See our Nursing eBook Research Guide and the eTextbook Portal to view more eBooks related to nursing!
Selected eBooks
Clinical Analytics and Data Management for the DNP, Second Edition by
Praise for the First Edition: "DNP students may struggle with data management, since their projects are not research, but quality improvement, and this book covers the subject well. I recommend it for DNP students for use during their capstone projects." Score: 98, 5 Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This is the only text to deliver the strong data management knowledge and skills that are required competencies for all DNP students. It enables readers to design data tracking and clinical analytics in order to rigorously evaluate clinical innovations and programs for improving clinical outcomes and to document and analyze change. This second edition has been expanded and updated to address major changes in our healthcare environment. Incorporating faculty and student input, it now includes modalities such as SPSS, Excel, and Tableau to address diverse data management tasks. Eleven new chapters cover the use of big data analytics, ongoing progress toward value-based payment, the Affordable Care Act and its future, shifting of risk and accountability to hospitals and clinicians, advancement of nursing quality indicators, and new requirements for Magnet(R) certification. The text takes the DNP student step by step through the complete process of data management from planning through presentation, and encompasses the scope of skills required for students to apply relevant analytics to systematically and confidently tackle the clinical interventions data obtained as part of the DNP student project. Of particular value is a progressive case study illustrating multiple techniques and methods throughout the chapters. Sample data sets and exercises, along with objectives, references, and examples in each chapter, reinforce information. New to the Second Edition: Completely updated and expanded with 11 new chaptersIncludes an extensive data management toolkit with SPSS, Excel, and TableauDescribes value-based purchasing and NDNQI measurement programsExplains use of data sources to support the problem statement for the DNP projectGuides selection of quality measuresProvides best practices for collecting primary and secondary dataOffers strategic guidelines for institutional review board submissionExplains methods for risk adjustment in program and intervention monitoringExplores predictive a nalyticsIllustrates applications of big data for the DNPDescribes Magnet requirements for measuring quality improvement Key Features: Provides extensive content for rigorously evaluating DNP innovations/projectsTakes DNP students through the complete process of data management from planning through presentationIncludes a progressive case study illustrating multiple techniques and methodsOffers very specific examples of application and utility of techniquesDelivers supplemental materials, including sample data set case studies in SPSS and Excel formats, exercises, PowerPoint slides, and more
ISBN: 9780826142771Publication Date: 2018
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by Call Number: RC 46.H333 (online only)ISBN: 9780071748896
Inquiry and leadership: A resource for the DNP project. by
How do you... identify your scholarly project practice problem? assess and select the relevant literature and studies? evaluate the outcome? disseminate the information to ensure better care outcomes? Here's your guide to understanding, applying, and coordinating the process of evidence-based practice for your DNP scholarly or capstone project. Step-by-step, you'll learn everything you need to know to successfully complete your project and develop the leadership skills that enhance the DNP's role in practice. From the theoretical and philosophical foundation of evidence-based practice and collecting and analyzing evidence as the basis for practice through translating the research into solving a practice issue and evaluating the outcome, you'll have all of the tools you need to successfully complete your project and bring about changes in clinical, management, and educational practices.
ISBN: 0803642040Publication Date: 2016
Proposal Writing for Clinical Nursing and Dnp Projects, Second Edition by ISBN: 9780826144423Publication Date: 2017
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care, Second Edition by
Designed as a textbook for the DNP curriculum and as a practical resource for more seasoned health professionals, this acclaimed text encompasses aninterprofessional approach to translating evidence into nursing and health care practice that is useful for both clinical and nonclinical environments. Thesecond edition presents new chapters, three of which feature additional approaches for translating evidence into practice, new methods of informationtechnology for translation, and interprofessional collaboration and practice for translation and three that offer 19 exemplars that illustrate actualtranslation work within the areas of population health and specialty practice, and in the health care system. Consistently woven throughout are the themesof integration and application of knowledge into practice, leadership and evaluating change, leadership strategies for translation, and interprofessionalapplications across settings. Also included is new information about outcomes management for improvement of direct and indirect care. The second edition continues to deliver applicable theory and strategies to achieve improved outcomes, and meets the DNP core competency requirements. Itfeatures a variety of models for change as they relate to translation of research into practice. The text underscores the importance of translatingevidence for use in practice to improve health care and health care delivery, and presents strategies to achieve this. It addresses the use of evidence toimprove nursing education, discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers, and presents expedients for overcoming resistance tochange. Extensive lists of references, web links, and other resources enhance learning and support the development of the DNP core competencies. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Addition of an esteemed co-editor Reorganized and revised for enhanced comprehension New chapters: Methods for Translation, Information Technology and Decision Support, Interprofessional Collaboration and Practice for Translation, and Data Management and Evaluation of Translation Three new exemplar chapters: Population Health Exemplars, Specialty Practice Exemplars, and Health Care System Exemplars Updated information on integration and application of knowledge into practice, leading and evaluating change, leadership strategies for translation, and interprofessional application across settings New coverage of outcomes management for improvement of direct and indirect care KEY FEATURES: Offers an in-depth guide for planning, implementing, and translating evidence Includes extensive references necessary for doctoral study Provides the perfect supplement for evidence-based practice materials that often have limited information or value for translation/implementation activities
ISBN: 0826117848Publication Date: 2016
Teaching in Nursing and Role of the Educator, Second Edition by ISBN: 9780826140135Publication Date: 2018This eBook is available for 3 users at a time.
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project by
As a newly minted PhD or DNP, you've completed your dissertation or scholarly project. Congratulations! Wondering whether or how to publish? Confused about the publication process? Feeling overwhelmed? You are not alone. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project is a concise guide to preparing and polishing your work for publication. In a straightforward, conversational tone, author Karen Roush offers encouragement as well as information on everything from honing essential writing skills to choosing a publisher to submitting your manuscript-and all the steps in between. This book will help you navigate the world of scholarly publishing with less frustration-and more confidence-on the way to disseminating your research and knowledge. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2020
Middle Range Theory for Nursing by
Three-time recipient of the AJN Book of the Year Award Praise for the third edition: "This is an outstanding edition of this book. It has great relevance for learning about, developing, and using middle range theories. It is very user friendly, yet scholarly." Score: 90, 4 Stars -Doody's Medical Reviews The fourth edition of this invaluable publication on middle range theory in nursing reflects the most current theoretical advances in the field. With five additional chapters, new content incorporates exemplars that bridge middle range theory to advanced nursing practice. Additional content for DNP programs includes two new theories: Bureaucratic Caring and Self-Care of Chronic Illness. This user-friendly text stresses how theory informs practice and research in the everyday world of nursing. Divided into four sections, content sets the stage for understanding middle range theory by elaborating on disciplinary perspectives, an organizing framework, and evaluation of the theory. Middle Range Theory for Nursing, Fourth Edition, presents a broad spectrum of 13 middle range theories. Each theory is broken down into its purpose, development, and conceptual underpinnings, and includes a model demonstrating the relationships among the concepts, and the use of the theory in research and practice. Including concept building for research through the lens of middle range theory, a rigorous 10-phase process that moves from a practice story to a conceptual foundation, and exemplars that clarify the concept building process, this new edition remains an essential text for advanced practice theory and research courses. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects new theoretical advancesFive completely new chaptersNew exemplars linking middle range theory to advanced nursing practiceNew content for DNP programsTwo new theories: Bureaucratic Caring and Self-Care of Chronic IllnessTwo articles from Advances in Nursing Science documenting a meta-perspective about middle range theory development over the decades Key Features: Provides a strong contextual foundation for understanding middle range theoryIntroduces the Ladder of Abstraction to clarify the "range" of nursing's theoretical foundationPresents 13 middle range theories with philosophical, conceptual, and empirical dimensions of each theoryExamines research application through exemplars demonstrating the use of middle range theory for advanced practice nursingIncludes Appendix summarizing middle range theories from 1988 to 2017
Publication Date: 2018
Instrumentation and Measurement
Measuring Health: A guide to rating scales and questionnaires by Publication Date: 2006
Instruments for measuring nursing practice and other health care variables by Publication Date: [1979]
eBooks - Research and Writing
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses by
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Second Edition, is designed to help nurses bridge the gap between incomplete sentences and a published manuscript. The book s contributors include the best and the brightest from publishing today. Most of the contributors have experience as editors of nursing journals, where their role is to decide which articles to accept for publication. These decision-makers share their important insights as to how they make their decisions, which will enhance the likelihood your manuscript is accepted for publication. The new edition covers, how to turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article, how to write a letter to the editor and a book review, how to work with and manage contributors when writing a book, and how to understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more."
Publication Date: 2014
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project by
Feeling overwhelmed by the mere thought of writing your dissertation or scholarly project? Wondering how to begin and where to find the time? You are not alone. Earning your advanced degree is an extraordinary accomplishment, but completing those final stages can be a daunting task. A Nurse's Step By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project, Second Edition, is a straightforward how-to guide.This book is intentionally concise because, let's be honest, the last thing a busy candidate needs is another unwieldy, doorstop-sized book. Packed with practical steps and tools, this fully updated second edition--which includes a new chapter on the various formats for manuscript dissertations-- will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or scholarly project. Don't go it alone; let author and fellow dissertation survivor Karen Roush help you get from square one to DONE.
ISBN: 1948057158Publication Date: 2019
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by
The goal of evidence-based practice (EBP) in nursing is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes. Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing. This fully revised third edition builds on the strength of the first two editions with updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use and refinement in real-life settings. Authors Deborah Dang and Sandra L. Dearholt also incorporated feedback from nurses around the world. Key features of the Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model include: NEW: Tips for using the newly updated Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model and guidelines, NEW: Tips on seeking funding for the advancement of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, NEW: Tools to guide the EBP process, such as Stakeholder Analysis, Action Planning, and Dissemination, Explanation of the Practice question, Evidence, and Translation (PET) approach to EBP projects, Overview of the Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development, Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment, Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences, CNOs, nurse managers, bedside nurses, and students alike have successfully transformed their practices and improved patient care using Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines. Book jacket.
ISBN: 9781940446974Publication Date: 2017
Medical Writing: A guide for clinicians, educators, and researchers by
Contains chapters on How to Write a Research Protocol and How to Write a Grant Proposal
ISBN: 9783319701264Publication Date: 2018
Principles of Research Methodology: A Guide for Clinical Investigators by Publication Date: (2012) Springer.
Survive and Thrive: A Guide for Untenured Faculty by Publication Date: (2010) Morgan & Claypool Publishers
Writing for Publication in Nursing (3rd Edition) by
"Designated a Doody's Core Title " Praise for the Second Edition ""Provides helpful tips for all levels of writing and is a comprehensive, solid reference for any nurse who plans to write for publication."" --"BookEnds" ""Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, " ⋆⋆⋆⋆⋆ --"Doody's" The ability to communicate in writing is an essential skill, particularly for nurses at the graduate level. This is a best-selling, comprehensive, and widely used resource on writing for nurse clinicians, faculty, researchers, and graduate students. It covers all kinds of writing that beginning and experienced nurse authors may be required or choose to undertake: journal articles, book chapters, and preparing manuscripts from course work. Brimming with helpful examples, the book takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing, from the generation of an idea through searching the nursing literature, preparing an outline, writing and revising a draft, and submitting the finished product for publication. In addition to being extensively updated, the third edition features new chapters on writing articles reporting quality improvement studies and on open-access publications. New writing samples have been added that illustrate how to present multiple types of research and writing for various types of journals and other venues. The book describes how to select an appropriate journal and gear the writing for the intended audience, submit a manuscript, and respond to reviewers. It provides strategies for searching bibliographic databases, analyzing and synthesizing the literature, and writing a literature review. Information is included on developing manuscripts from theses and dissertations, writing a paper with multiple authors, and when and how to include tables or figures. Ethical considerations are also addressed. FEATURED IN THE THIRD EDITION: Selecting the right journal for publication using web resources and moreSelecting and searching bibliographic databases for synthesizing literatureDeveloping literature reviews for target audiences of research versus clinical papersDisseminating research to researchers versus cliniciansWriting quality improvement reports and evidence-based practice articlesWriting papers for clinical journalsPublishing innovations in clinical practice and unit-based initiativesPublishing in open-access journals and important considerationsTurning capstone projects, theses, and dissertations into manuscriptsWorking with coauthors and student/faculty collaborationsResponding to peer reviewsAvoiding abuses of authorship and copyright issues Marilyn H. Oermann, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, is the Thelma M. Ingles Professor of Nursing and Director of Evaluation and Educational Research at Duke University School of Nursing, Durham, North Carolina. She is author/coauthor of 15 nursing education books and many articles on evaluation, teaching in nursing, and writing for publication. She is the editor of "Nurse Educator" and the "Journal of Nursing Care Quality." Dr. Oermann lectures widely on teaching and evaluation in nursing and on writing for publication. Judith C. Hays, PhD, RN, FGSA, is Associate Professor Emerita at Duke University School of Nursing, Durham, North Carolina. She is author/coauthor of a psychiatric epidemiology textbook and more than 70 scientific articles on late-life living arrangements, religiousness, depression, palliative care and bereavement, and nu
ISBN: 9780826119926Publication Date: 2016
The Academic Medicine Handbook: A Guide to Achievement and fulfillment for Academic Faculty by Publication Date: (2013) Springer
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare: Getting it Right by ISBN: 0470657820Publication Date: (2012) Wiley-Blackwell.
Writing High-Quality Medical Publications by
The imperative to "publish and not perish" has never been more compelling. Yet millions of manuscripts are prepared each year without a clear path to publication by a peer-reviewed medical journal. Enter "The Gutkin Manual."Drawing from the author's distinguished, nearly 30-year career, this comprehensive and supportive guide helps to get your paper accepted--and by the journal of first choice. Elucidating pivotal principles of quality, and biostatistics, and informed by the belief that your writing can be engaging, elegant, and memorable--no matter how technical and complex the subject matter, this volume can be your trustworthy companion as you seek to enhance both the structure and substance of your manuscripts.
ISBN: 9781498765961Publication Date: 2018-07-17
Intervention research and evidence-based quality improvement : Designing, conducting, analyzing, and funding (2nd ed.)) by ISBN: 0826155715Publication Date: 2019
Statistics
Brief guidelines for methods and statistics in medical research by ISBN: 9789812879233Publication Date: 2015
- Sage Research Methods VideoVideo tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum.
Want more eBooks?
eBooks
- Access MedicineFull text medical text books and clinical library. Includes photographs and audio/video presentations related to the various texts in the collections.
- Clinical Key (Elsevier)An online search tool that provides physicians with fast clinical answers.
Provided by the College of Medicine. - ProQuest Ebook CentralFull text eBooks, including selections by UCF faculty, students, and staff.
CAUTION: Although some books provide for unlimited simultaneous users, some have restrictions which make them unsuitable for assigning as course readings - ProQuest Ebook Central -- College of MedicineFull text of eBooks selected by the UCF College of Medicine.
- EBSCO eBooksA collection of ebooks in full text, including both current and classic works.
For many of the eBooks in this collection only one person can view the book at a time - Gale eBooksa database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- IGI Global eBooks, eJournals, and Video LectureseJournals, eBooks, and video lectures primarily in business & management; computer science and information technology; and education.
- Merck Manual"Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional."
- LWW Health Library: Medical Education (Wolters Kluwer)LWW Health Library: Medical Education provides texts, video & audio, self assessment, cases, and clinical skills resources.
- ProQuest Ebook Central -- College of MedicineFull text of eBooks selected by the UCF College of Medicine.
- Thieme MedOne EducationOnline access to the Flexibook Atlases and Textbooks, the popular series of color atlases and pocket textbooks in anatomy, basic science, clinical science, and radiology.
- Science Direct (1997+)
This link opens in a new window
Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier. - PrimoSearch This link opens in a new windowPrimoSearch combines search results from all of UCF's subscriptions to ProQuest databases, most of our online journals, and many databases from other vendors.
The previous discovery service QuickSearch from EBSCOhost ceased access at UCF at the end of September 2021. Please update all links to Primo.
