Vietnam War, 1961-1975
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam WarCall Number: UCF Main General Collection -- DS 557.7 .E53 1996
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, & Military HistoryCall Number: UCF Main Reference Collection -- DS 557.7 .E53 1998- A Study of Strategic Lessons Learned in Vietnam, 1945-1975Call Number: Microfilm D 743.5 .M37 1985 (guide in Reference)Vol. 1 - The Enemy
Vol. 2 - South Vietnam
Vol. 3 - U.S. foreign policy and Vietnam, 1945-1975
Vol. 4 - U.S. domestic factors influencing Vietnam war policy making
Vol. 5 - Planning the war
Vol. 6 - Conduct of the war: Book 1 - Operational Analyses; Book 2 - Functional Analyses
Vol. 7 - The soldier
Vol. 8 - Results of the war
Vol. 9 - Omnibus executive summary
other possible digital versions
Browse the UCF Library Catalog for Vietnam War books
| Call Number | Subject |
|---|---|
| DS 557 | Periodicals. Societies. Serials |
| DS 557.3 | Congresses. Conferences, etc. |
| DS 557.4 | Sources & documents |
| DS 557.5 | Biography (Collective) |
| DS 557.6 | Causes. Origins. Aims |
| DS 557.7 | General works. Military operations (General) |
| DS 557.72 | Pictorial works. Satire, caricature, etc. |
| DS 557.73 | Motion pictures about the war |
| DS 557.74 | Study & teaching |
| DS 557.8.A-Z | Individual campaigns, battles, etc., A-Z |
| - DS 557.8.A5 | - An Loc |
| - DS 557.8.A53 | - Ap Bac |
| - DS 557.8.B53 | - Binh Dinh |
| - DS 557.8.C3 | - Cambodia |
| - DS 557.8.C4 | - Central Highlands |
| - DS 557.8.E23 | - Easter Offensive, 1972 |
| - DS 557.8.H54 | - Hiep Duc Valley |
| - DS 557.8.H83 | - Huê, Battle of, 1968 |
| - DS 557.8.I18 | - Ia Drang Valley, Battle of, 1965 |
| - DS 557.8.K5 | - Khe Sanh |
| - DS 557.8.K56 | - Kontum, 1972 |
| - DS 557.8.L3 | - Laos |
| - DS 557.8.M9 | - My Lai Massacre |
| - DS 557.8.O66 | - Operation Tailwind, 1970 |
| - DS 557.8.S6 | - Sontay Raid, 1970 |
| - DS 557.8.T4 | - Tet Offensive, 1968 |
| - DS 557.8.T6 | - Tonkin |
| DS 558-558.6 | By country Including foreign relations, participation in the conflict, etc. |
| - DS 558-558.4 | - United States |
| - - DS 558 | - - General works |
| - - DS 558.2 | - - General special |
| - - DS 558.4 | - - Armies, divisions, regiments, etc. |
| - DS 558.5 | - Democratic Republic (North Vietnam) See also DS560.4 Effect of war in North Vietnam |
| - DS 558.6.A-Z | - Other, A-Z |
| - - DS 558.6.A8 | - - Australia |
| - - DS 558.6.C2 | - - Canada |
| - - DS 558.6.G7 | - - Great Britain |
| - - DS 558.6.J3 | - - Japan |
| - - DS 558.6.K8 | - - Korea |
| - - DS 558.6.N45 | - - New Zealand |
| - - DS 558.6.S65 | - - Soviet Union |
| DS 558.7 | Naval operations |
| DS 558.8 | Aerial operations Including history of individual units |
| DS 558.9.A-Z | Other services, A-Z |
| - DS 558.9.A75 | - Armor |
| DS 558.92 | Guerilla operations |
| DS 559.2 | Atrocities. War crimes |
| DS 559.4 | Prisoners & prisons |
| DS 559.42 | Economic aspects. Commerce, finance, etc. (General) For individual countries see HC, HF, HJ |
| DS 559.44 | Medical & sanitary services |
| DS 559.46 | Press. Censorship. Publicity |
| DS 559.5 | Personal narratives |
| DS 559.6-559.62 | Protest movements, anti-war demonstrations, public opinion |
| - DS 559.62.A-Z | - By region or country, A-Z |
| - - DS 559.62.C2 | - - Canada |
| - - DS 559.62.U6 | - - United States |
| DS 559.63 | Relief work. Charities. Refugees. Displaced persons |
| DS 559.64 | Moral & religious aspects |
| DS 559.7 | Peace negotiations, treaties, etc. |
| DS 559.72-559.73 | Veterans |
| - DS 559.73.A-Z | - By region or country, A-Z |
| - - DS 559.73.U6 | - - United States |
| DS 559.8.A-Z | Other topics, A-Z |
| - DS 559.8.A4 | - Amnesty |
| - DS 559.8.A78 | - Art & the war |
| - DS 559.8.B55 | - Blacks |
| - DS 559.8.C5 | - Chemical warfare. Biological warfare. Defoliation |
| - DS 559.8.C53 | - Children. Orphans |
| - DS 559.8.C6 | - Communications |
| - DS 559.8.C63 | - Conscientious objectors |
| - DS 559.8.D4 | - Desertions |
| - DS 559.8.D7 | - Draft resisters |
| - DS 559.8.M39 | - Mexican Americans |
| - DS 559.8.M44 | - Military intelligence |
| - DS 559.8.M5 | - Missing in action |
| - DS 559.8.P65 | - Propaganda |
| - DS 559.8.P7 | - Psychological aspects |
| - DS 559.8.S3 | - Science & technology |
| - DS 559.8.S4 | - Search & rescue operations |
| - DS 559.8.S6 | - Social aspects |
| - DS 559.8.T85 | - Tunnels |
| - DS 559.8.W6 | - Women |
| DS 559.82-559.832 | Celebrations. Memorials. Monuments |
| - DS 559.825-559.83 | - United States |
| - - DS 559.83.W18 | - - Vietnam Veterans Memorial (Washington, D.C.) |
| DS 559.9.A-Z | Local history, A-Z |
U.S. Army Center of Military History
Books & Research Materials, Organized by Time Periods:
|
CMH Series & Collections:
|
- Online Bookshelves (U.S. Army Center of Military History)print copies of many of these books are also available in the UCF Libraries' U.S. Documents Collection.
Other Historical Resources
American Journey Primary Sources (conduct an advanced search for the following by "publication title")
American Memory (Library of Congress) -- The digital collections include:
- Civil War - images, texts, maps, & band music
- Diplomacy & Foreign Service - oral history, 1940-1990
- Japanese-American Internment Photographs
- Pearl Harbor & Public Reactions
- September 11, 2001, & Public Reactions
- Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
- World War I - speeches, military newspapers, images, & maps
- World War II - military situation maps
Boundary News Archive (International Boundaries Research Unit) -- "searchable archive of international boundary news, which contains over 10,000 boundary-related reports from a wide range of news sources around the world. Most reports are from the period when the Boundary & Security Bulletin was published (1991 to 2001) but additional reports have been added from 2006 onwards."
U.S. Coast Guard History (U.S. Coast Guard Historian's Office) provides articles, information and downloadable files.
National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books (George Washington University) "provide online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy, and more. Updated frequently, the Electronic Briefing Books represent just a small sample of the documents in our published and unpublished collections."
U.S. Congressional Serial Set - Armed Forces & Conflicts -- See additional information and availability on the Serial Set LibGuide.
- Wars and Conflicts of the United States Navy (Naval History & Heritage Command)"Documents on this home page are arranged chronologically for ease of access. The Battle Streamers contain a brief history of the Navy's role in the war, conflict or operation."
- Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library (CARL) Digital LibraryThe collections contained within the Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library are largely composed of digital versions of paper documents from the Ike Skelton CARL collections and student papers produced at the US Army Command and General Staff College.
- US Army Heritage & Education Center Digital CollectionsUS Army Heritage Museum collection (USAHEC): Art -- Artifacts -- Audio & Visual -- Civil War Photographs -- Finding Aids: Manuscripts & Photographs -- History of Carlisle Barracks -- Korean War US Army Signal Corps Photographs Collection -- Manuscripts -- Military Publications -- Army Regulations - Field Manuals -- General Orders -- Pamphlets -- Technical Bulletins -- Technical Manuals -- MOLLUS Massachusetts Civil War Photographs -- Omar N. Bradley Collection -- Oral Histories -- Periodicals -- Photographs -- Printed Materials -- Reference Bibliographies -- Vietnam War Photographs Collection -- Veterans Survey Collections -- WWI US Army Signal Corps Photographs Collection -- WWII US Army Signal Corps Photographs Collection -- Database: Photographs -- Database: Manuscript
Foreign Relations of the United States (1861+)
- Foreign Relations of the United States (1861+)Call Number: US Documents S 1.1:Online version 1861-1960 (University of Wisconsin)
Online version 1961+ (U.S. State Department) (includes some earlier volumes)
"presents the official documentary historical record of major foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity of the United States Government. The series documents the facts and events that contributed to the formulation of policies and includes evidence of supporting and alternative views to the policy positions ultimately adopted."
This bound set of more than 350 volumes is available in the UCF Library and is still being published, but has a delay in publication of approximately 30-35 years. - Toward "Thorough, Accurate, and Reliable": A History of the Foreign Relations of the United States Series"traces the evolution of the Foreign Relations of the United States documentary history series from its antecedents in the early republic through the implementation of its current mandate, the 1991 Foreign Relations statute. This book traces how policymakers and an expanding array of stakeholders translated values like “security,” “legitimacy,” and “transparency” into practice as they debated how to balance the government’s pursuit of security with its commitment to openness. Determining the “people’s right to know” has fueled lively discussion for over two centuries, and this work provides important, historically informed perspectives valuable to policymakers and engaged citizens as that conversation continues."
Florida Department of Military Affairs -- Adjutant-General
- Special Archives publications (Florida Dept of Military Affairs)Call Number: FL Documents MA B3:S63/Florida militia and National Guard muster rolls, rosters, unit histories, casualties, fatalities, etc.
- colonial Spanish America
- Seminole Indian Wars
- War with Mexico
- Civil War
- World War I
- World War II
- Korean War
- Vietnamese Conflict
- Operation Desert Shield/Desert Storm
Military Affairs -- Adjutant-General -- Biennial/Annual Reports
- FL Documents MA1: (1890, 1895-1896, 1899-1900, 1903-1904, 1907, 1969-1996, 1998-2002)
- includes some lists of names of Florida National Guard members
World War I - volumes 6, 15, 21-29, 46-47, 79-84
World War II - volumes 1-3, 6-8, 10-13, 15, 17-19, 25, 30-31, 34, 41, 44-45, 48, 58-63, 65, 68, 73-74, 79-83, 85, 97-99, 101, 106-108, 119-120, 133-137, 147-148