Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Music

Basic Industry Sources

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
Main Library General Collection ML 102 .P66 C66 2003
Part II, "The Industry," within Volume 1 defines both general and technical terms and contains discussions on copyright, deals and contracts, management and marketing, publishing, recording, and labor unions.

Dictionary of Music Production and Engineering Terminology
Main Library Reference ML 102 .M85 W3 1988
Terms have been taken from the worlds of advertising, business, computers, digital recordings, engineering, movies, music publishing, the record industry, studio equipment, unions, and video/television.

Dictionary of Musical Technology
Main Library Reference ML 102 .E4 C37 1992
Contains 600 copiously illustrated main entries and 200 subsidiary ones covering such topics as traditional and electronic instruments, computer music composition, microphone placement, and psychoacoustics.

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts
Main Library Reference ML 12 .M88
While international in scope, it focuses primarily on North America. Lists dance and opera companies, choral groups, festivals, music schools, contests, foundations and awards, publishers, professional organizations, managers, and magazines and trade papers.

Songwriter's Market
Main Library Reference MT 67 .S657
Contains entries listing music publishers, record companies and producers, audiovisual firms, managers and agents, classical groups, and theatre companies.

This Business of Music: The Definitive Guide to the Business and Legal Issues of the Music Industry
Main Library General Collection ML 3790 .S5 2007
Presents chapters on business trends and transformations, contracts, royalties, labor agreements, copyright and trademarks, piracy and counterfeiting, international publishing, privacy and publicity rights, and recording technology. Three appendixes: music industry organizations, contract checklists, and current U.S. licensing and collection practices for digital uses.

Industry Statistics and Analysis

http://www.billboard.com/biz
Music industry news, reviews, articles, and basic statistical data (e.g., the famous Billboard charts).

http://www.cpanda.org
An interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States maintained at Princeton University. Contains selected monographs, serials, reports, papers, proceedings, articles, and books (1965 to 2009) relevant to arts and cultural policy studies.

Economic Census
Main Library U.S. Documents C 3.277:
Compiled every five years by the U.S. Census Bureau. Each census contains analysis of economic activity broken down nationally and by state, county, and industry.

http://www.ifpi.org/digital-music-report.php
Presents statistics and trends from the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI).

http://www.ifpi.org/global-statistics.php
Recording industry numbers, annual digital music report, recorded music sales, piracy statistics, and top selling albums globally.

http://www.pewinternet.org/
Reports on demographics, music downloading, and file sharing (keyword search "music downloading").

http://www.riaa.com/keystatistics.php?content_selector=research-about
Statistical summaries on U.S. and worldwide record sales, and consumers of recorded music, marketing reports, and consumer trends.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Main Library Ready Reference HA 202 [year]
The first place to check for statistics on the United States. Updated annually, it lists social, political, economic, and demographic data. Search using words such as "music" or "entertainment" in either the online version or the print edition index to find relevant data.

Additional Music Business Information

In addition to the sources cited to the left, further information about the music and recording businesses can be found in a number of databases, such as Music Index, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, ABI/Inform, Bizminer, Business InsightsBusiness Source Premier, Hoover's Online, IbisWorld Industry Market Research, LexisNexis Academic, MarketLine Advantage, S&P NetAdvantage, and SimplyMap.

See also the Business Research guide for an extensive enumeration of sources for industry and company information.

Industry NAICS Codes

To search for various sectors within the music industry in many business databases, use the appropriate NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) code:

> Musical Instrument Manufacturing in the U.S.: 339992
> Record Stores in the US: 45114
> Music Publishing in the US: 51223
> Independent Label Music Production in the US: 51221
> Major Label Music Production in the US: 51222
> Audio Production Studios in the US: 51224
> Musical Groups and Artists in the US: 71113
> Concert and Event Promotion in the US: 71133
> Celebrity and Sports Agents in the US: 71141