Find UCF Books
Search the UCF Library Catalog for
Fiction
- Revolutionary War, 1775-1783
- War of 1812, 1812-1815
- Mexican War, 1846-1848
- U.S. Civil War, 1861-1865
- Spanish American War, 1898
- World War, 1914-1918
- World War, 1939-1945
- Korean War, 1950-1953
- Vietnam War, 1961-1975
- Iran Iraq War, 1980-1988
- Persian Gulf War, 1991
- Iraq War, 2003-
Drama
- Revolutionary War, 1775-1783
- War of 1812, 1812-1815
- Mexican War, 1846-1848
- U.S. Civil War, 1861-1865
- Spanish American War, 1898
- World War, 1914-1918
- World War, 1939-1945
- Korean War, 1950-1953
- Vietnam War, 1961-1975
- Iran Iraq War, 1980-1988
- Persian Gulf War, 1991
- Iraq War, 2003-
Poetry
UCF Representing War Course
These literature resources were specifically identified for students in the Representing War course (prior related course: Texts & War) with Dr. Angley and Dr. Jungblut.
Quotations
- War & Conflict Quotations: A Worldwide Dictionary of Pronouncements from Military Leaders, Politicians, Philosophers, Writers & OthersCall Number: Reference PN 6084.W35 T48 1997
- Words on War: Military Quotations from Ancient Times to the PresentCall Number: Reference PN 6084.W35 S5 1990
LitFinder
LitFinder -- Search by Subject/Theme to identify poems, stories, essays, plays & speeches about
|
|
Theatre databases
- Theatre in Context Collection (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- In the table of contents section, select "Subjects"
- Near the top of the next page, change from "Resources & References" to "Scenes"
- On the next page, change from "General topics (broad)" to "Historical events"
- The resulting list identifies some dramatic scenes dealing with various battles, conflicts, wars
- Theatre in Video (ASP)provides online streaming video of plays
Literature & Its Times: Profiles of Notable Literary Works & the Historical Events That Inspired Them
- Literature & Its Times: Profiles of Notable Literary Works & the Historical Events That Inspired ThemCall Number: Reference PN 50 .L574 1997
- Latin American Literature & Its TimesCall Number: Reference PQ 7081 .M625 1999World Literature & Its Times - v. 1
- British & Irish Literature & Its Times: Celtic Migrations to the Reform Bill (Beginnings-1830s)Call Number: Reference PR 25 .M67 2001World Literature & Its Times - v. 3
- History in Literature: A Reader's Guide to 20th-Century History & the Literature It InspiredCall Number: Reference PN 50 .Q56 2004
Other Literature Resources
- Brassey's Guide to War FilmsCall Number: Reference PN 1995.9.W3 E79 2000
- Cold War Culture: Media & The Arts, 1945-1990Call Number: Reference E 169.12 .S39 1998
- Encyclopedia of American War FilmsCall Number: Reference PN 1995.9.W3 L36 1989
- Encyclopedia of American War LiteratureCall Number: Reference PS 169 .W27 E53 2001
- Future War Novels: An Annotated Bibliography of Works in English Published Since 1946Call Number: Reference PR 888 .W37 N43 1984
- Historical Dictionary of War JournalismCall Number: Reference PN 4784.W37 R68 1997
- Spanish Civil War in Literature, Film, & Art: An International Bibliography of Secondary LiteratureCall Number: Reference DP 269.8 .I5 M66 1994
- Uchronia: The Alternate History List"a bibliography of over 2900 novels, stories, essays and other printed material involving the 'what ifs' of history. The genre has a variety of names, but it is best known as alternate history. In an alternate history, one or more past events are changed and the subsequent effects on history somehow described. This description may comprise the entire plotline of a novel, or it may just provide a brief background to a short story. Perhaps the most common themes in alternate history are 'What if the Nazis won World War II?' and 'What if the Confederacy won the American Civil War?' " The Divergence Chronology can be used to identify works associated with a changed event of a particular year.
- Vietnam Experience: A Concise Encyclopedia of American Literature, Songs, & FilmsCall Number: Reference DS 557.73 .H55 1998
- Vietnam War Literature: An Annotated Bibliography of Imaginative Works about Americans Fighting in VietnamCall Number: Reference PS 228 .V5 N49 1996
- War Story Guide: An Annotated Bibliography of Military FictionCall Number: Reference PN 3448.W3 S57Part I: Before the 20th Century
- Europe (to A.D. 400; 400-1500; 1500-1700; 1700-1800; 1800-1900)
- North America (to 1754; 1754-1775; 1775-1782; 1783-1815; 1815-1860; 1861-1865; 1866-1900)
- Latin America (to 1800; 1800-1900)
- Africa, Asia & the Pacific (to 1000; 1000-1600; 1600-1800; 1800-1900)
Part II: The 20th Century
- The Last Years of Innocence, 1900-1914
- World War I, 1914-1919
- The Years of Civil War & Aggression, 1918-1939
- World War II, 1939-1945
- The Years of Cold War & Hot Police Actions, 1945-1978
Part III: Chronicles covering more than one period
Indexes: Pseudonyms; Author; Title; and Battle, War & Warrior