Nursing Databases - Doctorate of Nursing Practice - Library Resources - UCF Research Guides at University of Central Florida Libraries

Other Nursing Databases

Need Help?

UCF Nursing Librarians

UCF Libraries Ask-Us

General/Medical

Access Medicine
Full text medical text books and clinical library. Includes photographs and audio/video presentations related to the various texts in the collections.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+)
The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
"contains approximately 5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course for Students and faculty in medical, nursing, and related programs.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (1937+)
CINAHL Ultimate provides 1,815 active full-text journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Clinical Key (Elsevier)
An online search tool that provides physicians with fast clinical answers.
Provided by the College of Medicine.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Wiley)
"a bibliography of controlled trials...as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews"
"includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases."
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley)
"contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare"
"Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually."
DynaMedex (EBSCOhost)
combines the clinical expertise and extensive, curated disease content of DynaMed with the comprehensive view into treatment options, depth, and breadth of drug information, and advanced search capabilities of Micromedex. Provide users with evidence-based insights for optimal clinical decision-making and improved patient outcomes.
DynaMedex includes mobile and app access: sign up for a free account on the DynaMedex page. You must be on campus or signed in with your NID to create an account.
EndNote
UCF IT has reactivated the software license for EndNote, the reference management tool, for all UCF students, faculty and staff to use free of charge. EndNote is a valuable resource that propels UCF to reach its goal as a top research institution.

If you previously had EndNote installed and activated on your computer, you may access it as before. If you have not yet installed EndNote, submit this Service Now form for assistance with downloading the most current version.

If you need help with a previously downloaded version or need an administrator to help with a UCF-managed device, submit this request form

************************************************************************
For more citation management options, see our blog post or our EndNote guide
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (1985+)
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement tools used across diverse professions and disciplines, including medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, sociology, communication, and organizational behavior. HaPI helps researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests relevant to their investigations, theses, dissertations, and grant proposals and helps researchers to enhance the quality, reliability, and validity of their measurement techniques.
Health and Wellness (Gale) (1980+)
Topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Health Sciences (SAGE Journals)
Browse journals by discipline: Allied Health; Cardiology & Cardiovascular Medicine; Dentistry; Emergency Medicine & Critical Care; Endocrinology & Metabolism; General Medicine; Geriatrics; Medico-legal; Neurology; Nursing; Nutrition; Oncology; Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine; Otolaryngology; Palliative Medicine & Chronic Care; Pediatrics; Pharmacology & Toxicology; Psychiatry & Psychology; Public Health; Pulmonary & Respiratory Medicine; Radiology; Research Methods & Evaluation; Surgery; Veterinary Medicine
JBI Sumari (Ovid)
Instructions for use
Develop, conduct, and report on systematic reviews of multiple research papers. **You must create a FREE personal Ovid account to access this product.**
UCF has an organizational subscription which covers faculty, staff and students. If collaborating with members from other institutions, each collaborator must also have access to JBI Sumari through their own organization's subscription or an individual subscription.
Usage: evidence based medicine (EBM), clinical resources; systematic reviews.
Provided by the College of Medicine.
Medical Letter (The Medical Letter) (1988+)
Critical appraisals of new drugs and comparative reviews of older drugs.
Provided by College of Medicine.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1946+)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.
Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network. Create a free account.
Micromedex
Provides drug, disease, and toxicology information, as well as patient education documents and pediatric and neonatal evidence for patient safety.
Provided by UCF College of Medicine
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
Information about herbs, supplements and other "natural" medicines.
Evidence-Based Monographs - "The core database contains the detailed, evidence-based monographs on individual natural ingredients (e.g., glucosamine, echinacea, etc). There are currently almost 1,100 monographs on these individual natural ingredients."
- Monograph Name, Also Known As, Scientific Names
- People Use This For
- Safety Rating
- Effectiveness Rating
- Mechanism of Action
- Adverse Reactions
- Interactions
- Drug Influences on Nutrient Levels & Depletion
- Dosage & Administration
Brand Name Products - "This Database contains information for over 90,000 brand name products. For each brand name product, the Database provides an ingredient listing. Each ingredient then links directly to the evidence-based ingredient monograph that provides detailed information on safety, effectiveness, interactions, dosing, and other practical information."
USP Verified Brands - "The United States Pharmacopeia (USP) verifies brand name products that meet rigorous quality standards."
Clinically Studied Brands - "The Database provides an Editor’s Comment and Effectiveness Rating for each commercial brand name product that has been studied in a clinical trial."
Canadian Licensed Natural Health Products - "In 2004, Canada began regulating natural medicines as a category of products separate from foods or drugs. These products are officially recognized as Natural Health Products. These products include vitamins, minerals, herbal preparations, homeopathic products, probiotics, fatty acids, amino acids, and other naturally derived supplements."
Herbal Fixed Combination Products - "Traditional Chinese medicines and Ayurvedic medicines often come in a “fixed combination” of herbal ingredients. The combinations represent standard herbal formulations with specific, unique names."
New England Journal of Medicine: Videos
a searchable archive of videos on various topics from The New England Journal of Medicine
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
"provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum."
Nursing Education in Video (Alexander Street)
"Nursing Education in Video is an up-to-date collection of demonstration and training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills. This resource provides access to Medcom's complete collection of 300+ full-length training videos..."

This collection has been upgraded to the 3rd edition and now has over 400 videos.
Pediatric Care Online (from AAP, American Academy of Pediatrics)
A premier pediatric point-of-care resource which integrates many different pediatric resources for quick access. Includes a visual library, videos, eBooks, drug look-up, and point-of-care resources.
PubMed (MEDLINE) (1948+)
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

To authenticate for full-text off-campus, log in
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Publishers of journals can submit their citations to NCBI and then provide access to the full-text of articles at journal web sites using LinkOut."
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (1637+)
"Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses."
For abstracts from 1938-1980 see the print volumes of Dissertation Abstracts International
"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content."
Sage Research Methods
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon Sage’s legacy of methods publishing, Sage Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.Full text of book, journal, and reference content to aid as students research design methodologies, understand and select methods, conduct research, and write findings.
Includes tools such as:
- Project Planner: find step-by-step guidance to complete your research project
- Which Stats Test: answer questions to see which statistical method is best for your data
Includes the complete series of:
- Little Green Books -- Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences
- Little Blue Books -- Qualitative Research Methods
PubMed (MEDLINE) (1948+)
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

To authenticate for full-text off-campus, log in
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Publishers of journals can submit their citations to NCBI and then provide access to the full-text of articles at journal web sites using LinkOut."
SPORTDiscus (EBSCOhost) (1975+)
Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
Thieme MedOne Education
Online access to the Flexibook Atlases and Textbooks, the popular series of color atlases and pocket textbooks in anatomy, basic science, clinical science, and radiology.
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
directory of journals, magazines, newspapers, & other periodicals worldwide. Indicates available formats, intended audience, special features (e.g. reviews, whether a journal is refereed) & indexing/abstracting services coverage.
formerly "Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory"
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)
Wide selection of HEALTH, MEDICINE & NURSING databases
expand your research to related subject areas

Nursing Education

CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (1937+)
CINAHL Ultimate provides 1,815 active full-text journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Wiley)
"a bibliography of controlled trials...as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews"
"includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases."
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley)
"contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare"
"Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually."
Education Source (EBSCOhost)
“This database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.”
See also Education Index Retrospective (1929-1983)
ERIC (EBSCOhost) (1966+)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
ERIC is available from several database vendors, including ProQuest. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (1985+)
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement tools used across diverse professions and disciplines, including medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, sociology, communication, and organizational behavior. HaPI helps researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests relevant to their investigations, theses, dissertations, and grant proposals and helps researchers to enhance the quality, reliability, and validity of their measurement techniques.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1946+)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
"provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum."
APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+)
The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
"contains approximately 5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)

Nursing Leadership & Management

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (1971+)
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world
APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+)
The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
"contains approximately 5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (1937+)
CINAHL Ultimate provides 1,815 active full-text journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Wiley)
"a bibliography of controlled trials...as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews"
"includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases."
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley)
"contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare"
"Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually."
Emerald Insight Journals and eBooks
Online journals and eBooks from Emerald which publishes in a broad range of disciplines.
Subjects include:
- Accounting & Finance
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering
- Health & Social Care
- HR & Organizational Behaviour
- Information & Knowledge Management
- Library & Information Science
- Management Science & Operations
- Marketing
- Property Management & Built Environment
- Public Policy & Environmental Management
- Research methods
- Sociology
- Strategy
- Tourism & Hospitality
- Transport
Human Resources Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Human Resources Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 112,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
IGI Global eBooks, eJournals, and Video Lectures
eJournals, eBooks, and video lectures primarily in business & management; computer science and information technology; and education.
InfoSci-Books, Journals, and Video Core Subject Coverage Includes:

-Business and Management
-Computer Science and Information Technology
-Education
-Environmental, Agricultural, and Physical Sciences
-Government and Law
-Library and Information Science
-Media and Communications
-Medical, Healthcare, and Life Sciences
-Science and Engineering
-Security and Forensics
-Social Sciences and Humanities
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1946+)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.
Nexis Uni - All Content
See UCF User Help Guide
Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data.
Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works. Limited coverage of health administration news.
LexisNexis Academic (previous platform) is no longer accessible, as of December 2018.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)
EconLit (EBSCOhost) (1969+)
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.

Nursing - Simulation & Technology

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCOhost)
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
formerly called Applied Science & Technology (EBSCOhost/Wilson) (1983+)
Biotechnology Research Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.
For user help, see the ProQuest Science & Technology Training Materials guide and the ProQuest Biological Science Collection guide.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (1937+)
CINAHL Ultimate provides 1,815 active full-text journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Wiley)
"a bibliography of controlled trials...as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews"
"includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases."
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley)
"contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare"
"Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually."
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (1985+)
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement tools used across diverse professions and disciplines, including medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, sociology, communication, and organizational behavior. HaPI helps researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests relevant to their investigations, theses, dissertations, and grant proposals and helps researchers to enhance the quality, reliability, and validity of their measurement techniques.
Health Technology Assessments (HTA)
This database is available from the CRD database website."
Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. "The HTA database is produced by the NIHR Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK.
IEEE Xplore
Full text access to quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes most IEEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards.
IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from:
- IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
- IEEE conference proceedings
- IET conference proceedings
- IEEE published standards
- IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
VDE VERLAG Conference Proceedings includes complimentary access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005
Bell Labs Technical Journal includes access to the AbstractPlus records and full text articles published from 1922
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library includes full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2013
Individual Online Journals includes access to all AbstractPlus records and full text published since 2005 from:
- Systems Engineering and Electronics, Journal of
-IET journals are now largely Open Access at the IET Research Hub on Wiley Online Library
IGI Global eBooks, eJournals, and Video Lectures
eJournals, eBooks, and video lectures primarily in business & management; computer science and information technology; and education.
InfoSci-Books, Journals, and Video Core Subject Coverage Includes:

-Business and Management
-Computer Science and Information Technology
-Education
-Environmental, Agricultural, and Physical Sciences
-Government and Law
-Library and Information Science
-Media and Communications
-Medical, Healthcare, and Life Sciences
-Science and Engineering
-Security and Forensics
-Social Sciences and Humanities
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1946+)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.
Science Direct (1997+)
Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier.
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest )(1946+)
"The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline."
Included databases:
- ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection
- ProQuest Agricultural Science Collection
- ProQuest Aquatic Science Collection
- ProQuest Atmospheric Science Collection
- ProQuest Biological Science Collection
- ProQuest Computer Science Collection
- ProQuest Earth Science Collection
- ProQuest Engineering Collection
- ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
- ProQuest Illustrata: Natural Sciences
- ProQuest Illustrata: Technology
- ProQuest Materials Science Collection
Springer Nature Link
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
Disciplines include:
- Architecture & Design
- Astronomy
- Biomedical Sciences
- Business & Management
- Chemistry
- Computer Science
- Earth Sciences & Geography
- Economics
- Education & Language
- Energy
- Engineering
- Environmental Sciences
- Food Science & Nutrition
- Law
- Life Sciences
- Materials
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Philosophy
- Physics
- Psychology
- Public Health
- Social Sciences
- Statistics
Springer Protocols
Reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences.

On July 25, 2018, the Springer Protocols platform was deactivated. Springer Protocols are searchable on the new Springer Nature Experiments site. Click the title to be authenticated for access to full text of the protocols. SpringerProtocols can also be found on the Springer Nature Link site.
- Biochemistry
- Bioinformatics
- Biotechnology
- Cancer Research
- Cell Biology
- Genetics / Genomics
- Imaging / Radiology
- Immunology
- Infectious Diseases
- Microbiology
- Molecular Medicine
- Neuroscience
- Pharmacology / Toxicology
- Plant Sciences
- Protein Science
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)

Clinical Tools

Access Medicine
Full text medical text books and clinical library. Includes photographs and audio/video presentations related to the various texts in the collections.
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course for Students and faculty in medical, nursing, and related programs.
Clinical Key (Elsevier)
An online search tool that provides physicians with fast clinical answers.
Provided by the College of Medicine.
DynaMedex (EBSCOhost)
combines the clinical expertise and extensive, curated disease content of DynaMed with the comprehensive view into treatment options, depth, and breadth of drug information, and advanced search capabilities of Micromedex. Provide users with evidence-based insights for optimal clinical decision-making and improved patient outcomes.
DynaMedex includes mobile and app access: sign up for a free account on the DynaMedex page. You must be on campus or signed in with your NID to create an account.
Micromedex
Provides drug, disease, and toxicology information, as well as patient education documents and pediatric and neonatal evidence for patient safety.
Provided by UCF College of Medicine
Merck Manual
"Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional."
New England Journal of Medicine: Videos
A a searchable archive of videos and other multimedia on various topics from The New England Journal of Medicine. Click on Learning/CME tab to view the Interactive Medical Cases.
Pediatric Care Online (from AAP, American Academy of Pediatrics)
A premier pediatric point-of-care resource which integrates many different pediatric resources for quick access. Includes a visual library, videos, eBooks, drug look-up, and point-of-care resources.
PEPID Clinical Rotation Companion Online
PEPID is a medical reference for your mobile device, PDA or online.
- Clinical Rotation Companion
- Medical Dictionary
- Lab Manuals
- Peds Module
- DDX Module
- Patient Education Mode
Provided by the College of Medicine.

eBooks

Access Medicine
Full text medical text books and clinical library. Includes photographs and audio/video presentations related to the various texts in the collections.
Clinical Key (Elsevier)
An online search tool that provides physicians with fast clinical answers.
Provided by the College of Medicine.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Full text eBooks, including selections by UCF faculty, students, and staff.
CAUTION: Although some books provide for unlimited simultaneous users, some have restrictions which make them unsuitable for assigning as course readings
Categories:
- Agriculture
- Architecture
- Business/Management
- Computer Science/IT
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering (Chemical, Civil, Construction, Electrical, Environmental, General, Manufacturing, Mechanical, Mining)
- Environmental Studies
- Fiction
- Fine Arts
- General Works/Reference
- Geography/Travel
- Health
- History
- Home Economics
- Journalism
- Juvenile Literature
- Language/Linguistics
- Law
- Library Science
- Literature
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Military Science
- Museums
- Nursing
- Pharmacy
- Philosophy
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Publishing
- Religion
- Science (Anatomy/Physiology, Astronomy, Biology/Natural History, Botany, Chemistry, General, Geology, Physics, Zoology)
- Social Science
- Sport & Recreation
- Tourism/Hospitality
ProQuest Ebook Central -- College of Medicine
Full text of eBooks selected by the UCF College of Medicine.
EBSCO eBooks
A collection of ebooks in full text, including both current and classic works.
For many of the eBooks in this collection only one person can view the book at a time
Browse by category:
- Children's & Young Adult Fiction
- Children's & Young Adult Nonfiction
- Arts & Architecture
- Biographies & Memoirs
- Business & Economics
- Computer Science
- Education
- Engineering & Technology
- Fiction
- General Nonfiction
- Health & Medicine
- History
- Law
- Literature & Criticism
- Mathematics
- Philosophy
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Reference
- Religion
- Sciences
- Self-Help & Family
- Social Sciences
- Study Aids & Language Learning
Gale eBooks
a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Arts
- Biography
- Business
- Education
- Environment
- General Reference
- History
- Information & Publishing
- Law
- Literature
- Medicine
- Multicultural Studies
- Nation & World
- Religion
- Science
- Social Science
IGI Global eBooks, eJournals, and Video Lectures
eJournals, eBooks, and video lectures primarily in business & management; computer science and information technology; and education.
InfoSci-Books, Journals, and Video Core Subject Coverage Includes:

-Business and Management
-Computer Science and Information Technology
-Education
-Environmental, Agricultural, and Physical Sciences
-Government and Law
-Library and Information Science
-Media and Communications
-Medical, Healthcare, and Life Sciences
-Science and Engineering
-Security and Forensics
-Social Sciences and Humanities
Merck Manual
"Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional."
LWW Health Library: Medical Education (Wolters Kluwer)
LWW Health Library: Medical Education provides texts, video & audio, self assessment, cases, and clinical skills resources.
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) is an imprint of the publisher Wolters Kluwer.
Subject areas include:
Anatomy
Behavioral Science
Biochemistry
Embryology
Epidemiology
Genetics
Histology
Intro to Clinical Medicine
Microbiology/Immunology
Neuroscience
Pathology/Pathophysiology
Pharmacology
Physical Examination
Physiology
Review
ProQuest Ebook Central -- College of Medicine
Full text of eBooks selected by the UCF College of Medicine.
Thieme MedOne Education
Online access to the Flexibook Atlases and Textbooks, the popular series of color atlases and pocket textbooks in anatomy, basic science, clinical science, and radiology.
Springer eBooks (2005+)
over 20,000 ebooks from science, technology, and medicine
Science Direct (1997+)
Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier.
PrimoSearch
PrimoSearch combines search results from all of UCF's subscriptions to ProQuest databases, most of our online journals, and many databases from other vendors.
The previous discovery service QuickSearch from EBSCOhost ceased access at UCF at the end of September 2021. Please update all links to Primo.
The previous discovery service at UCF was QuickSearch. The previous name for QuickSearch was OneSearch.

Evidence-Based Practice

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Wiley)
"a bibliography of controlled trials...as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews"
"includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases."
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley)
"contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare"
"Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually."
Cochrane Methodology Register (Wiley)
Search Cochrane Reviews and limit by Type = methodology
The Cochrane Methodology Register (1904-2011) was last updated in 2012.
"The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings, and the content is sourced from MEDLINE and hand searches. CMR contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies that could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and, in some cases, a summary of the article. They do not contain the full text of the article."
JAMAevidence (McGraw-Hill)
"Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care."

Provided by UCF College of Medicine Health Sciences Library.
JBI Sumari (Ovid)
Instructions for use
Develop, conduct, and report on systematic reviews of multiple research papers. **You must create a FREE personal Ovid account to access this product.**
UCF has an organizational subscription which covers faculty, staff and students. If collaborating with members from other institutions, each collaborator must also have access to JBI Sumari through their own organization's subscription or an individual subscription.
Usage: evidence based medicine (EBM), clinical resources; systematic reviews.
Provided by the College of Medicine.
Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter (2002-2014)
Provides unbiased prescribing recommendations featuring drug treatment of major indications, recommendations for first-choice and alternative drugs, and comparative assessment of drug effectiveness, safety and cost. Treatment Guidelines ceased in 2014. Access is provided for 2002-2014.
Provided by College of Medicine.

Videos

Access Medicine
Full text medical text books and clinical library. Includes photographs and audio/video presentations related to the various texts in the collections.
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course for Students and faculty in medical, nursing, and related programs.
Clinical Key (Elsevier)
An online search tool that provides physicians with fast clinical answers.
Provided by the College of Medicine.
FMG - Films on Demand
Educational films viewable online.
Faculty: Contact your subject librarian to verify duration of availability for use with courses.
UCF subscribes to several collections including:
-Master Academic Collection
-Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
-Allied Health Collection
-Careers & Job Search Collection
Kanopy Streaming Videos
Streaming educational videos and documentaries.
LWW Health Library: Medical Education (Wolters Kluwer)
LWW Health Library: Medical Education provides texts, video & audio, self assessment, cases, and clinical skills resources.
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) is an imprint of the publisher Wolters Kluwer.
Subject areas include:
Anatomy
Behavioral Science
Biochemistry
Embryology
Epidemiology
Genetics
Histology
Intro to Clinical Medicine
Microbiology/Immunology
Neuroscience
Pathology/Pathophysiology
Pharmacology
Physical Examination
Physiology
Review
New England Journal of Medicine: Videos
a searchable archive of videos on various topics from The New England Journal of Medicine
Nursing Education in Video (Alexander Street)
"Nursing Education in Video is an up-to-date collection of demonstration and training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills. This resource provides access to Medcom's complete collection of 300+ full-length training videos..."

This collection has been upgraded to the 3rd edition and now has over 400 videos.

Nursing Databases by Type

See the expanded list of biology databases:

Nursing databases

Free on the Web

BioMed Central (OpenAccess Central)
"an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 269 peer-reviewed open access journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine"
Cancer Topics (National Cancer Institute)
Access to information on all aspects of cancer.
Cell: An Image Library
"The Cell: An Image Library™ is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research, education, and training, with the ultimate goal of improving human health."
ClinicalTrials.gov
provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions
Digital Commons Network
"brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work."
Subject Areas (listed by # of items included)
- Law (250,000+)
- Social & Behavioral Sciences (150,000+)
- Arts & Humanities (125,000+)
- Physical Sciences & Mathematics (80,000+)
- Life Sciences (70,000+)
- Engineering (65,000+)
- Education (63,000+)
- Medicine & Health Sciences (54,000+)
- Business (27,000+)
- Architecture (6,000+)
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB."
Subjects include:
Agriculture and Food Sciences
Arts and Architecture
Biology and Life Sciences
Business and Economics
Chemistry
Earth and Environmental Sciences
General Works
Health Sciences
History and Archaeology
Languages and Literatures
Law and Political Science
Mathematics and Statistics
Philosophy and Religion
Physics and Astronomy
Science General
Social Sciences
Technology and Engineering
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
identifies "free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals"
Florida Electronic Library (FEL) - Licensed Resources
Databases purchased by the State of Florida for public libraries. *Public library ID to access the databases from this link.* Most of the databases are available to the UCF community on the UCF Libraries database pages.
Global Attitudes & Trends (Pew Research Center)
- Publications
- Topics
- Datasets
- Question Search
- Global Indicators
LearnDerm
"This self-study dermatology education resource consists of 5 interactive lessons to help build a solid foundation in essential terminology and improve your pattern recognition skills."
MedlinePlus
The consumer health database from the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 800 diseases and conditions.
Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network. Create a free account.
Merck Manual
"Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional."
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
the U.S. Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency
National Guideline Clearinghouse
"Clinical practice guidelines are statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options."
Classification Scheme:
- Clinical Specialty
- Disease/Condition
- Guideline Category
- Health Services Administration
- Implementation Tools
- Institute of Medicine (IOM) Care Need
- Institute of Medicine (IOM) Domain
- Intended Users
- Method of Guideline Validation
- Methods Used to Analyze the Evidence
- Methods Used to Assess the Quality and Strength of the Evidence
- Methods Used to Collect/Select the Evidence
- Methods Used to Formulate the Recommendations
- Organization Type
- Target Population
- Treatment/Intervention
OncoLink (University of Pennsylvania)
Comprehensive information about specific types of cancer, updates on cancer treatments and news about research advances.
PubMed (MEDLINE) (1948+) PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. To authenticate for full-text off-campus, log in
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Publishers of journals can submit their citations to NCBI and then provide access to the full-text of articles at journal web sites using LinkOut."
TOXNET (NIH)
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals and related areas.
Most visited
- HSDB: Hazardous Substances Data Bank. Peer-reviewed toxicology data for over 5,000 hazardous chemicals
- TOXLINE: 4 million references to literature on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals
- ChemIDplus: Dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures)
Breastfeeding & Drugs
- LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database. Drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed
Developmental Toxicology Literature
- DART: Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database. References to developmental and reproductive toxicology literature
Chemical Releases & Mapping
- TOXMAP: Environmental Health Maps provides searchable, interactive maps of EPA TRI and Superfund data, plus US Census and NCI health data
- TRI: Toxics Release Inventory. Annual environmental releases of over 600 toxic chemicals by U.S. facilities
Genomics
- CTD: Comparative Toxicogenomics Database. Access to scientific data describing relationships between chemicals, genes and human diseases
Household Product Safety
- Household Products Database: Potential health effects of chemicals in more than 10,000 common household products
Occupational Exposure to Chemicals
- Haz-Map: Links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms
Risk Assessment
- IRIS: Integrated Risk Information System. Hazard identification and dose-response assessment for over 500 chemicals
- ITER: International Toxicity Estimates for Risk. Risk information for over 600 chemicals from authoritative groups worldwide
Animal Testing Alternatives
- ALTBIB: Resources on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing
Archived, No Longer Updated
- CCRIS: Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System. Carcinogenicity and mutagenicity test results for over 8,000 chemicals
- CPDB: Carcinogenic Potency Database. Standardized analyses of the results of 6,540 chronic, long-term animal cancer tests
- GENE-TOX: Genetic Toxicology Data Bank. Peer-reviewed genetic toxicology test data for over 3,000 chemicals
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
"includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.... more than 500 of the titles are available to the public."
WeBSurg: the e-surgical reference
"WeBSurg is a charge-free World Virtual University that gathers surgical videos, operative techniques, lectures, experts opinions, debates and clinical cases."
- General & digestive surgery
- Pediatric surgery
- Urology
- Cardiovascular surgery
- Neurosurgery - ENT - skull base
- Endocrine surgery
- Thoracic surgery
- Gynecology
- GI Endoscopy
- Arthroscopy & upper limb surgery