UCF Research Guides: Florida History: Home

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1884-current)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Florida Collection (1884+)
Access image-based newspaper titles from Orlando and 12 other Florida communities plus the USA Today, browsing each edition as it was printed – including articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, editorial cartoons and so much more.
Cocoa (1917- ); Ft. Lauderdale (1925- ); Ft. Myers (1884- ); Ft. Pierce (2021- ); Miami (1904-1988); Naples (1970- ); Orlando (1913- ); Pensacola (1889- ); St. Petersburg (1901- ); Stuart (1913- ); Tallahassee (1913- ); Tampa (1887- ); Vero Beach (1919- ); United States (2009-)
- Cocoa (1917- ) : Cocoa Tribune, Evening Tribune; Today; Florida Today
- Ft. Lauderdale (1925- ) : Evening Sentinel; Ft. Lauderdale Daily News & Evening Sentinel; Ft. Lauderdale News & Sentinel; Ft. Lauderdale News; Sun Sentinel; South Florida Sun Sentinel
- Ft. Myers (1884- ) : Ft. Myers Press; Ft. Myers Press Consolidated with the Tropical News; Weekly Ft. Myers Press; Weekly Press; Ft. Myers Weekly Press; Ft. Myers News-Press
- Ft. Pierce (2021- ) : Port St. Lucie News Tribune
- Miami (1904-1988) : Daily Metropolis; Miami Metropolis; Miami News-Metropolis; Miami Daily Metropolis; Miami Daily News; Miami News
- Naples (1970- ) : Naples Daily News
- Orlando (1913- ) : Daily Sentinel; Morning Sentinel; Orlando Morning Sentinel; Orlando Sentinel; Sentinel Star
- Pensacola (1889- ) : Daily News; Pensacola Journal; Pensacola News; Pensacola News Journal
- St. Petersburg (1901- ) : St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times
- Stuart (1913- ) : Stuart Times; Stuart Messenger; Stuart Daily News & Stuart Messenger; Stuart Daily News; Stuart News
- Tallahassee (1913- ) : Daily Democrat; Tallahassee Democrat
- Tampa (1887- ) : Tampa Tribune; Morning Tribune; Weekly Tribune; Tampa Morning Tribune; Tampa Bay Times
- Vero Beach (1919- ) : Vero Press; Vero Beach Press; Vero Beach Journal; Vero Beach Press Journal; Indian River Press Journal
- United States (2009- ) : USA Today
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Journal Constitution (1868-1985)
"As the only major daily newspaper in the Atlanta area, the Atlanta Journal Constitution provides a fascinating glimpse into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the southeastern United States from Reconstruction through the late 20th century. The Atlanta Journal Constitution is vital for history, business, literature, and culture research into topics such as: • Post-Civil War reconstruction • The voting rights of slaves • Civil Rights Movement • Racial desegregation • Industrial and economic development in the New South • The history of the Coca-Cola Company • The rise of the city as a convention center • The origin of Uncle Remus stories • Launch of CNN • The premiere of “Gone with the Wind”"
The Constitution (1868-1869); The Atlanta Constitution (1869-1875); The Atlanta Daily Constitution (1875); The Constitution (1875-1876); The Daily Constitution (1876-1881); The Atlanta Constitution (1881-1945); The Atlanta Constitution (1946- ); The Atlanta Journal and the Atlanta Constitution (1950-1968)

Newsbank Historical Newspapers (1837-current)

Florida News Sources (Access World News) (1883+)
Over 300 English & Spanish news sources, including newspapers, college newspapers, blogs, magazines, newswires, TV transcripts, & web-only sources
Coverage for most newspapers begins in 1982 or later, but ten titles have archival coverage: Bradenton Herald (1922+), Daytona Beach News-Journal (1915+), El Nuevo Herald (1976+), Florida Times-Union (1883+), Gainesville Sun (1911+), Miami Herald (1911+), Naples Daily News (1962-1995), Ocala Star-Banner (1922+), Palm Beach Post (1916+) and Sarasota Herald-Tribune (1925+)
Includes:
- Bradenton Herald (1922+) (images 1922-1989, 2018+)
- Central Florida Future (UCF) (2009-2016)
- Daytona Beach News-Journal (1915+) (images 1915-1996, 2020+)
- Florida Times-Union (Jacksonville) (1883+) (images 1883-1996, 2019+)
- Gainesville Sun (1911+) (images 1911-1995, 2019+)
- Ledger (Lakeland) (1994+) (images 2020+)
- Miami Herald (1911+) (images 1911-1982, 2017+)
- El Nuevo Herald (Miami) (1976+) (images 1976+)
- Naples Daily News (1962-1995) (images 1962-1995)
- Ocala Star-Banner (1922+) (images 1922-1991, 2018+)
- Orlando Sentinel (1985+)
- Orlando Weekly (2005-2013)
- Palm Beach Post (1916+) (images 1916-1988, 2019+)
- Sarasota Herald-Tribune (1925+) (images 1925-1996)
- El Sentinel (Orlando) (2001-2022)
- Tampa Bay Times (1987+) (images 2018+)
- Tampa Tribune (1990-2016)
- Valencia Voice (2011+)
Times-Picayune Historical, 1837-current (Access World News)
includes full text images (1837-1988; 2017-current) and text (1989-current)
"Established as The Picayune in 1837, the paper’s initial price was one picayune—a Spanish coin equivalent to about six cents. During the 19th century, The Picayune became one of America’s most quoted newspapers, and its archives are a valuable source of information on the Mexican War, the impact of railroads, catastrophic floods, New Orleans’ growth as a commercial center, the Civil War and Reconstruction and much more. By the late 1800s, under the leadership of Eliza Jane Poitevent, the first female publisher of a major metropolitan daily, the paper had introduced a number of journalistic innovations such as society reporting, children’s pages and the first women’s advice column. The Picayune merged with the Times-Democrat, its fierce competitor, in 1914 to become The Times-Picayune. A rich resource for 20th-century culture and history, its archives chronicle issues and events of local and national importance. Topics covered include New Orleans’ lingering francophone influence, the Yellow Fever scare of 1905, destructive hurricanes, state governor Huey P. Long’s tumultuous career, the construction of levees to protect low-lying areas and the election of the city’s first African American mayor in 1978."