Reference Books
- Cities of the World
- Collin's World Atlas Gazetteer
- Countries of the World & Their Leaders Yearbook
- ...Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
- Europa World Year Book
- Governments of the World
- Philip's World Factbook
- Political Handbook of the World
- Stateman's Yearbook
- World Press Encyclopedia
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Gale Virtual Reference Library
provides the full text of some encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, including:
Cities of the World - "A compilation of current information on cultural, geographic, and political conditions in 193 countries and their cities covering six continents, based on the Department of State's Post Reports. Maps and photos of many cities included."
- Online version
- Reference G 153.4 .C57
Countries of the World & Their Leaders Yearbook - "Covering nearly 200 countries, the yearbook is filled with reports from the U.S. Department of State. Entries typically cover politicians, geography, defense, agriculture, and trade. Includes information on passport applications, regulations and duties, international health and disease, national holidays, and more."
- Online version
- Reference G 123 .C68
World Press Encyclopedia - "This comprehensive survey of press and electronic media covers over 200 countries and their systems. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries include overview and background, economic framework, general characteristics, number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, education and training in journalism, and more."
- Online version
- Reference PN 4735 .W6
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations - "Presents easy-to-understand information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders."
- Online version
- Reference G 63 .W67
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowa database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Other Reference Books
- Europa World Year BookCall Number: Reference JN 1 .E85 (latest 2 years); General Collection (1963, 1965+)"Each country is covered by an individual chapter, containing: an introductory survey including recent history, economic affairs, government, defense, education, and public holidays; an economic & demographic survey using the latest available statistics on area & population, health & welfare, agriculture, forestry, fishing, industry, finance, trade, transport, tourism, the media, and education; and a directory section listing names, addresses and other useful facts about organizations in the fields of government, election commissions, political parties, diplomatic representation, judiciary, religions, the media, telecommunications, banking, insurance, trade & industry, development organizations, chambers of commerce, industrial & trade associations, utilities, trade unions, transport, and tourism."
- Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizens' Rights & ResponsibilitiesCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference - 2nd Floor -- JA61.G645 2006"accessible, authoritative background information about governments, political issues, and citizen politics in 198 regions, including every independent nation of the world and several territories under the jurisdiction of sovereign countries." Also includes biographies, conventions & documents, region profiles, forms of government, history, international & supranational entities, law & the courts, and rights, responsibilities & freedoms.
- Political Handbook of the WorldCall Number: Reference JF 37 .P61 (1958+)Governments (Countries A-Z) -- The Country -- Government & Politics -- Political Parties & Groups -- Legislature -- Cabinet -- Communications
Intergovernmental Organizations -- Origin & Development -- Structure -- Activities
Chronology of Major International Events, 1945+
Chronology of Major International Conferences Sponsored by the United Nations, 1946+
Membership of the United Nations and Its Specialized & Related Agencies - Statesman's Yearbook: The Politics, Cultures & Economies of the WorldCall Number: Reference JA 51 .S7 (1966+)the individual country entries provide information about key historical events, territory & population, social statistics, climate, constitution & government, government chronology, recent elections, current administration, current leaders, defense, international relations, economy, energy & natural resources, industry, international trade, communications, social institutions, religion, diplomatic representatives, and further reading.