Education - Websites

"Best Websites for Teaching & Learning honors websites, tools, and resources of exceptional value to inquiry-based teaching and learning as embodied in the American Association of School Librarians' Standards for the 21st-Century Learner."

provides free resources for teachers, parents & students, including lesson plans for K-5, 6-8, 9-12 for science, technology, social studies, math, and language arts.
Virtual Field Trips: Science & Engineering -- Social Studies -- Literacy -- Math

"FCIT (the Florida Center for Instructional Technology) and ETC (the Educational Technology Clearinghouse) provide digital content, professional development, and technical services supporting the appropriate integration of technology into K-12 and preservice education."

The Lesson Plans archive is arranged by subject: The Arts, Health & Safety, History, Interdisciplinary, Language Arts, Lesson of the Day, Math, PE & Sports, Science, Social Science, Special Ed & Guidance, Special Themes.

"A free and open learning community for sharing newer and emerging tools to teach science"

"An educators guide to lessons, worksheets, web links and more..."

"Our classroom materials are designed in a modular system, with activities as the base unit. An activity will fill one class period, while a lesson (a collection of activities) can fill up to a week of class time. Units (collections of lessons) are designed for longer periods of time."

"A wealth of digital tools support inquiry-based learning and active engagement to spark creativity and curiosity. The Smithsonian Learning Lab allows you to create personal collections and individualized educational experiences. The digital Game Center of the Smithsonian Science Education Center offers fun experiences for the young STEM learner. Smithsonian's History Explorer offers hundreds of free, innovative resources for learning about American history."

"WatchKnowLearn has indexed approximately 50,000 educational videos, placing them into a directory of over 5,000 categories. The videos are available without any registration or fees to teachers in the classroom, as well as parents and students at home 24/7."

includes state-by-state links

"The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction."

"The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is a continuing and nationally representative measure of trends in academic achievement of U.S. elementary and secondary students in various subjects."

Provides National Standards for Arts Education and a searchable database of lesson plans

"Science for All Americans (SFAA) answers the question of what constitutes adult science literacy, recommending what all students should know and be able to do in science, mathematics, and technology by the time they graduate from high school. Benchmarks specifies how students should progress toward science literacy, recommending what they should know and be able to do by the time they reach certain grade levels. Together, the two publications can help guide reform in science, mathematics, and technology education."

"There are five sets of ISTE Standards [students, teachers, administrators, coaches, computer science educators] that work in concert to support students, educators and leaders with clear guidelines for the skills, knowledge and approaches they need to succeed in the digital age."

- National Standards for Financial Literacy
- Common Core State Standards
- Voluntary National Content Standards in Economics
- State Standards

"Established in 1987, the National Board is an independent, nonprofit organization working to advance accomplished teaching for all students."

"NCHS has developed a range of publications and professional development programs by working closely with teachers, scholars, school districts, and funding agencies. The Center’s first projects were the National History Standards for History for grades 5-12 and a second set of standards for kindergarten through 4th grade."

Dance, Media Arts, Music, Theatre And Visual Arts

"NCSS serves as an umbrella organization for elementary, secondary, and college teachers of history, civics, geography, economics, political science, sociology, psychology, anthropology, and law-related education."
The website includes a summary of "National Curriculum Standards for Social Studies: A Framework for Teaching, Learning, & Assessment"

"Principles and Standards for School Mathematics outlines the essential components of a high-quality school mathematics program."

"The Standards for the English Language Arts is designed to complement other national, state, and local standards and contributes to ongoing discussion about English language arts classroom activities and curricula."

"Standards for the 21st-Century Learner offer vision for teaching and learning to both guide and beckon our profession as education leaders. They will both shape the library program and serve as a tool for school librarians to use to shape the learning of students in the school."

"CPALMS is an online toolbox of information, vetted resources, and interactive tools that helps educators effectively implement teaching standards. It is the State of Florida’s official source for standards information and course descriptions."

"The Just Read, Florida! office provides training and professional development through reading academies, coach academies, statewide and regional conferences and face-to-face professional development to learn the latest in evidence-based reading research. With the ever constant mission of training and developing teachers, the Just Read, Florida! office continues to offer professional development via webinars, online trainings, regional and district face-to-face trainings."

"Search the Next Generation Sunshine State Standards by selecting a subject, level, and/or keyword"

"The mission of the Bureau of Standards and Instructional Support is to provide quality services, resources, guidance and professional development to our educational partners."

Awesome Library provides links for teachers, kids, teens, parents, librarians & college students for The Arts, English, Math, Social Studies, Science, Health, Technology, Languages, Literature, etc.

"The Center for Research on Education, Diversity, and Excellence (CREDE) Hawai‘i Project promotes educators’ use of research-based strategies of effective practice for culturally and linguistically diverse students."

"The Council for Opportunity in Education (COE) is a nonprofit organization, established in 1981, dedicated to furthering the expansion of college opportunities for low-income, first-generation students, and students with disabilities in all 50 states, Washington, D.C., the Pacific Islands, and Puerto Rico."

"Education transforms lives and is at the heart of UNESCO’s mission to build peace, eradicate poverty and drive sustainable development."

Offers directories of schools and colleges by district and name along with press releases, publications, statistics, and employment opportunities.

"The Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network strives to assure that each member of every school community is valued and respected regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity/expression."

"Every school day since 1998, we have offered fresh classroom resources — from lesson plans and writing prompts to news quizzes, student contests and more — all based on the articles, essays, images, videos and graphics published on NYTimes.com. All our activities for students, as well as all the content from The Times to which we link, are free and accessible without a digital subscription."

"The Southern Poverty Law Center is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society."

Reports policies on federal financial aid for education, collects and disseminates research, focuses national attention on key educational issues, and promotes equal access to education.