Print Directories
- Bank DirectoryCall Number: Reference HG 2441.R3"Listings are organized by country, city and title in alphabetical order. The beginning of each country contains demographic information such as capital city, population, and political structure, along with industry information such as banking associations and central banks.... In order to be included in The Bank Directory an office must perform any one of the following banking activities: accept deposits, lend money, extend credit, issue currency, or facilitate funds transfers."
Listings include: Bank Legal Title, Institution Charter Type, National Routing Codes, SWIFT BIC Codes, Memberships, Ownership, Financial Figures, Balance Sheet, Asset Rank, Public Credit Ratings, Management, International Correspondents, Other Offices, Other Domestic Offices, Other Offices Outside Head Office Country, Subsidiaries/Affiliates, Directors. - Canadian Key Business Directory (D&B)Call Number: Reference HF 3223.C24"contains listings of Canadian businesses with one or more of the following: $5 million in sales, 50 employees at a single or headquarters location, or 250 employees total. Public and private schools are excluded." includes Geographic Index and Line of Business Index by SIC Code
- Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign CountriesCall Number: Reference HD 2755.5.D57provides information about American firms which have branches, subsidiaries, or affiliates outside the United States.
- Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United StatesCall Number: Reference HG 4057.A155provides information about foreign firms headquartered in other countries which have subsidiaries and affiliates in the United States that they own, wholly, or in part. The United States-based locations of each branch, subsidiary or affiliate are listed along with the parent company locations.
- Encyclopedia of Global IndustriesCall Number: Reference HD 2324.E53"more than 125 business sectors of global significance.... articles discuss the origins, development, trends, key statistics, and current international character of the world's...industries--including hundreds of profiles of leading international corporations."
- International Directory of Company HistoriesCall Number: Reference HD 2721.D36"Each three- to five-page entry is meticulously detailed with facts gathered from popular magazines, academic periodicals, books, annual reports and the archives of the companies themselves. Entries provide information on founders, expansions and losses, labor/management actions, NAIC codes, key dates, ticker symbol, principal subsidiaries, principal divisions, principal operating units, principle competitors and other significant milestones -- all peppered with statistics, dates and names of key players."
- LexisNexis Corporate AffiliationsCall Number: Reference HG 4057.A217"covers major public and private businesses in the United States and throughout the world. The principle of organization for the set is geographical (by parent company) and hierarchical (by company reportage). Subsidiaries of a parent company, no matter where they are located, will be found in the same volume as the ultimate parent." Volume 2 contains the Geographic Index, Non-U.S. Volumes 7 & 8 list International Public and Private Companies by name.
- Principal International Businesses: The World Marketing Directory (D&B)Call Number: Reference HF 54.U5.P74provides information on approximately 50,000 of the largest employers throughout the world, listed alphabetically by country and cross referenced alphabetically and by industry classification.
- Who Owns Whom (D&B)Reference HG 4009.W464 (Australia, Asia, Africa & Middle East)
Reference HG 4081.Z65.W48 (North & South America)
Reference HG 4132.Z5.W52 (Continental Europe)
Reference HG 4135.5.W48 (United Kingdom & Ireland)
includes all corporate groups within the coverage area. "The corporate group may be a vast multinational with a range of subsidiaries spanning many different countries and industries, or it may consist of two companies -- a parent and a subsidiary. There is no size criteria for entry. All corporate groups ... are included regardless of their sales turnover or number of employees. Companies and organizations are only included if ownership is greater than 50% by other companies or organizations.... All types of industry are covered.... Both Public and Private companies are covered along with many companies owned by official bodies such as governments, nationalized industries and state holding companies which have subsidiaries, but are not themselves independently registered."
Online Resources about Companies & Industries
- Mergent Online by FTSE RussellMergent products were integrated with FTSE Russell's on August 31, 2019. Some platforms have changed.
Current business and industry financial information, including SEC filings, Executive Biographies, Ratios, and a rich report builder.
Mergent Online
- International Company Database = Non-U.S. publicly traded companies
- U.S. Company Database = Active publicly traded U.S. companies
- Provides financials (15 years), ratios, annual reports, subsidiaries, history, etc.
- Provides comparison reports against the industry or a custom group of companies, including calculation of group averages for financials and ratios.
- Index Searches - Australia (S&P/ASX 200, S&P/ASX 50, S&P/ASX All Ordinaries), Austria (ATX 20), Belgium (BEL 20), Canada (TSX 60, TSX Completion, TSX Composite, TSX Small Cap, Canadian Dividend Achievers), Corporate Visibility, Denmark (OMX Copenhagen 20), Dividend Achievers, Dow Jones Industrial Average, Euronext 100, Finland (HEX 25), Ford Equity Research, France (CAC 40, CAC NEXT 20, SBF 120), FTSE (All World Index, All-World Developed, All-World Emerging, Germany (DAX 30), Greece (FTSE-ASE 20), Hong Kong (Hang Seng), Hungary (BUX), Israel (TA 25), Italy (MIB 30), Luxembourg (LUX 10), Mergent Dividend Achiever, Mexico (IPC), NASDAQ National Market, Netherlands (AEX 25), New York Stock Exchange, Norway (OSEBX), Peru (IGBVL), Poland (WIG 20), Portugal (PSI 20), Russell 1000, S&P (1500, 500), South Africa (All Shares, FTSE/JSE Top 40), Spain (IBEX 35), Sweden (OMX), Switzerland (Swiss Market Index SMI), Turkey (ISE National 30), UK (FTSE 100, FTSE 250), Venezuela (IBC).
Business & Company Resource Center includes information from Encyclopedia of Global Industries, International Directory of Company Histories, World Market Share Reporter, Major Companies of the Arab World, Major Companies of South West Asia, etc.
Business Source Premier - select "Enhanced Business Searching Interface"
browse for Company Profiles, Industry Profiles, and Market Research Reports from ABS Energy Research, Datamonitor and Gartner. Includes SWOT Analyses.
Europages - "Search for details (telephone, fax, email contact, address) of a product supplier or a service provider in Europe."
LexisNexis Academic
- Company Dossier provides individual company profiles
- Create a Company List by industry, country/region, financial parameters, etc.
MarketLine Business Information Center (MBIC) - Datamonitor reports
- Company Information includes SWOT Analysis and links to the profiles of Top Competitors. Browsing can be refined by industry, geographic region/country, number of employees, and annual revenue.
- Industry Profiles provide market size, share, and segmentation data plus detailed analysis and company information. Browsing can be refined by industry and by geographic region/country.
Mintel Current provides market research reports for various industries, including information about market drivers, size & trends, segmentation, supply structure, advertising & promotion, and retail distribution. The UCF Library subscription includes the following report categories:
- Consumer Goods Intelligence: Europe
- Finance Intelligence: UK
- Horizons: UK
- Irish Series
- Mintel Reports: UK
- Mintel Reports: USA
- Retail Intelligence: International
- Travel & Tourism: International
Thomas Global Register provides information about global industrial suppliers and products. Browse or search by product, company name and country/region.
Databases which are no longer available due to budget cuts:
Investext Plus - "With a rich backfile to 1982, search this database to find investment, company and industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East. All company and industry reports are provided in full page PDF image."