It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the following electronic and print indexes to find articles about specific topics. Once you have found the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the periodicals you need.
Wiley Journals (some formerly Blackwell Synergy)
provides browsing and searching access to many UCF Libraries' journal subscriptions, including:
Africa Research Bulletin (1997+)
British Journal of Politics & International Relations (1999+)
Bulletin of Latin American Research (1995+)
Developing Economies (1962+)
Development & Change (1997+)
Ethics & International Affairs (1987+)
Foreign Policy Analysis (2005+)
Global Networks: A Journal of Transnational Affairs (2001+)
-Now linking to Wiley Online Homepage. For Publications, click link for Journals, Reference Works, or Online Books below search box
-Full text of Wiley's scholarly journals and many eBooks covering a variety of disciplines.
-For Wiley-IEEE eBooks click here
- Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science
- Architecture & Planning
- Art & Applied Arts
- Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting
- Computer Science & Information Technology
- Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences
- Law & Criminology
- Life Sciences
- Mathematics & Statistics
- Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Veterinary Medicine
Communication Studies (1955+)
"includes the full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies.... It covers such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies."
"source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world."
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) (1970+)*
International Index to Periodicals (1802+)
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature Reference AI 3 .P7 (1802-1906)
International Index to Periodicals General Collection AI 3 .R49 (1907-1965)
Social Sciences & Humanities Index General Collection AI 3 .R49 (1965-1974)
Social Sciences Index General Collection AI 3 .R492 (1974+) Online version (Indexing 1983+, Abstracting 1984+, Full text 1994+)
Humanities Index General Collection AI 3 .R493 (1974+) Online version (Indexing 1983+, Abstracting 1984+, Full text 1994+)
Social Sciences Index (H.W. Wilson) (1974-2004)
[online access cancelled due to budget cuts]
paper index available: UCF ARC Main General Collection -- AI3.R492
"Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and much more."
"includes full text of articles from some 215 journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 periodicals dating as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences."
See also the print indexes, General Collection AI 3 .R492 (1907-2004) - International Index to Periodicals / Social Sciences & Humanities Index / Social Sciences Index -- and the online version: Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984)
"a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews."
"Topics covered include communications & mass media, criminal justice, anthropology, economics, art, film, environmental studies, archaeology, international relations, law, literary & social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, planning & public administration, political science, sociology, religion & theology, gender studies, gerontology, psychiatry & psychology, addiction studies, urban studies, and much more."
See also Humanities Source Print Indexes - UCF Main Library - 1st Floor:
- International Index to Periodicals (1907-1965) - General Collection AI3.R49
- Social Sciences & Humanities Index (1965-1974) - General Collection AI3.R49
- Social Sciences Index (1974-1984) - General Collection AI3.R492
- Humanities Index (1974-1984) - General Collection AI3.R493
a one-stop site hosting international journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge
You can search and browse the journals and reference works on Taylor & Francis Online for free. Use advanced search to restrict to "Only content I have full access to" unless you want to request articles through Interlibrary Loan since UCF's subscription only includes some journals, one reference work, and none of the abstract databases.
Journal subject coverage includes:
- Area Studies
- Behavioral Sciences (includes Archive Collection)
- Built Environment
- Communication Studies
- Computer Science (includes Archive Collection)
- Development Studies
- Earth Sciences
- Economics, Finance, Business & Industry
- Education (includes Archive Collection)
- Engineering & Technology (includes Archive Collection)
- Environment & Agriculture
- Environment & Sustainability
- Food Science & Technology
- Health & Social Care
- Information Science
- Language & Literature
- Mathematics & Statistics
- Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing & Allied Health
- Museum & Heritage Studies
- Physical Sciences (includes Chemistry Archive Collection)
- Politics & International Relations
- Social Sciences
- Sports & Leisure
- Tourism, Hospitality & Events
- Urban Studies
Short index entries from the 296 printed volumes of the Official Index to the London Times which covers the years 1906-1980 inclusive.
Printed Index - UCF ARC MAIN General Collection AI 21 .T46 (1929+)
See also the London Times research guide
FBIS Publications (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)
World News Connection provides full text English-language translations or summaries of newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, conference proceedings, and reports. Strong coverage of local media sources. Created by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS).
FBIS Publications (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) - Daily Report, Foreign Radio Broadcasts
FBIS Publications (All regions) - U.S. Docs CD-ROM PrEx 7.10/3: (1997-2004) Africa (Sub-Sahara) - U.S. Docs Microfiche PrEx 7.10: FBIS-AFR- (1990-1996) Asia and Pacific - U.S. Docs Microfiche PrEx 7.10: FBIS-APA- (1983-1986) People's Republic of China - U.S. Docs Microfiche PrEx 7.10: FBIS-CHI- (1990-1996) East Asia - U.S. Docs Microfiche PrEx 7.10: FBIS-EAS- (1987-1996)
Eastern Europe - U.S. Docs Microfiche PrEx 7.10: FBIS-EEU- (1990-1996) Latin America - U.S. Docs Microfiche PrEx 7.10: FBIS-LAT- (1990-1996) Near East and South Asia - U.S. Docs Microfiche PrEx 7.10: FBIS-NES- (1990-1996) Soviet Union - U.S. Docs Microfiche PrEx 7.10: FBIS-SOV- (1987, 1990-1996) Western Europe - U.S. Docs Microfiche PrEx 7.10: FBIS-WEU- (1990-1996)
World News Connection* (1990+)
Database Ceased - More information about shutdown
extensive array of translated & English-language news & information; particularly effective in it's coverage of local media sources.
Access to some non-current content is available on microfiche and CD-ROMs in the UCF Library Government Documents area.
"The content in this database is sourced from newspapers, journals, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in the Middle East and North Africa as well as other nations with regional political, economic, and security interests. In addition to local and international news, it also includes government-level analysis and commentary. The material was identified, curated, and translated into English by the Joint Publication Research Service (JPRS), a division of the CIA."
Spanning from 1958 to 1994-- the final years of the Eisenhower Administration to the early years of the Clinton Administration, this database covers many topical categories, including the Israeli-Arab conflict, human and civil rights, international relations, terrorism, and others. The collection includes many points of view and contemporary accounts from both inside and outside the region on events such as:
-Six Day War
-Yom Kippur War
-Taking American Hostages in Iran
-Assassination of Egyptian President Anwar Sadat
-The Achille Lauro Hijacking
-Persian Gulf War
It also covers the origins and growth of organizations such as:
-Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO)