Call Number: General Collection - 4th Floor -- UA 15.L652
Online editions: 1997+ Print editions: 1969/1970-1984/1985,1986/1987-2007
- Conflict Analysis & Conflict Trends
- Comparative Defence Statistics
- North America
- Russia & Eurasia
- Middle East & North Africa
- Latin America & the Caribbean
- Sub-Saharan Africa
- Country Comparisons: Force Levels & Economics
[conduct an advanced search by publication title]
- "an ongoing series designed to present, in an informative and lively pro-con format, different perspectives on major historical events drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe."
- "Each entry begins with a brief statement of the opposing points of view on the topic, followed by a short essay summarizing the issue and outlining the controversy. At the heart of the entry...are the two or more lengthy essays...each presenting one side of the dispute.... Entries also include excerpts from primary-source documents, ... detailed entry bibliographies, and photographs or illustrations appropriate to the issue."
- "Individual volumes in the series concentrate on specific themes, eras, or subjects intended to correspond to the way history is studied at the academic level", e.g. the Cold War, the Middle East since 1945, World War II, the Spanish Civil War, World War I, Revolutionary Russia, the American Revolution, and the Crusades.
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference - 2nd Floor -- D 210 .H59
Each volume in the series covers thirty conflicts--including ethnic, religious, economic, political, territorial, and environmental conflicts--and provides an essay exploring the background to today's events. Includes a summary of the headline event, historical background, and recent history and the future.
Warfare & Armed Conflicts: A Statistical Encyclopedia of Casualty & Other Figures, 1494-2007
Call Number: Reference D 214 .C54 2008
The Encyclopedia of Military History from 3500 B.C. to the Present by by R. Ernest Dupuy & Trevor N. Dupuy
Call Number: Reference D 25 .A2 .D8 1977
"consists of a series of chronologically and geographically organized narratives of wars, warfare, and military affairs. The course of recorded history is arbitrarily divided into twenty-one specific time periods, and one chapter is devoted to each period. Each chapter is prefaced by an introductory essay presenting a professional assessment of the principal military trends of the period, including its outstanding leaders, and the general progression of the military art in tactics, strategy, weaponry, organization, and the like. The chronological surveys of the principal wars of the period which follow are treated separately from the regional or national presentations because they possess a significance or geographical scope that extends beyond the confines of a single region. The remainder of each chapter is divided into the major geographical regions known during the era."
World Conflicts: A Comprehensive Guide to World Strife Since 1945
Call Number: Reference D 842 .B69 1998
- Africa: Algeria, Angola, Burundi & Rwanda, Chad, Congo (Zaire), Ethiopia, Liberia, Libya, Morocco, Mozambique, Somalia, Sudan, Uganda;
- Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Burma, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Vietnam;
- Middle East: Iran, Iraq, Israel, The Kurds, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Yemen;
- Europe: The Commonwealth of Independent States, Cyprus, Northern Ireland, Yugoslavia;
- Latin America: Argentina & the Falklands, Central America, Peru, The Drug Wars;
- Terrorism: Modern Terrorism, The Euro-terrorists, Japan, Nationalist Terrorism, Arab Terrorism, Forlorn Hopes, A Chronicle of Terrorism;
- Appendices: Wars since 1945, Coups & Revolutions since 1945, Assassinations since 1945
Blacks in the United States Armed Forces: Basic Documents
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- E185.63.B55
- v.1: A Time of Slavery
- v.2: Civil War & Emancipation
- v.3: Freedom & Jim Crow, 1865-1917
- v.4: Segregation Entrenched, 1917-1940
- v.5: Black Soldiers in World War II
- v.6: Blacks in World War II, Naval Establishment
- v.7: Planning for the Postwar, Employment of Black Personnel
- v.8: Segregation under Siege
- v.9: The Fahy Committee
- v.10: The Fahy Committee
- v.11: The Fahy Committee
- v.12: Integration
- v.13: Equal Treatment & Opportunity, the McNamara Doctrine
Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II
Call Number: Reference D 843 .E46 1999
- Roots of War - "outlining the major types of conflicts and the underlying causes of war in the post-World War II era." - Cold War Confrontations; Anti-Colonialism; People's Wars; Coups; Invasions & Border Disputes; Ethnic & Religious Conflicts; Terrorism & International Incidents; International Arms Trade
- Alliances & Treaties
- Conflicts - arranged alphabetically according to the most important country involved in the conflict
Encyclopedia of War Crimes & Genocide
Call Number: Reference HV 6322.7.H67 2011
Global Geopolitical Flashpoints: An Atlas of Conflict
Call Number: Reference JC 319 .A5 2000
"current & potential flashpoints are discussed. For each, the importance of its location is examined and the development of the particular geopolitical issue is traced."
Revolution: Critical Concepts in Political Science
Call Number: Reference JC 491 .R48654 2000
- Understanding the Nature of Revolution: Concept & Typology
- Explaining the Causes of Revolution
- Explaining Revolutionary State Building & the Outcomes of Revolutions
- Revolutionaries' Theories of Revolution as Social Science
- Case Studies of Great Revolutions: Applying Theories, Testing Hypotheses
- Comparing & Contrasting Cases: Explaining the Success or Failure of Modern Revolutions
- Revolutionary Change in Eastern Europe, 1989, & the Future of Revolutions
The International Encyclopedia of Revolution & Protest: 1500 to the Present
Call Number: Reference JC 491 .I58 2009
"Presents major uprisings and protest movements, and the ideas, ideologies and activists that propelled them, chronicles the manner in which they unfolded, traces their roots, goals, tactics, and influence, and evaluates their successes and failures"
SIPRI Yearbook: Armaments, Disarmament & International Security
Call Number: Reference JX 1974 .S75 (1981, 1989+; current ed. in Reference; earlier in General Collection
"analyses developments in:
- Security and conflicts
- Military spending and armaments
- Non-proliferation, arms control and disarmament
with extensive annexes on arms control and disarmament agreements and a chronology of security- and arms control-related events."
See also SIPRI Data Sets (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute)
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference KZ 5900 .G53 2009
ch4ck availability of print edition
"This reference work explores the characteristics, history interrelations and impact of over 450 formal interstate alliances, beginning with the 1648 Peace of Westphalia considered the start of the contemporary system of international relations."
Empires at War by by Richard A. Gabriel
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference U 29 .G232 2005
"This book is about the military capabilities of the empires of the ancient world and the armies, soldiers, technologies, and commanders that made the empire not only the primary means for waging war but also the primary political, economic, and cultural vehicle of human social development for more than 6,000 years."
- Volume 1: 4000 B.C.E. - 326 B.C.E. -- includes Sumer, Akkad, Egypt, Mitanni, Hatti, Israel, Assyria, China, India, classical Greece, & Persia
- Volume 2: 218 B.C.E. - 1066 C.E. -- includes Carthage, Republican Rome, the Gallic Wars, Barbarians, Imperial Rome, the Huns, Korea, the Arabs, Charlemagne & the Franks, Vikings, and the Normans & Saxons.
- Volume 3: 950 C.E. - 1600 C.E. -- includes the Medieval Knight, Crusades, Japanese, Mongols, Swiss, the Hundred Years' War, Byzantines & Ottomans, the empires of the Americas (Aztecs, Incas & Mayas). Concludes with a chapter on the evolution of modern war, 1453-2005 C.E.
American Military History: A Guide to Reference & Information Sources
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference Z 1249 .M5 B58 2009
"As did its predecessor, this book covers land, air, and naval forces, primarily but not exclusively from a U.S. perspective, with the welcome emergence of "small wars" from publishing obscurity. In addition to identifying relevant organizations and associations, Blewett has gathered together the very best in chronologies, bibliographies, biographical dictionaries, indexes, journals, abstracts, glossaries, and encyclopedias, each accompanied by a brief descriptive annotation."
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare & Military Technology
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference U 37.O94 2010
"This three-volume encyclopedia examines all aspects of warfare and military technology in medieval times. It provides an exhaustive and accurate view of how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States from circa 500 CE to circa 1500."
Alphabetical List of Battles, 1754-1900: War of the Rebellion, Spanish-American War, Philippine Insurrection, and All Old Wars with Dates
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference E 181 .S89 1968
"summary of events of the War of the Rebellion, 1860-1865, Spanish-American War, Philippine Insurrection, 1898-1900, Troubles in China, 1900, with other valuable information in regard to the various wars"
"contains the texts of the Geneva Protocol of 1925 and, in chronological order, all major arms control agreements concluded after World War II in which the United States has been a participant up to May 1988. The text of each agreement is preceded by a brief narrative discussion prepared by the United States Arms Control and Disarmament Agency and is followed by a list of signatories and parties."
"From 1945 to 1962, approximately 235 air, surface, underground, and underwater nuclear weapons tests were executed under the auspices of the Atomic Energy Commission.... The primary purpose of these tests were to verify the principles of nuclear weapons design and to determine the effects of nuclear weapons on both military and civilian targets." These reports for individual tests were concerned primarily with exposures of participating individuals to the effects of low-level ionizing radiation.