Introduction
Many literary works are deeply rooted in a specific place. Think about Tolkien’s intricate construction of Middle-Earth alongside Thoreau’s Walden, Faulkner’s Yoknapatawpha County, Thomas More’s Utopia, Robert Louis Stevenson’s Treasure Island, or even The Pequod in Moby Dick. Whether real or imagined, or a hybrid of the two, these places gain authenticity through the development of maps, which make the literary terrane as tangible to the audience as it is to the fictional characters. This selective bibliography, which focuses on scholarly monographs, has been designed to illustrate the many diverse ways in which maps have been incorporated into literary texts ranging from Rennaissance literature to modern-day pop culture.
Books
Early Modern English Literature and the Poetics of Cartographic Anxiety by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780198816874Publication Date: 2018-05-22The Cartographic Revolution in the Renaissance made maps newly precise, newly affordable, and newly ubiquitous. In sixteenth-century Britain, cartographic materials went from rarity to household decor within a single lifetime, and they delighted, inspired, and fascinated people across the socioeconomic spectrum. At the same time, they also unsettled, upset, disturbed, and sometimes angered their early modern readers.
A Geography of Victorian Gothic Fiction by Call Number: ARC General Collection PR830.T3 M522 1999ISBN: 0198184727Publication Date: 2000-01-20This is the first major full-length study of Victorian Gothic fiction. Combining original readings of familiar texts with a rich store of historical sources, A Geography of Victorian Gothic Fiction is an historicist survey of nineteenth-century Gothic writing - from Dickens to Stoker, Wilkie Collins to Conan Doyle, through European travelogues, sexological textbooks, ecclesiastic histories and pamphlets on the perils of self-abuse.
Literary Maps for Young Adult Literature by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1563081644Publication Date: 1995-01-30Using the maps and accompanying narrative, young readers can easily trace characters' journeys and envision their routes while reading about their travels.
Literature, Mapping, and the Politics of Space in Early Modern Britain by Call Number: General Collection PR428.P6 L58 2001ISBN: 0521803772Publication Date: 2001-08-16Mapping has become a key term in current critical discourse, describing a particular cognitive mode of gaining control over the world, of synthesising cultural and geographical information, and of successfully navigating both physical and mental space.
Literature and Cartography by Call Number: ARC General Collection PN56.M265 L58 2017ISBN: 0262036746Publication Date: 2017-11-24The relationship of texts and maps, and the mappability of literature, examined from Homer to Houellebecq.Literary authors have frequently called on elements of cartography to ground fictional space, to visualize sites, and to help readers get their bearings in the imaginative world of the text.
Mapping Discord by Call Number: General Collection PQ645 .P47 2004ISBN: 0874138477Publication Date: 2004-07-01Mapping Discord examines a series of allegorical maps published in France during the seventeenth century that cast in spatial terms a number of heated aesthetic and social debates.
Maps and Memory in Early Modern England by Call Number: General Collection PR428.P56 S26 2002ISBN: 0312294557Publication Date: 2002-04-15Dealing with the relationship between the places of England and depictions of places in maps and literature, "Maps and Memory" focuses on increasingly local terrain to show how understanding contemporary maps is useful to understanding literary works of the time.
Pocket Maps and Public Poetry in the English Renaissance by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780198834694Publication Date: 2019-06-11Katarzyna Lecky explores how early modern British poets paid by the state adapted inclusive modes of nationhood charted by inexpensive, small-format maps.
Romantic Cartographies by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781108472388Publication Date: 2020-12-10Romantic Cartographies is the first collection to explore the reach and significance of cartographic practice in Romantic-period culture.
The Self-Made Map by Call Number: ARC General Collection GA863.5.A1 C66 1996ISBN: 0816627002Publication Date: 1996-11-15The self-made map argues that during the Renaissance in France a "new cartographic impulse" affected both the "graphic and imaginary forms of literature".
Spatialising the Literary Text by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781108487450Publication Date: 2020-07-02Reading and Mapping Fiction offers a fresh approach to the interpretation of literary space and place centred upon the emergence of a fictional map alongside the text in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Bringing together a range of new and emerging theories,
World Views by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780199796106Publication Date: 2012-03-12Early in the twentieth century, many novelists and geographers were attempting a similar undertaking: to connect everyday human experience to the large, unseen structures that formed the planet itself.
The Writer's Map by Call Number: ARC General Collection PN56.I44 W758 2018ISBN: 022659663XPublication Date: 2018-10-11This illustrated atlas explores the maps writers create and are inspired by--some real, some imagined--in both words and images. Amid a cornucopia of 167 full-color images, we find here maps of the world as envisaged in medieval times, as well as maps of adventure, sci-fi and fantasy, nursery rhymes, literary classics, and collectible comics.
