Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCF Libraries Home

Music

Metasites

A metasite is a website that functions as a directory to other websites.

https://libraries.indiana.edu/internet-collection-acquisition-resources-music-library
A metasite under the auspices of the School of Music Library at Indiana University – Bloomington, one the the country's premier music conservatories. Provides hundreds of links under the following general headings: in-print and online book vendors, bookstores, and databases; out-of-print book vendors; score vendors; antiquariat score dealers and databases; CD and video vendors; world music dealers; national libraries and union catalogs.

https://www.archive-it.org/collections/4049

According to the site's description: "A curated collection of websites devoted to (and typically owned and operated by) individual contemporary composers. The primary curatorial goal is to preserve these historically important documents of the music and musicians of our time as a legacy to posterity. 'Contemporary' we define as living or recently deceased. 'Composers' we define as those who are working within, or are descending from, or are in some significant way connected to the Western traditions of concert music—composers who produce notated scores but inclusive also of those whose work embraces improvisation, collaborative composition, and other post-modern/post-classical creative practices. As there are many thousands of such composers active in the world today, we are emphasizing young, emerging Americans in the initial phases of this project."

https://pinboard.in/u:HarvardMusicLib/
Sponsored by the Loeb Music Library at Harvard University, a long list of Internet sites covering all aspects of music from acoustics to women in music.

http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2722
Lists numerous sites arranged by time period.

Evaluating Internet Sources

Why is it important to critically evaluate information found on the Internet? Mainly because anyone can publish information on the Internet. The Internet does not have reviewers or editors; there is no quality control. There is no guarantee that the information you find is accurate. Many pages are not updated.

Here are two excellent sites that offer detailed guidance in evaluating Internet sources:

> Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask (from University of California – Berkeley)

> Evaluating Information Found on the Internet (from The Johns Hopkins University)

Also helpful is the UCF Libraries' InfoLit module, "Evaluating Web Sites."