UCF Research Guides: International Government: Key Indexes

Periodical Articles - Key Indexes

Use the following electronic and print indexes to find articles about specific topics. Once you have found the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the periodicals you need.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

"is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs."

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online (1991+)
Theory & research in international affairs, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs.

JSTOR

provides full text coverage of over 1,000 scholarly journals, including:

African Affairs (1901-)
American Journal of International Law (1907-)
Asian Survey (1932-)
International Affairs (1922-)
International Organization (1947-)

International Studies Quarterly (1957-)
Journal of Near Eastern Studies (1884-)
Latin American Politics and Society (1959-)
Pacific Affairs (1926-2008)
Slavic Review (1941-)
World Politics (1948-)

NOTE: Only about 10% of articles in the JSTOR collection include abstracts. Other indexing of older journals, including some JSTOR titles, is available in International Index to Periodicals.

JSTOR
Full text of research journals and eBooks from numerous publishers. For most of the journal content, we can access all but the 3 to 5 most recent years of the journal.

LexisNexis Academic (1976+)

Use the Sources tab to filter the publications to be searched by country or region of the world.
Online Tutorial - Selecting Sources

News sources include aggregate news sources, blogs, industry trade press, magazines & journals, news transcripts, newsletters, newspapers, newswires & press releases, etc.
"Full-text of more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, many same day of publication"
"More than 300 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters, including: American Journalism Review, Business Week, The Economist, Library Journal, New Republic, Newsweek, and Variety"
"Wire services, updated several times a day, including respected names such as the Associated Press, Business Wire and PR Newswire"
"Non-English language news sources available in Spanish, French, German, Italian and Dutch, including both newspapers and magazines"

Nexis Uni - All Content
- This link opens in a new window
See UCF User Help Guide
Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data.
Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works. Limited coverage of health administration news.
LexisNexis Academic (previous platform) is no longer accessible, as of December 2018.

PAIS International

indexes "journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish."

Cumulative Subject Index to the Public Affairs Information Service Annual Bulletins, 1915-1974

Reference H 1 .P78

PAIS Index (ProQuest) (1915+)
contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, & more.
The print index provides coverage for 1915-1974 - Main Library Reference H1.P8
"PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original, historical subject headings have been retained. PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century’s most important public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate."

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts "provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. Since 2000, development of the serials list has focused on expanding international coverage. As of November 2005 approximately 1,500+ titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States."

Political Science, Government, & Public Policy (Universal Reference System)

General Collection JA 37 .U66 (1960-1966)

"an annotated & intensively indexed compilation of significant books, pamphlets, and articles.... Some classic works are included here; but the great bulk concentrates in the years 1960 to 1966."

v. 1 - International Affairs
v. 2 - Legislative Process, Representation, & Decision-Making
v. 3 - Bibliography of Bibliographies in Political Science, Government & Public Policy
v. 4 - Administrative Management
v. 5 - Current Events & Problems of Modern Society

v. 6 - Public Opinion, Mass Behavior, & Political Psychology
v. 7 - Law, Jurisprudence, & Judicial Process
v. 8 - Economic Regulation
v. 9 - Public Policy & the Management of Science
v. 10 - Comparative Government & Cultures

Political Science, Government, & Public Policy - Annual Supplement

General Collection JA 37 .U662 (1967-1979)

Political Science Abstracts

General Collection JA 37 .U662 (1980-1997)

ABC POL SCI (Advance Bibliography of Contents: Political Science & Government)

General Collection JA 71 .A26 (1969-2000)

"reproduces edited tables of contents in alphabetical order by journal title.... The Subject Profile Index (SPIndex) provides a profile of each article cited and comprises two or more subject, geographic, and biographic descriptors."

CSA Political Science & Government

General Collection JA 71 .A26 (2001-2004)

"provides indexed citations to articles published in the international academic literature in political science and related disciplines."

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) (1975+)
provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.