Best Bets to Start
- Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. - IEEE Xplore
Full text access to quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes most IEEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards.
- American Chemical Society (ACS)Access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles contained in 3 million plus pages of chemistry findings, dating back to the introduction of the Journal of the ACS in 1879, as well as the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication and the ACS In Focus eBooks.
- Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCOhost)“This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.”
- Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) (1884+)a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
- Inspec and Inspec Archive (Ei Village) (1896+)"Inspec includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics."
Includes the Inspec backfile. - PubMed Central (1906+)U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
All Other Nanotechnology Related Databases
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics. Provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, science, cultural studies, education, and much more.
- ACM Digital LibraryFull text of all ACM journals and conference proceedings.
- Annual Reviews (1932+)Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in more than 45 focused disciplines in the sciences and social sciences.
- ASME eJournals and eBooks (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)- ASME's Transaction Journals (1960+)
- ASME Press eBooks (selected from 1993+) - BIOSIS Previews (EBSCOhost)"This is an expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, books, and patents. The database covers pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Includes BIOSIS indexing and enhanced MeSH disease terms."
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)identifies "free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals"
- Engineered Materials Abstracts (ProQuest) (1986+)
- This link opens in a new window
The growing importance of polymers, ceramics, and composites in a variety of structural and other advanced applications requires the in-depth coverage provided by Engineered Materials Abstracts. - Engineering Commons (Digital Commons)"brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide."
Sub-Disciplines include: Electrical & Computer Engineering -- Civil & Environmental Engineering -- Mechanical Engineering -- Computer Engineering -- Chemical Engineering -- Materials Science & Engineering -- Bioresource & Agricultural Engineering -- Biomedical Engineering & Bioengineering -- Operations Research, Systems Engineering & Industrial Engineering -- Aerospace Engineering -- Nanoscience & Nanotechnology -- Nuclear Engineering -- Engineering Science & Materials -- Other Engineering - Institute of Physics Journals (IoP)Full text of IOP electronic journals, providing publications through which leading-edge scientific research is distributed worldwide.
- Materials Research Database (ProQuest) (1965+)
- This link opens in a new window
brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. - Materials Science & Engineering (SAGE Journals)Browse journals by discipline: Biomedical Engineering; Engineering & Computing; Materials Science
- Medicine & Health Sciences Commons (Digital Commons)"brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide."
Sub-Disciplines include: Public Health -- Medical Specialties -- Veterinary Medicine -- Medical Sciences -- Nursing -- Diseases -- Psychiatry & Psychology -- Mental & Social Health -- Rehabilitation & Therapy -- Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences -- Medical Education -- Sports Sciences -- Dentistry -- Health & Medical Administration -- Bioethics & Medical Ethics -- Communication Sciences & Disorders -- Analytical, Diagnostic & Therapeutic Techniques & Equipment -- Chemicals & Drugs -- Anatomy -- Dietetics & Clinical Nutrition -- Translational Medical Research -- Organisms -- Alternative & Complementary Medicine -- Health Information Technology -- Other Medicine & Health Sciences -- Optometry -- Medical Humanities -- Nanotechnology - Science Direct (1997+)
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier. - SciFinder Scholar (CAS) (1907+)
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic, compound and reaction information. First-time users must register. - Scitation (American Institute of Physics) (1893+)Journals, conference proceedings and eBooks from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies such as American Association of Physics Teachers.
- SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering)the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings.
