Database Explaining Research Methodologies
- Sage Research Methods
This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon Sage’s legacy of methods publishing, Sage Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.Full text of book, journal, and reference content to aid as students research design methodologies, understand and select methods, conduct research, and write findings.
Includes tools such as:
- Project Planner: find step-by-step guidance to complete your research project
- Which Stats Test: answer questions to see which statistical method is best for your data
Publisher description:
SAGE Research Methods contains selected full text of book, journal and reference content relevant to the exploration of research methods and concepts designed to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up findings.
SAGE Research Methods contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and "Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and research-related videos. Also included are the Methods Map and the Methods Lists. The Methods Map is a visual search tool supported by a unique, complex taxonomy of research methods terms, methodologies, and people in the field.The Methods Lists are lists of content within the product that users have selected and decided to share. You can create your own lists, either for private use, or to share with others on the site.
Databases for Nursing
- CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (1937+)CINAHL Ultimate provides 1,815 active full-text journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley)"contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare"
- EBM Reviews* (EBSCOhost) (1991+) [not available]combined searching of:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
-Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) now accessible at the University of York Centre for Reviews and Dissemination - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (1985+)Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
- Health Technology Assessments (HTA)This database is available from the CRD database website."
Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. "The HTA database is produced by the NIHR Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK. - MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1946+)Most extensive of all medical databases. Covers all areas of medicine including nursing and allied health and contains citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals.
- National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)the U.S. Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency
- National Guideline Clearinghouse"Clinical practice guidelines are statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options."
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+)The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
- PubMed (MEDLINE) (1948+)PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
To authenticate for full-text off-campus, log in - Thieme MedOne EducationOnline access to the Flexibook Atlases and Textbooks, the popular series of color atlases and pocket textbooks in anatomy, basic science, clinical science, and radiology.
- Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
