Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

Education - Government Resources: NCES - National Center for Education Statistics

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

Fast Facts

The Condition of Education

"presents indicators on the status and condition of education. The indicators represent a consensus of professional judgment on significant national measures of the condition and progress of education. The report includes indicators in six main areas:

  1. enrollment trends and student characteristics at all levels of the education system;
  2. student achievement and the longer term, enduring effects of education;
  3. student effort and rates of progress through the educational system;
  4. the contexts of elementary and secondary education in terms of courses taken, teacher characteristics, and other factors;
  5. the contexts of postsecondary education; and
  6. societal support for learning, including parental and community support, and public and private financial support of education at all levels."

The Digest of Education Statistics

The Digest of Education Statistics

  • Online version (1990+)
  • U.S. Documents ED 1.140: (2003+)
  • U.S. Documents ED 1.326: (1980-2002)
  • U.S. Documents HE 19.315: (1974-1979)
  • U.S. Documents HE 5.98: (1972-1973)
  • U.S. Documents HE 5.210: 10024- (1969-1971)
  • U.S. Documents ED 1.113: (1966-1969)
  • ASI Microfiche 4564-1 (1976-1979); 4824-2 (1980+)

"provides a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of education from prekindergarten through graduate school. Topics in the Digest include: the number of schools and colleges; teachers; enrollments; graduates; educational attainment; finances; federal funds for education; employment and income of graduates; libraries; technology; and international comparisons."

Homeschooling in the United States

Indicators of School Crime & Safety

"includes data on crime at school from the perspectives of students, teachers, principals, and the general population from an array of sources--the National Crime Victimization Survey, the School Crime Supplement to the National Crime Victimization Survey, the Youth Risk Behavior Survey, the School Survey on Crime and Safety and the School and Staffing Survey. Data on crime away from school are also presented to place school crime in the context of crime in the larger society."

Internet Access in U.S. Public Schools & Classrooms

Internet Access in U.S. Public Schools & Classrooms

"provides trend analysis on the percent of public schools and instructional rooms with Internet access and on the ratio of students to instructional computers with Internet access. The report contains data on the types of Internet connections, technologies and procedures used to prevent student access to inappropriate material on the Internet, and the availability of hand-held and laptop computers to students and teachers. It also provides information on teacher professional development on how to integrate the use of the Internet into the curriculum, and the use of the Internet to provide opportunities and information for teaching and learning."

Projections of Education Statistics

"provides projections for key education statistics. It includes statistics on enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools, and enrollment, earned degrees conferred, and current-fund expenditures of degree-granting institutions."

State Education Data Profiles

120 Years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait