Blackwell Companions to Philosophy series
"...Offers a comprehensive and authoritative survey of philosophy as a whole.... each volume provides lucid and engaging coverage of the key figures, terms, topics, and problems of the field" (publisher's description). Currently, there are over 70 volumes in the series, including the following:
- A Companion to Philosophy (Main Library ARC General Collection B 21 .B56 1996)
- A Companion to African Philosophy
- A Companion to African-American Philosophy (Main Library ARC General Collection B 9 .A37 C66 2003)
- A Companion to Ancient Philosophy (Main Library ARC General Collection B 111 .C66 2006)
- A Companion to Continental Philosophy (Main Library ARC General Collection B 803 .C66 1998)
- A Companion to Early Modern Philosophy (Main Library ARC General Collection B 801 .C66 2002)
- A Companion to Feminist Philosophy (Main Library ARC General Collection HQ 1190 .C665 1998)
- A Companion to Latin American Philosophy (Main Library ARC General Collection B 1001 .C65 2010)
- A Companion to World Philosophies (Main Library ARC General Collection B 121 .C664 1997)
A History of Philosophy: From Thales to the Present Time
Main Library ARC General Collection B 82 .U24 1893
A translation from the German of Friedrich Ueberweg's Grundriss der Geschicthe der Philosophy (1862-1866). Covers ancient, patristic, scholastic, and modern (through the nineteenth century) philosophy. The English version, however, does not include the extensive bibliographies of the German original.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Main Library Reference CB 9 .N49 2005
While not confined to philosophical subject matter, nonetheless philosophical ideas (e.g., "Free Will, Determinism, and Predestination," "Stoicism," "Time," "Utilitarianism") are some of the topics covered in this six-volume set. Articles appear in alphabetical sequence, with bibliographies included. Volume 6 contains the index.
Routledge History of Philosophy series
"...Provides a chronological survey of the history of Western philosophy from its beginnings in the sixth century B.C. to the present times. It discusses all the major philosophical developments in depth, and covers all those regarded as great philosophers and many lesser figures of philosophy, past and present" (publisher's description). Volumes in the series include:
- Volume 1: From the Beginning to Plato (Main Library ARC General Collection B 187.5 .R68 1997)
- Volume 2: From Aristotle to Augustine (Main Library ARC General Collection B 505 .F76 1999)
- Volume 3: Medieval Philosophy (Main Library ARC General Collection B 721 .M453 1998)
- Volume 4: The Renaissance and Seventeenth-Century Rationalism (Main Library ARC General Collection B 770 .R38 1993)
- Volume 5: British Philosophy and the Age of Enlightenment (Main Library ARC General Collection B 1302 .E65 B68 1996)
- Volume 6: The Age of German Idealism (Main Library ARC General Collection B 2615 .A35 1993)
- Volume 7: The Nineteenth Century (Main Library ARC General Collection B 803 .N55 1994)
- Volume 8: Twentieth-Century Continental Philosophy (Main Library ARC General Collection B 804 .T884 1994)
- Volume 9: Philosophy of Science, Logic, and Mathematics in the Twentieth Century (Main Library ARC General Collection Q 174.8 .P55 1996)
- Volume 10: Philosophy of Meaning, Knowledge, and Value in the Twentieth Century (Main Library ARC General Collection B 804 .P538 1997)