the entire field. Thorough, thoughtful, fair, and balanced, Family Therapy by Michael P. Nichols presents ideas and techniques that give readers a clear focus on clinical practice. While exploring the history, the classic schools, and the latest developments, this new edition puts an increased, pragmatic focus on clinical practice, which includes discussions of the author's observations of actual sessions with leading practitioners, as well as the best case studies of several invited master therapists.

Now updated and expanded in its third edition, and featuring revised genograms for easier reading, reflecting the growing and widespread use of genograms for clinical intervention, this best-selling text provides a standard method for constructing a genogram, doing a genogram interview, and interpreting the results. Genograms of famous families--Sigmund Freud, Woody Allen and Mia Farrow, the Kennedys, Jane Fonda and Ted Turner, Bill Clinton, Princess Diana, the Roosevelts, and Thomas Jefferson, to name a few--bring the text to life, and help to elucidate the principles of family systems theory and systemic interviewing, which form the basis of genogram work.

Chronic pain has a multitude of causes, many of which are not well understood or effectively treated by medical therapies.Cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) has been proven effective at managing various chronic pain conditions, including rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis, chronic back pain, and tension/migraine headache. The CBT treatment engages patients in an active coping process aimed at changing maladaptive thoughts and behaviors that can serve to maintain and exacerbate the experience of chronic pain.

This is a client workbook for those in treatment or considering treatment for social anxiety. This program has met the American Psychological Association's Division 12 Task Force criteria for empirically-supported treatments. Clients will learn how social anxiety interferes with theachievement of life goals. The workbook includes information about a variety of interventions, such as exposure, cognitive re-framing, and medication.

Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) in adulthood is a prevalent and impairing disorder. While medications have been effective in treating adult ADHD, the majority of individuals treated with medications still have symptoms that require additional skills and symptom management strategies. This Second Edition of Mastering Your Adult ADHD is thoroughly updated to present the most current, empirically supported treatment strategies in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) for coping with symptoms of adult ADHD. The Therapist Guide provides clinicians with effective means of teaching adult clients skills that have been scientifically tested and shown to help them cope with ADHD. The program has been updated to include the optional use of technology and smart phones to improve organization and planning. Core modules cover the development of systems for keeping track of appointments and tasks, reducing distractibility, and improving adaptive thinking skills, and there's an optional module on reducing procrastination.

Mastery of Your Fears and Phobias, Second Edition, Workbook outlines a cognitive-behavioral treatment program for individuals who suffer from specific fears and phobias, including fear of blood, heights, driving, flying, water, and others. The program described in this workbook has proved to be the most effective treatment available for fears and phobias to date.

Now in its 4th edition, Mastery of Your Anxiety and Panic, Therapist Guide updates, extends, and improves upon the most effective, evidence-based treatment program available for Panic Disorder and Agoraphobia.

Now in its 4th edition, Mastery of Your Anxiety and Panic, Workbook has been updated to include strategies and techniques for dealing with both panic disorder and agoraphobia. The program outlined is based on the principles of cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) and is organized by skill, with each chapter building on the one before it.

Written by the developers of an empirically supported and effective CBT therapy program for treating GAD, this workbook includes all the information necessary for a client to learn the appropriate skills to combat their excessive worry. When used in conjunction with the corresponding therapist guide, this book provides a complete treatment package with a proven success rate.

This groundbreaking book explains the "whats" and "how-tos" of metacognitive therapy (MCT), an innovative form of cognitive-behavioral therapy with a growing empirical evidence base. MCT developer Adrian Wells shows that much psychological distress results from how a person responds to negative thoughts and beliefs--for example, by ruminating or worrying--rather than the content of those thoughts. He presents practical techniques and specific protocols for addressing metacognitive processes to effectively treat generalized anxiety disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, posttraumatic stress disorder, and major depression.

This indispensable resource provides a flexible framework and a wealth of engaging tools for teaching mindfulness to children and adolescents with varying needs in school or clinical settings. Numerous kid-friendly mindfulness practices are presented, complete with step-by-step instructions, sample scripts, suggested variations, and discussion questions. The benefits of mindfulness for enhancing children's social-emotional competencies are clearly explained. Clinicians and teachers are guided to select and sequence activities for groups struggling with specific challenges: stress and anxiety, depression, attention problems, behavioral and emotion regulation issues, and trauma.

This bestselling work for professionals and students is the authoritative presentation of motivational interviewing (MI), the powerful approach to facilitating change. The book elucidates the four processes of MI--engaging, focusing, evoking, and planning--and vividly demonstrates what they look like in action.

Based on the principles of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy, the program described in this newly revised and updated workbook will teach the skills needed to overcome eating disorders and establish healthy habits.eating. Treatments That Work represents the gold standard of behavioral healthcare interventions; all programs have been rigorously tested in clinical trials and are backed by years of research.

Based on the idea that depression is a "beast" to be tamed, the treatment utilizes an acronym to help understand the goals of treatment.

Impulse control disorders (ICDs) include pathological gambling (PG), kleptomania/compulsive stealing (KM), pyromania/fire setting (PY), and compulsive buying (CB). ICDs are characterized by difficulties resisting urges to engage in behaviors that are excessive and/or ultimately harmful to oneself or others. Overcoming Impulse Control Problems is written by researchers with years of experience studying the psychology of impulse control disorders.

This expanded edition of the successful Graywind title, Managing Your Drug and Alcohol Problem: Therapist Guide provides an evidence-based treatment protocol for all types of substance use disorders. This guide provides clinicians with valuable strategies for working with substance use disorders by focusing on specific issues involved in both stopping substance abuse and changing behaviors or lifestyle aspects that contribute to continued substance abuse. In addition to addressing professional approaches/attitudes toward the substance abusing client, assessment, psychosocial and pharamacotherapeutic treatment, and self-help programs, this expanded edition also includes a new chapter on the management of a co-occurring psychiatric disorder.

Based on the principles of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy, the program described in this newly revised and updated workbook will teach the skills needed to overcome eating disorders and establish healthy habits.

Impulse control disorders (ICDs) include pathological gambling, kleptomania, trichotillomania, intermittent explosive disorder, and pyromania, and are characterized by difficulties resisting urges to engage in behaviors that are excessive or ultimately harmful to oneself or others. ICDs are relatively common among adolescents and adults, carry significant morbidity and mortality, and can be effectively treated with behavioral and pharmacological therapies.

This trusted practitioner resource is acclaimed for its clear, compassionate, and hopeful approach to working with clients who self-injure. Barent Walsh provides current, evidence-based knowledge about the variety and causes of self-injurious behavior, its relationship to suicidality, and how to assess and treat it effectively.

An estimated 2-3% of the population is affected by obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD). This is a chronic condition that significantly affects daily functioning and quality of life. Many people with OCD would greatly benefit from receiving professional help to learn how to successfully manage this debilitating condition. This workbook aims to guide patients of obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) in how to best benefit from the treatment provided by their therapists.

Leading therapists and researchers have come to understand that many psychological disorders share common features and respond to common therapeutic treatments. This deepened understanding of the nature of psychological disorders, their causes, and their symptoms has led to the development of new, comprehensive treatment programs that are effective for whole classes of disorders. Unified Protocol for Transdiagnostic Treatment of Emotional Disorders is one such program. Designed for individuals suffering from emotional disorders, including panic disorder, social anxiety disorder, generalized anxiety disorder, posttraumatic stress disorder, obsessive compulsive disorder, and depression, this program focuses on helping you to better understand your emotions and identify what you're doing in your responses to them that may be making things worse.

An explosion of research on bullying has raised our collective awareness of the serious impacts it can have on children. No longer do we accept it as an innocuous rite of passage, just a part of growing up that we grin and bear and grow out of later. But do we grow out of it, or are there lingering effects that last well beyond the school playgrounds and lunchrooms? Bullying Scars describes childhood bullying from the vantage point of those victims, bullies, and bystanders who are now adults; the book discusses how lives have been changed, and explores the range of reactions adults exhibit.The research gathered for this book, through interviews with over 800 people, points out that even adult decision-making is often altered by the victimization they experience as children ... highly relevant to mental health professionals - counselors,therapists, social workers, clinical psychologists - working with clients who are dealing with these issues.

Synthesizing the evidence base for cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) and translating it into practical clinical guidelines, this book has enhanced the knowledge and skills of thousands of therapists and students. The authors--an experienced clinician and a prominent psychotherapy researcher--discuss how to implement core CBT techniques, why and how they work, and what to do when faced with gaps in scientific knowledge. Vivid case examples illustrate what evidence-based strategies look like in action with real-world clients who may have multiple presenting problems. The authors also separate CBT myths from facts and discuss ways to manage common treatment challenges. New to This Edition *Revised throughout to incorporate the latest research, including key meta-analytic studies. *Chapters on clinical techniques have been restructured to be more concise and digestible. *New content on sleep difficulties, reducing avoidance, and motivational interviewing. *A new extended case example runs throughout the book.

Being able to offer support to the bereaved is an important part of many frontline professions, such as nurses, teachers, funeral directors and anything in between. Yet very little theoretical information about grief has filtered down into mainstream knowledge, and what has is often misinterpreted. Giving an accessible introduction to modern day grief theory, this book is the perfect guide to grief for the lay reader, or griever curious to how their grief works.

Thousands of practitioners and students have relied on this handbook, now thoroughly revised, for authoritative information on the links between psychological and medical issues from infancy through adolescence. Sponsored by the Society of Pediatric Psychology, the volume explores psychosocial aspects of specific medical problems, as well as issues in managing developmental and behavioral concerns that are frequently seen in pediatric settings.

Scholarship on sexual minority (SM) and transgender and gender non-conforming (TGNC) psychology has exploded in recent years, with unprecedented impact on practitioners and researchers, as well as the social and political compass of the nation. At the same time, best practices for mental health professionals who work with SM and TGNC clients continue to evolve rapidly.This volume builds on the editors' 2007 Handbook of Counseling and Psychotherapy With Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Clients to explore the challenges faced by SM and TGNC clients today. Experts in the field examine how the concepts of gender and sexual orientation are both socioculturally-constructed and can be informed by biologically-focused research, thus setting the stage for flexible, affirmative mental health services. With concise summaries of research findings and detailed case studies, contributors provide an intersectional understanding of how practitioners can work within rapidly-changing political and legal contexts to uncover and affirm clients' multiple social identities, and build resilience.

The pursuit of happiness is one of the most common and enduring quests of human life. It's what drives us to get a job, fall in love, watch stand-up comedy, go to therapy, have questionable obsessions, and come home at the end of the day. But where does happiness come from, and why do we need it so much? Is lasting, permanent happiness possible--or should it be? And what does any of this have to do with the brain? In this delightful sequel to Idiot Brain, Dean Burnett explores these questions from a neuroscientific perspective. He combines the latest research and theories about how the brain works with interviews and contributions from relevant individuals, such as relationship experts, psychology professors, comedy writers, celebrities, millionaire gurus, and pretty much anyone else involved in bringing about happiness in others.

In 1997, Frank Furedi published a book called Culture of Fear. It was widely acclaimed as perceptive and prophetic. Now Furedi returns to his original theme, as most of what he predicted has come true. In How Fear Works, Furedi seeks to explain two interrelated themes: why has fear acquired such a morally commanding status in society today and how has the way we fear today changed from the way that it was experienced in the past?

An invaluable resource for therapists treating patients with obsessive-compulsive personality disorder (OCPD), for individuals suffering from OCPD, and for friends, family, and coworkers of those with OCPD. Explains how OCPD compromises not only the quality of life of its sufferers but also the lives of many of the people that surround each OCPD individual Serves therapists treating patients with OCPD; patients suffering from OCPD; friends, family, and coworkers of those with OCPD; and general readers interested in mental health issues

It's a troubling phenomenon that many of us think of as a modern psychological epidemic, a symptom of extreme emotional turmoil in young people, especially young women: cutting and self-harm. But few of us know that it was 150 years ago--with the introduction of institutional asylum psychiatry--that self-mutilation was first described as a category of behavior, which psychiatrists, and later psychologists and social workers, attempted to understand. With care and focus, Psyche on the Skin tells the secret but necessary history of self-harm from the 1860s to the present.

When we study trauma, we see how trauma stems from relationships, but recovery also depends on them. Grounded firmly in attachment and trauma theory, this book offers ways to aid clients in self-understanding and attending to their past traumas by using shared retellings in therapy to bring recovery and growth.

ADHD doesn't just affect kids -- adults can have it too. This will come as no surprise if you are close to an adult who has problems with attention, concentration, distractibility, impulsiveness, forgetfulness or self-control (or all of these symptoms). The good news is that with effective treatment your loved one with ADHD can have a happier, more successful life and a stronger, closer relationship with you and others.