ART 5284 - Design Theory & Methods

1. Introductions
2. Preparing to Explore a Topic
   • Keywords, synonyms, related concepts
     • Thesaurus
   • Field of study, related disciplines
   • Historical and geographic context, places, and events
   • Interested groups authors, publishers, positions 
     • Who writes and publishes about the topic and why?
3. Picking Relevant Databases to Search
   • Depth and breadth of topic (how many? how thorough?)
   • Types of documents
     • Scholarly articles, peer review
     • Books, book chapters (academic, professional, popular)
     • Reference, handbooks, and introductory material
     • Magazines and trade journals
     • Newspapers, newswires
     • Reports, data and statistics, data sets
     • Videos, images, music, media
     • Web sources, blogs, organization and government sites, position sites.
   • TIP: Ask a librarian! 
4. Search Techniques
   • RATS - Read All The Screens
   • Fields
     • Keyword - any term in the author, titles, subjects, abstract, and, sometimes, full text
     • Author (Last, First; Organization name)
     • Source Title (Book or journal title)
     • Item Title (article, chapter, or report title)
     • Subject, Descriptors, Controlled Vocabulary
   • Search Syntax
     • Boolean AND, OR, NOT (): ((exhibit OR display) AND interactive) NOT video
     • Truncation * ?: exhibit* AND interact*
     • Phrase " ": "interactive exhibition"
     • More info:  Search Tips: Truncation and Boolean Searching
   • Side Menu: Filter, Narrow, Expand
     • Full Text
     • Document Type
     • Language
     • Dates
     • Subject
     • Publisher or Journal Title
     • Database or Source
     • Advanced and Specialized options (study type, age group, Industry, etc.)
5. Get Organized! Citing, Reusing, and Plugins
   • Citation and Organization Tools: RefWorks or EndNote 
     • Why Cite? | Center for Teaching and Learning - Yale
     • Reusable? Creative Commons and Use Permissions
       • Licensing types - Creative Commons
       • The Basics of Getting Permission - Stanford University Libraries
   • Plugins for easy access from your browsers
6. More Help: 
   • Services for Grad Students 
     • ​Research Consultations
     • ILL and Document Delivery
     • Ask a Librarian
     • Reference 
     • Conducting a Literature Review
     • Style Guide tutorials
     • Workshops
     • athena@ucf.edu
7. Demo and Exploration
   • Primo Search - All in one... well LOTS in one, search for articles, books, videos, images
   • ARTstor: Images and metadata from museum collections
   • Web of Science - cited reference searching
   • Primo Library Catalog - books, book, books... and more.
   • Other Database - over 400 databases of all types!
8. Thank you!

Page URL: https://guides.ucf.edu/ART5284