Graduate Nursing Library Resources: Nursing Databases

"contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage

"includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases."

"Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually."

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement tools used across diverse professions and disciplines, including medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, sociology, communication, and organizational behavior. HaPI helps researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests relevant to their investigations, theses, dissertations, and grant proposals and helps researchers to enhance the quality, reliability, and validity of their measurement techniques.

Usage: evidence based medicine (EBM), clinical resources; systematic reviews.
Provided by the College of Medicine.

Provided by College of Medicine.

Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

Provided by UCF College of Medicine

Evidence-Based Monographs - "The core database contains the detailed, evidence-based monographs on individual natural ingredients (e.g., glucosamine, echinacea, etc). There are currently almost 1,100 monographs on these individual natural ingredients."
- Monograph Name, Also Known As, Scientific Names
- People Use This For
- Safety Rating
- Effectiveness Rating
- Mechanism of Action
- Adverse Reactions
- Interactions
- Drug Influences on Nutrient Levels & Depletion
- Dosage & Administration
Brand Name Products - "This Database contains information for over 90,000 brand name products. For each brand name product, the Database provides an ingredient listing. Each ingredient then links directly to the evidence-based ingredient monograph that provides detailed information on safety, effectiveness, interactions, dosing, and other practical information."
USP Verified Brands - "The United States Pharmacopeia (USP) verifies brand name products that meet rigorous quality standards."
Clinically Studied Brands - "The Database provides an Editor’s Comment and Effectiveness Rating for each commercial brand name product that has been studied in a clinical trial."
Canadian Licensed Natural Health Products - "In 2004, Canada began regulating natural medicines as a category of products separate from foods or drugs. These products are officially recognized as Natural Health Products. These products include vitamins, minerals, herbal preparations, homeopathic products, probiotics, fatty acids, amino acids, and other naturally derived supplements."
Herbal Fixed Combination Products - "Traditional Chinese medicines and Ayurvedic medicines often come in a “fixed combination” of herbal ingredients. The combinations represent standard herbal formulations with specific, unique names."

PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Publishers of journals can submit their citations to NCBI and then provide access to the full-text of articles at journal web sites using LinkOut."

"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content."

includes the complete series of:
- Little Green Books -- Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences
- Little Blue Books -- Qualitative Research Methods

PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Publishers of journals can submit their citations to NCBI and then provide access to the full-text of articles at journal web sites using LinkOut."

formerly "Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory"

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)

"includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases."

"Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually."

ERIC is available from several database vendors, including ProQuest. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement tools used across diverse professions and disciplines, including medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, sociology, communication, and organizational behavior. HaPI helps researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests relevant to their investigations, theses, dissertations, and grant proposals and helps researchers to enhance the quality, reliability, and validity of their measurement techniques.

Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

"contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)

"contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage

"includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases."

"Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually."

Subjects include:
- Accounting & Finance
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering
- Health & Social Care
- HR & Organizational Behaviour
- Information & Knowledge Management
- Library & Information Science
- Management Science & Operations
- Marketing
- Property Management & Built Environment
- Public Policy & Environmental Management
- Research methods
- Sociology
- Strategy
- Tourism & Hospitality
- Transport

InfoSci-Books, Journals, and Video Core Subject Coverage Includes:

-Business and Management
-Computer Science and Information Technology
-Education
-Environmental, Agricultural, and Physical Sciences
-Government and Law
-Library and Information Science
-Media and Communications
-Medical, Healthcare, and Life Sciences
-Science and Engineering
-Security and Forensics
-Social Sciences and Humanities

Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works. Limited coverage of health administration news.
LexisNexis Academic (previous platform) is no longer accessible, as of December 2018.

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)

formerly called Applied Science & Technology (EBSCOhost/Wilson) (1983+)

"includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases."

"Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually."

Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement tools used across diverse professions and disciplines, including medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, sociology, communication, and organizational behavior. HaPI helps researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests relevant to their investigations, theses, dissertations, and grant proposals and helps researchers to enhance the quality, reliability, and validity of their measurement techniques.

InfoSci-Books, Journals, and Video Core Subject Coverage Includes:

-Business and Management
-Computer Science and Information Technology
-Education
-Environmental, Agricultural, and Physical Sciences
-Government and Law
-Library and Information Science
-Media and Communications
-Medical, Healthcare, and Life Sciences
-Science and Engineering
-Security and Forensics
-Social Sciences and Humanities

Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

Included databases:
- ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection
- ProQuest Agricultural Science Collection
- ProQuest Aquatic Science Collection
- ProQuest Atmospheric Science Collection
- ProQuest Biological Science Collection
- ProQuest Computer Science Collection
- ProQuest Earth Science Collection
- ProQuest Engineering Collection
- ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
- ProQuest Illustrata: Natural Sciences
- ProQuest Illustrata: Technology
- ProQuest Materials Science Collection

Disciplines include:
- Architecture & Design
- Astronomy
- Biomedical Sciences
- Business & Management
- Chemistry
- Computer Science
- Earth Sciences & Geography
- Economics
- Education & Language
- Energy
- Engineering
- Environmental Sciences
- Food Science & Nutrition
- Law
- Life Sciences
- Materials
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Philosophy
- Physics
- Psychology
- Public Health
- Social Sciences
- Statistics
[old link http://library.ucf.edu/Web/purl.asp?pid=140]

- Biochemistry
- Bioinformatics
- Biotechnology
- Cancer Research
- Cell Biology
- Genetics / Genomics
- Imaging / Radiology
- Immunology
- Infectious Diseases
- Microbiology
- Molecular Medicine
- Neuroscience
- Pharmacology / Toxicology
- Plant Sciences
- Protein Science

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)

Provided by UCF College of Medicine

Provided by the College of Medicine.

Categories:
- Agriculture
- Architecture
- Business/Management
- Computer Science/IT
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering (Chemical, Civil, Construction, Electrical, Environmental, General, Manufacturing, Mechanical, Mining)
- Environmental Studies
- Fiction
- Fine Arts
- General Works/Reference
- Geography/Travel
- Health
- History
- Home Economics
- Journalism
- Juvenile Literature
- Language/Linguistics
- Law
- Library Science
- Literature
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Military Science
- Museums
- Nursing
- Pharmacy
- Philosophy
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Publishing
- Religion
- Science (Anatomy/Physiology, Astronomy, Biology/Natural History, Botany, Chemistry, General, Geology, Physics, Zoology)
- Social Science
- Sport & Recreation
- Tourism/Hospitality

Browse by category:
- Children's & Young Adult Fiction
- Children's & Young Adult Nonfiction
- Arts & Architecture
- Biographies & Memoirs
- Business & Economics
- Computer Science
- Education
- Engineering & Technology
- Fiction
- General Nonfiction
- Health & Medicine
- History
- Law
- Literature & Criticism
- Mathematics
- Philosophy
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Reference
- Religion
- Sciences
- Self-Help & Family
- Social Sciences
- Study Aids & Language Learning

- Arts
- Biography
- Business
- Education
- Environment
- General Reference
- History
- Information & Publishing
- Law
- Literature
- Medicine
- Multicultural Studies
- Nation & World
- Religion
- Science
- Social Science

InfoSci-Books, Journals, and Video Core Subject Coverage Includes:

-Business and Management
-Computer Science and Information Technology
-Education
-Environmental, Agricultural, and Physical Sciences
-Government and Law
-Library and Information Science
-Media and Communications
-Medical, Healthcare, and Life Sciences
-Science and Engineering
-Security and Forensics
-Social Sciences and Humanities

Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) is an imprint of the publisher Wolters Kluwer.
Subject areas include:
Anatomy
Behavioral Science
Biochemistry
Embryology
Epidemiology
Genetics
Histology
Intro to Clinical Medicine
Microbiology/Immunology
Neuroscience
Pathology/Pathophysiology
Pharmacology
Physical Examination
Physiology
Review

The previous discovery service at UCF was QuickSearch. The previous name for QuickSearch was OneSearch.

"includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases."

"Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually."

Usage: evidence based medicine (EBM), clinical resources; systematic reviews.
Provided by the College of Medicine.

Provided by College of Medicine.

UCF subscribes to several collections including:
-Master Academic Collection
-Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
-Allied Health Collection
-Careers & Job Search Collection

Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) is an imprint of the publisher Wolters Kluwer.
Subject areas include:
Anatomy
Behavioral Science
Biochemistry
Embryology
Epidemiology
Genetics
Histology
Intro to Clinical Medicine
Microbiology/Immunology
Neuroscience
Pathology/Pathophysiology
Pharmacology
Physical Examination
Physiology
Review

Subject Areas (listed by # of items included)
- Law (250,000+)
- Social & Behavioral Sciences (150,000+)
- Arts & Humanities (125,000+)
- Physical Sciences & Mathematics (80,000+)
- Life Sciences (70,000+)
- Engineering (65,000+)
- Education (63,000+)
- Medicine & Health Sciences (54,000+)
- Business (27,000+)
- Architecture (6,000+)

Subjects include:
Agriculture and Food Sciences
Arts and Architecture
Biology and Life Sciences
Business and Economics
Chemistry
Earth and Environmental Sciences
General Works
Health Sciences
History and Archaeology
Languages and Literatures
Law and Political Science
Mathematics and Statistics
Philosophy and Religion
Physics and Astronomy
Science General
Social Sciences
Technology and Engineering

Classification Scheme:
- Clinical Specialty
- Disease/Condition
- Guideline Category
- Health Services Administration
- Implementation Tools
- Institute of Medicine (IOM) Care Need
- Institute of Medicine (IOM) Domain
- Intended Users
- Method of Guideline Validation
- Methods Used to Analyze the Evidence
- Methods Used to Assess the Quality and Strength of the Evidence
- Methods Used to Collect/Select the Evidence
- Methods Used to Formulate the Recommendations
- Organization Type
- Target Population
- Treatment/Intervention

PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Publishers of journals can submit their citations to NCBI and then provide access to the full-text of articles at journal web sites using LinkOut."

Most visited
- HSDB: Hazardous Substances Data Bank. Peer-reviewed toxicology data for over 5,000 hazardous chemicals
- TOXLINE: 4 million references to literature on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals
- ChemIDplus: Dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures)
Breastfeeding & Drugs
- LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database. Drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed
Developmental Toxicology Literature
- DART: Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database. References to developmental and reproductive toxicology literature
Chemical Releases & Mapping
- TOXMAP: Environmental Health Maps provides searchable, interactive maps of EPA TRI and Superfund data, plus US Census and NCI health data
- TRI: Toxics Release Inventory. Annual environmental releases of over 600 toxic chemicals by U.S. facilities
Genomics
- CTD: Comparative Toxicogenomics Database. Access to scientific data describing relationships between chemicals, genes and human diseases
Household Product Safety
- Household Products Database: Potential health effects of chemicals in more than 10,000 common household products
Occupational Exposure to Chemicals
- Haz-Map: Links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms
Risk Assessment
- IRIS: Integrated Risk Information System. Hazard identification and dose-response assessment for over 500 chemicals
- ITER: International Toxicity Estimates for Risk. Risk information for over 600 chemicals from authoritative groups worldwide
Animal Testing Alternatives
- ALTBIB: Resources on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing
Archived, No Longer Updated
- CCRIS: Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System. Carcinogenicity and mutagenicity test results for over 8,000 chemicals
- CPDB: Carcinogenic Potency Database. Standardized analyses of the results of 6,540 chronic, long-term animal cancer tests
- GENE-TOX: Genetic Toxicology Data Bank. Peer-reviewed genetic toxicology test data for over 3,000 chemicals

- General & digestive surgery
- Pediatric surgery
- Urology
- Cardiovascular surgery
- Neurosurgery - ENT - skull base
- Endocrine surgery
- Thoracic surgery
- Gynecology
- GI Endoscopy
- Arthroscopy & upper limb surgery