It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these directories to find basic background information about companies and industries and the types of skill sets they are seeking, as well as listings of the largest employers in a certain industry or locale.
Call Number: UCF MAIN Library Reference -- HF5382.75.U6 A45
Lists 500 major U.S. corporations, including information on growth, financial stability, salaries, benefits, and hiring. Contains index of companies for specific types of job-seekers (e.g., liberal arts, sales/marketing).
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- HF5549.5.C67 P585
NOTE: Online access is limited to a specific number of users per year check availability of print version
To be used in conjunction with The Almanac of American Employers. Focus is on mid-size firms with 300-2,500 employees.
Career Guide: Dun's Employment Opportunities Directory
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- HF5382.5.U5 D86
An alphabetical directory of leading U.S. companies with at least 1,000 employees. Describes the nature of the business, prospective employment, types of available positions, and personnel contact. Indexed geographically and by industrial classification. Also lists employers offering work-study or internship programs.
NOTE: Online access is limited to 1 simultaneous user
Contains employer profiles in major cities, including Fort Lauderdale, Jacksonville, Miami, Orlando, Tampa, and all other areas. Entries list standard contact information (and, where possible, also the contact person by name and title) and a description of the company's products and/or services.
Job Hunter's Sourcebook: Where to Find Employment Leads and Other Job Search Resources
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- HF5382.7 .J62 2002
The main section profiles 206 high-interest professional and vocational occupations. Each occupational profile lists a variety of job-opportunity information specific to that occupation, organized into seven categories: sources of help-wanted ads, placement and job referral services, employer directories and networking lists, handbooks and manuals, employment agencies and search firms, online job sources and services, and other sources (e.g., job hotlines, internships).
The National Job Bank
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- HF5382.5.U5 N34
Contains over 20,000 employer profiles, including standard contact information (and, where possible, also the contact person by name and title) and a description of the company's products and/or services. Many listings also include jobs commonly filled, headquarters location, e-mail and World Wide Web addresses, and internships information. Indexes list companies by state and by industry.
Orlando Business Journal Book of Lists
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- HC108.O7 B4
Issued annually, gives essential information on the leading businesses and employers in over 60 industries. Also provides a helpful snapshot of the condition of the local economy.
Call Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- HF5382.7 .W55 2008
First things first -- Making a start -- The skills they want from everybody -- Your CV -- CV problems -- CVs with special considerations -- CVs for specific jobs -- Application forms -- Covering letters -- Telephone calls -- The job search -- Job search strategies -- Interviews: making a great impression -- Answering interview questions -- Questions for specific jobs -- Questions for school and college leavers -- Interviews and more -- Offers and rejections