Other Historical Resources
U.S. Congressional Serial Set and American State Papers
Dirksen Center Projects - "The Dirksen Congressional Center is a non-partisan, not-for-profit organization in Pekin, Illinois, that seeks to improve civic engagement by promoting a better understanding of Congress and its leaders through archival, research, and educational programs."
- The Civil Rights Documentation Project
- Editorial Cartoon Collection
- "Facing the Post-War World: Everett M. Dirksen Abroad, 1945"
- The 1960s: A Multi-Media View from Capitol Hill
- Understanding Congressional Decisions Through Vectors
- 14 Units to Learn How a Bill Becomes a Law
Congressional Committees
- Committees in the U.S. Congress, 1993-2010Call Number: Reference JK 1029.C64 2011
U.S. Congressional Bibliographies
- U.S. Congressional Bibliographies (North Carolina State University)[no longer updated - link to archived site]
"enumerate and describe meetings held by Congressional committees since 1985, those for which printed transcripts are issued, and those that remain unprinted. Its sources are the Congressional Record's Daily Digest and bibliographic information supplied by the U.S. Senate Library. Its primary goal is to be an authoritative, exhaustive reference source of meetings held and documents released by House and Senate committees."
Papers of the members of Congress
- Congressional Collections (U.S. National Archives)"The Center for Legislative Archives maintains this index of archival repositories and congressional collections to assist researchers in locating the papers of U.S. senators and representatives. This index is arranged by state thereunder the name of the holding institution or organization followed by the name of the member of Congress."
- Lou Frey Papers, 1947-2006 (UCF Special Collections)Lou Frey served ten years as a Congressional Representative for Central Florida from 1969-1979, which includes the time of the Watergate scandal. During his tenure, he served on the House Interstate and Foreign Commerce Committee, House Science and Technology Committee, the Republican Committee on Committees and the Republican Research Committee.
- Collected Papers of LegislatorsIdentifies locations of collected papers of state & federal legislators
U.S. Congressional Documents & Debates (Library of Congress)
- Continental Congress & the Constitutional Convention
- Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789)
- Letters of Delegates to Congress (1774-1789)
- Elliot's Debates (1787-1789)
- Farrand's Records (1787)
- Statutes & Documents
- Bills & Resolutions - selected sessions:
- House, 1799-1873
- Senate, 1819-1873
- Senate Joint Resolutions, 1824-1873
- Statutes at Large (1789-1875)
- American State Papers (1789-1838)
- U.S. Serial Set (selected Documents,Reports & Maps, 1833-1917)
- Bills & Resolutions - selected sessions:
- Journals of Congress
- House Journal (1789-1875)
- Senate Journal (1789-1875)
- Senate Executive Journal (1789-1875)
- Maclay's Journal (1789-1791)
- Debates of Congress
- Annals of Congress (1789-1824)
- Register of Debates (1824-1837)
- Congressional Globe (1833-1873)
- Congressional Record (first three volumes, 1873-1875)
Congressional Bills
- Legislative Explorer (1973+) This link opens in a new window- "Compare the bills and resolutions introduced by Senators and Representatives and follow their progress from the beginning to the end of a two year Congress."
- "Filter by topic, type of legislation, chamber, party, member, or even search for a specific bill."
- 1947-2008 Congressional Bills Project (University of Washington)"a relational database of over 400,000 public and private bills introduced in the U.S. House and Senate since 1947...organized in a format that facilitates quantitative studies, and also includes detailed information about each bill's sponsor."