Other Historical Resources
American Journey Primary Sources (conduct an advanced search for the following by "publication title")
American Memory (Library of Congress) -- The digital collections include:
- Civil War - images, texts, maps, & band music
- Diplomacy & Foreign Service - oral history, 1940-1990
- Japanese-American Internment Photographs
- Pearl Harbor & Public Reactions
- September 11, 2001, & Public Reactions
- Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
- World War I - speeches, military newspapers, images, & maps
- World War II - military situation maps
Boundary News Archive (International Boundaries Research Unit) -- "searchable archive of international boundary news, which contains over 10,000 boundary-related reports from a wide range of news sources around the world. Most reports are from the period when the Boundary & Security Bulletin was published (1991 to 2001) but additional reports have been added from 2006 onwards."
U.S. Coast Guard History (U.S. Coast Guard Historian's Office) provides articles, information and downloadable files.
National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books (George Washington University) "provide online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy, and more. Updated frequently, the Electronic Briefing Books represent just a small sample of the documents in our published and unpublished collections."
U.S. Congressional Serial Set - Armed Forces & Conflicts -- See additional information and availability on the Serial Set LibGuide.
- Wars and Conflicts of the United States Navy (Naval History & Heritage Command)"Documents on this home page are arranged chronologically for ease of access. The Battle Streamers contain a brief history of the Navy's role in the war, conflict or operation."
- Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library (CARL) Digital LibraryThe collections contained within the Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library are largely composed of digital versions of paper documents from the Ike Skelton CARL collections and student papers produced at the US Army Command and General Staff College.
- US Army Heritage & Education Center Digital CollectionsUS Army Heritage Museum collection (USAHEC): Art -- Artifacts -- Audio & Visual -- Civil War Photographs -- Finding Aids: Manuscripts & Photographs -- History of Carlisle Barracks -- Korean War US Army Signal Corps Photographs Collection -- Manuscripts -- Military Publications -- Army Regulations - Field Manuals -- General Orders -- Pamphlets -- Technical Bulletins -- Technical Manuals -- MOLLUS Massachusetts Civil War Photographs -- Omar N. Bradley Collection -- Oral Histories -- Periodicals -- Photographs -- Printed Materials -- Reference Bibliographies -- Vietnam War Photographs Collection -- Veterans Survey Collections -- WWI US Army Signal Corps Photographs Collection -- WWII US Army Signal Corps Photographs Collection -- Database: Photographs -- Database: Manuscript
CRS Reports -- Congressional Research Service
"Reports for Congress, analyses or studies on specific issues of congressional legislative interest, are often prepared in response to numerous congressional inquiries. Reports may take many forms: policy analysis, economic studies, statistical reviews, legal analyses, historical studies, chronologies, and two-page fact sheets." (2006 Annual Report)
A CRS Report is not made available to the public unless a member of Congress releases it. The following resources provide access to released reports.
- ProQuest Congressional -- CRS Reports (1916+) and Committee Prints (1830+)Abstracts, Indexing, and Searchable PDFs
See Research Guide for more information
- EveryCRSReport.com This link opens in a new window"every CRS report that’s available on Congress’s internal website CRS.gov, plus about 5,100 archived reports from the University of North Texas Libraries Government Documents Department CRS reports collection."
- CRS Reports (University of North Texas)"aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different Web sites since 1990."
- CRSReports.com This link opens in a new window"CRSReports.com is a free web based repository of Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports."
- CRS Reports (Archive-It)"There are several organizations that collect and give access to subsets of published CRS Reports. This collection attempts to bring all CRS Reports together in one place."
- Penny Hill Pressprovides a subject directory with abstracts of CRS Reports
Topical CRS Collections
- Homeland Security Digital Libraryprovides access to over 4,000 CRS Reports.
- National Library for the Environment (ceased?)provided access to over 2,000 CRS Reports on environmental and related topics.
- Federation of American Scientistsselected CRS Reports primarily addressing national security, weapons, foreign policy, space policy, and related topics.
- Thurgood Marshall Law Library (University of Maryland)CRS Reports - Homeland Security/Terrorism and Health Law and Policy
- Key Workplace Documents (Cornell University)"a unique collection of materials which encompass aspects of the employer-employee relationship" - includes a collection of CRS Reports and Issue Briefs.
- U.S. Dept of State, Foreign Press Centersselected CRS reports
- Franklin Pierce Law Center IP MallIntellectual property, cyberlaw and electronic commerce CRS Reports
- Air University selected CRS Reportsselected reports dealing with homeland security, military, international, etc.
- National Agricultural Law CenterCRS reports related to agriculture and food issues
- GlobalSecurity.orgnational security & budget, military operations, arms sales, weapon systems, and regions of world
- IWS - The Information Warfare Sitearchive of CRS reports from 2001-2004 regarding homeland security, intelligence, terrorism, etc.
Foreign Relations of the United States (1861+)
- Foreign Relations of the United States (1861+)Call Number: US Documents S 1.1:Online version 1861-1960 (University of Wisconsin)
Online version 1961+ (U.S. State Department) (includes some earlier volumes)
"presents the official documentary historical record of major foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity of the United States Government. The series documents the facts and events that contributed to the formulation of policies and includes evidence of supporting and alternative views to the policy positions ultimately adopted."
This bound set of more than 350 volumes is available in the UCF Library and is still being published, but has a delay in publication of approximately 30-35 years. - Toward "Thorough, Accurate, and Reliable": A History of the Foreign Relations of the United States Series"traces the evolution of the Foreign Relations of the United States documentary history series from its antecedents in the early republic through the implementation of its current mandate, the 1991 Foreign Relations statute. This book traces how policymakers and an expanding array of stakeholders translated values like “security,” “legitimacy,” and “transparency” into practice as they debated how to balance the government’s pursuit of security with its commitment to openness. Determining the “people’s right to know” has fueled lively discussion for over two centuries, and this work provides important, historically informed perspectives valuable to policymakers and engaged citizens as that conversation continues."
Assessing Revolutionary & Insurgent Strategies (ARIS Studies)
- Casebook on insurgency and revolutionary warfareCall Number: UCF Main Library U.S. Documents - 1st Floor -- D 101.2:IN 7/2/
a series from U.S. Army Special Operations Command
- Human factors considerations of undergrounds in insurgenciesCall Number: UCF Main Library U.S. Documents - 1st Floor -- D 101.2:H 88/4
- Undergrounds in Insurgent, Revolutionary, & Resistance Warfare (2nd ed.)Call Number: UCF Main Library U.S. Documents - 1st Floor -- D 101.2:IN 7
- Irregular Warfare Annotated BibliographyCall Number: UCF Main Library U.S. Documents - 1st Floor -- D 101.56:W 23
Other Resources
- Military & Sexual Assault (University of South Alabama)a research guide created by Vicki Tate as a supplement to a 2013 display
- The VENONA Files (Internet Archive)"The U.S. Army's Signal Intelligence Service, the precursor to the National Security Agency, began a secret program in February 1943 later codenamed VENONA. The mission of this small program was to examine and exploit Soviet diplomatic communications but after the program began, the message traffic included espionage efforts as well."
- American Battle Monuments Commission (ABMC) Burials This link opens in a new windowSearch the names of more than 218,000 individuals buried or memorialized at ABMC sites.
Florida Department of Military Affairs -- Adjutant-General
- Special Archives publications (Florida Dept of Military Affairs)Call Number: FL Documents MA B3:S63/Florida militia and National Guard muster rolls, rosters, unit histories, casualties, fatalities, etc.
- colonial Spanish America
- Seminole Indian Wars
- War with Mexico
- Civil War
- World War I
- World War II
- Korean War
- Vietnamese Conflict
- Operation Desert Shield/Desert Storm
Military Affairs -- Adjutant-General -- Biennial/Annual Reports
- FL Documents MA1: (1890, 1895-1896, 1899-1900, 1903-1904, 1907, 1969-1996, 1998-2002)
- includes some lists of names of Florida National Guard members
World War I - volumes 6, 15, 21-29, 46-47, 79-84
World War II - volumes 1-3, 6-8, 10-13, 15, 17-19, 25, 30-31, 34, 41, 44-45, 48, 58-63, 65, 68, 73-74, 79-83, 85, 97-99, 101, 106-108, 119-120, 133-137, 147-148
Awards & Decorations
- American decorations: List of awards of Congressional Medal of Honor, Distinguished-Service Cross, and Distinguished-Service Medal, awarded under authority of Congress of U.S.; 1862-1926Call Number: U.S. Documents ONLINE -- W3.2:M46/9list of recipients by nationality, with grounds for awards
- Decorations, United States Army, 1862-1926, supplement 1: American Decorations, a list of awards of the Congressional Medal of Honor, the Distinguished-Service Cross, the Distinguished-Service Medal, and the Distinguished-Flying CrossCall Number: U.S. Documents ONLINE -- W3.2:M46/9/supp.1awarded under authority of the Congress of the United States, January 1, 1927 - June 30, 1937
- Supplement 2, American Decorations; A List of Awards of the Distinguished-Service Cross, the Distinguished-Service Medal, the Soldier's Medal and the Distinguished-Flying Cross; Awarded under Authority of the Congress of the United States, July 1, 1937-JuCall Number: U.S. Documents ONLINE -- W3.2:M46/9/supp.2