Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCF Libraries Home

ART 5284 - Design Theory & Methods

Introduction to semiotic theory, communication theory, perceptual codes, human factors and visual rhetoric.

Primo Search

What is Primo?Pimo contains the catalog plus

Primo contains information about and links to most of the UCF Libraries' collection including:

  • books,
  • ebooks,
  • journal and magazine articles,
  • newspaper articles,
  • dissertations,
  • government documents,
  • DVDs and streaming videos

It searches across many different subscription databases and is a great tool when searching on a broad topic for papers when you need a handful of sources, including these core sources for art and digital media.

IMPORTANT: Primo does NOT search every library database.  It does NOT have the same search capabilities as going directly to a specific database. For example, these databases have content and search features not available in Primo:

  • Art & Architecture Source
  • Art Index Retrospective
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  • ARTstor Digital Library
  • Associated Press Images Collection
  • Grove Art Online (Oxford Dictionary of Art)

Tips for Searching Primo

  • Boolean AND, OR: Use all upper case for Boolean operators.
  • * Truncation: Use the asterisk to search for the variation of a word. Example: animat* will retrieve animation, animated, and animators
  • " " Phrase: Use quotation marks around a phrase. Example: "digital media"
  • Avoid punctuation in searches. Primo often stumbles with - : ; and so forth.
  • Use the filters on the left side of the screen to refine search results.

Results List

  •   Click “Add to Folder”  icon located to the right of each article title to add a record to the folder so that you can print, email, and save them.
  •  Make sure to ‘Sign In’  each time you access Primo to see all the access and request options and to save your folder items. 

Individual Records

  • After clicking on an item to see the Detailed record, you will see icons that allow you to print, email, save, cite, or export a citation.
  • The CITE icon displays how the article should be cited in various citation styles, including APA.
  • You also have the option to send the citation EndNote, RIS, and other citation management tools.
  •  You may email, print or save in QuickSearch using links on the right side of the pages.
  • If the library does not own the journal you need online, you can Request an electronic copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan:   http://library.ucf.edu/ILL/. Interlibrary Loan is free and is very fast.

 

General Training