Social Science Education Web Sites
- Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government This link opens in a new window"Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government, a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), is designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government, which issues the publications and information products disseminated by the GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program."
- Best of History Web Sites (EdTechTeacher)Contains annotated links to over 1000 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.
General History Resources -- Ancient/Biblical History -- American History -- European History -- Modern History -- Military History -- Oral History -- Art History - Educator Resources (U.S. National Archives)Gateway for resources about primary sources, activities and training for educators and students
- Florida PBS Learning Media This link opens in a new window"PBS LearningMedia provides PreK-12 educators with access to free digital content and professional development opportunities designed to improve teacher effectiveness and student achievement."
- HistoryNet"HistoryNet.com is brought to you by the world’s largest publisher of history magazines. HistoryNet.com contains daily features, photo galleries and over 5,000 articles originally published in our various magazines."
- Learning for Justice"Our mission is to reduce prejudice, improve intergroup relations and support equitable school experiences for our nation’s children. We believe that schools must educate all students for full participation in a diverse democracy."
- Lesson Plans & Resources for Social Studies Teachers (California State University, Northridge)"a collection of lesson plans and resources from the Internet which social studies teachers will find useful"
- My Social Studies (Fred Risinger)"This page is designed for K-12 social studies teachers and students. It also has information and topics that are useful to pre-service social studies instructors and students."
- National Geographic Teaching Resources"Our classroom materials are designed in a modular system, with activities as the base unit. An activity will fill one class period, while a lesson (a collection of activities) can fill up to a week of class time. Units (collections of lessons) are designed for longer periods of time."
- New York Times Learning Network"Every school day since 1998, we have offered fresh classroom resources — from lesson plans and writing prompts to news quizzes, student contests and more — all based on the articles, essays, images, videos and graphics published on NYTimes.com. All our activities for students, as well as all the content from The Times to which we link, are free and accessible without a digital subscription."
- Smithsonian Institute - For Educators"A wealth of digital tools support inquiry-based learning and active engagement to spark creativity and curiosity. The Smithsonian Learning Lab allows you to create personal collections and individualized educational experiences. The digital Game Center of the Smithsonian Science Education Center offers fun experiences for the young STEM learner. Smithsonian's History Explorer offers hundreds of free, innovative resources for learning about American history."