Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCF Libraries Home

NUR 3165 - Nursing Research

This Libguide is designed to help UCF Nursing students enrolled in NUR3165 identify, understand, and effectively use relevant electronic sources, including eBooks and article databases.

Full Text Tip #1 – Log in through OpenAthens.

This section relates to retrieving full text (entire) versions of articles through our databases.

One very important proactive practice that you can take to ensure seamless access to the full text is to authenticate through our new OpenAthens linking system at the beginning of your session. Here are some simple steps:

a)  From your UCF online course, click on UCF Library Tools
b) Click on Articles & Databases

undefined

c) In the upper left hand corner, click on OpenAthens Login for UCF and log in with your NID/pw.

undefined

OR

a) Start out from the library homepage and click on My Account in the upper righthand corner
https://library.ucf.edu/my-account/   
b) Click on the OpenAthens Login for UCF button in the middle of the page 
c) Log in with your NID/pw at the prompt
d) On the next screen, click on Database List and Subject Pages
e) On the right hand side (under popular databases) click on CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Medline, or another database or browse a subject on the left hand side.

Full Text Tip #2 - Click on Find Full Text button.

When you are in a database, look for the PDF or HTML Full texts option to get the entire article. If the direct PDF or HTML Full Text links are not available, click on the "Find Full Text"  or the "Linked Full Text"  icon. The library buys online access to thousands of journals. The Full Text button links you to the full text if it is available.

Full Text Tip #3 – Follow the Trail!

There are three options to try after clicking on the Find Full Text  button:

undefined
Option 1 – View this article in a database
Let’s say you click on the find full text for a record that is in Science Direct. Click on “View this article at Science Direct” link to access the record.  If you land on Science Direct homepage rather than a specific record, try a title search for the article in the search box.

undefined

Option 2 - Google Scholar:

If the first option doesn’t work try Google Scholar:

undefined

Full text options are typically listed on the right hand side of Google Scholar.

Option 3 – Publication Finder (Online Journals)

If the above methods aren’t working, move on to the Publication Finder option to obtain the full text (here’s an example from an article in Advances in Nursing Science): 

undefined

On the next page:

a) Enter the title of a specific journal (i.e., Advances in Nursing Science) and click Go to see if it is available electronically.  

undefined

b) Click on the title of the journal.  

c) On the following screen, Options for Getting the Full Text, you will see a list of databases (e.g., “LWW Nursing and Allied Health Professions Premier Collection with Ovid Emcare”) which may provide the full text of your article. 

undefined

Perform a title search for the journal article OR browse by date and follow the year, volume, issue to the specific pages. Scroll the table of contents of the journal for the title of your article.

You can also get to Online Journals through the UCF Libraries homepage.

Tip #4 - Use the Interlibrary Loan Service

Are you sure the article is available full text? If not, try our InterLibrary Loan Service so you don’t have to purchase it - the library pays up to $25 per article for you! Here is a 2 minute video which explains the ILL process in detail along with some quick steps:

Borrowing From Other Libraries from UCF Libraries on Vimeo.

a)    Go to the CINAHL, Medline, QuickSearch or other database record. 
b)    Click on Request Item/See Options” on the left hand side.
c)    Click on the  InterLibrary Loan link. If you haven’t already done so, fill out the InterLibrary Loan registration form.  If you have a UCF student ID card, your library card number is the 14-digit number listed at the bottom front of the card. If you are unable to get a UCF ID card, you may request a library ID number by calling the UCF Libraries Circulation Desk at 407.823.2580 (option #4). They are open past midnight most nights (until 1am) and can quickly give you a library ID number over the phone after a few security questions!
d)    The form should fill out for you after you sign in. Scroll down to the bottom and click on “Submit Request”. 
e)    You should receive an email within 48-72 hours (or less!!) that a PDF has been delivered to your ILL account. Just sign in http://library.ucf.edu/ILL/  and click on Electronically Retrieved Articles to get your article.