Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

Philosophy

This research guide identifies materials for basic and advanced research in philosophy. It lists a variety of sources, including databases, reference works, and Internet sites useful for the study of philosophy.

Core Philosophy Journals

The following selected core journals are devoted exclusively to philosophy. Please note, however, that many other journals not listed here may contain articles about some aspect of philosophy; thus, the need to consult a periodical database or index.
 
American Philosophical Quarterly
Online versions
Publishes five to ten articles per issue, mostly by American contributors and mostly, but not exclusively, oriented toward analytical philosophy.
 
Analysis
A quarterly founded in 1933 to provide a forum for short discussions of topics in philosophy. Articles lend themselves to the presentation of cogent but brief arguments for substantive conclusions, and often give rise to discussions which continue over several interchanges. A wide range of topics is covered, including: philosophical logic and philosophy of language, metaphysics, epistemology, philosophy of mind, and moral philosophy.
 
Bioethics
"Provides a forum for well-argued articles on the ethical questions raised by current issues such as: international collaborative clinical research in developing countries, organ transplants and xenotransplantation, ageing and the human lifespan, AIDS, genomics, and stem cell research" (journal overview).
 
Ethics
Online versions
Main Library Microfilm BJ 1 .I6 (1959-1962)
A leading journal in the field of social and political philosophy and ethics. In addition to moral philosophy, however, the journal also publishes articles on philosophy of law, public policy issues, religious ethics, and social and rational choice theory.
 
International Journal of Philosophical Studies
Publishes academic articles from both analytic and continental traditions and provides a forum for publishing on a broader range of issues than is currently available in philosophical journals. It also publishes annual special issues devoted to key thematic areas or to critical engagements with contemporary philosophers of note. Such noted philosophers as Noam Chomsky, Donald Davidson, and John Searle have been contributors to this journal.
 
International Philosophical Quarterly
Online version
Main Library Microfiche B 1 .I2 (1961-1967)
Main Library ARC General Collection B 1 .I2 (1968-2014)
Provides an international forum in English for the interchange of basic philosophical ideas between the Americas and Europe and between East and West. Offers articles on a wide range of subjects.
 
Journal of Philosophy
Online version
Main Library General Collection B 1 .J7 (2008-2011)
One of the most widely circulated journals, emphasizing Anglo-American philosophy, especially logic and linguistic analysis. Also includes book reviews, lists of new books, and news items.
 
Mind
Online versions
One of the oldest philosophical journals, with articles that accent philosophy of language, philosophical psychology, and ethical theory. Includes book reviews.
 
The Monist
Online versions
Main Library Microfilm B 1 .M7 (1890-1905)
A journal of "general philosophical inquiry," featuring individual issues devoted to specific topics.
 
http://ndpr.nd.edu
Established in 2002, an electronic, peer-reviewed journal that publishes timely reviews of scholarly philosophy books.
 
Noûs
Main Library Microfilm B 1 .N68 (1972-1974)
Noûs, the ancient Greek term for intellect or mind, is one of the premier philosophy journals today. In its commitment to a broad, pluralist, non-doctrinal approach, Noûs publishes high-quality critical essays, brief discussions, and important results of philosophic research.
 
Philosophical Quarterly
Online versions
Analytical in orientation, this British-based journal regularly features articles on metaphysics, ethics, logic, philosophy of language, and the history of philosophy.
 
The Philosophical Review
Online version
Main Library Microfilm B 1 .P5 (1892-1920; 1927-1959)
While general in scope, the articles tend to emphasize epistemology and metaphysics. Book reviews are included, typically a dozen or more per issue.
 
Philosophical Studies: An International Journal for Philosophy in the Analytic Tradition
A journal for papers in the analytic tradition.
 
Philosophy
Online versions
The official journal of Great Britain's Royal Institute of Philosophy aims "to promote the study of philosophy in all its branches."
 
Philosophy and Phenomenological Research
Online versions
"Publishes articles in a wide range of areas including philosophy of mind, epistemology, ethics, metaphysics, and philosophical history of philosophy. No specific methodology or philosophical orientation is required in submissions" (publisher's description).
 
Phronesis: A Journal for Ancient Philosophy
Online versions
The leading journal devoted exclusively to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman thought, including logic, metaphysics, epistemology, ethics, and political philosophy.
 
Synthese: An International Journal for Epistemology, Methodology and Philosophy of Science
Online versions
As the sub-title of this journal suggests, the editorial focus is on contemporary issues in the theory of knowledge, philosophy of science, and related fields. Also publishes articles on logic and mathematics, as well as formal methods in philosophy, including methods connecting philosophy to other academic fields.

Journal Locations

The vast majority of the UCF Libraries' journals are available full-text online. Sometimes, however, the complete run of back issues of journals will not be online, but nonetheless may be available in the Libraries. The location in the Main Library of the following formats of back issues, as well the current issues of some journal titles, are indicated below:

> Bound Volumes: shelved by call number in General Collection or in ARC General Collection.

> Microfilm/Microfiche Volumes: shelved in cabinets by call number on 1st Floor.

> Current Issues: shelved by title on 3d Floor.

Scholarly or "Peer-Reviewed" Articles

Many journal databases have the capability to limit searches so that only scholarly or "peer-reviewed" articles are in the results list. Many instructors specify that only these types of articles (as opposed to articles that appear in popular magazines) may be used in students' papers and presentations. Scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles have the following characteristics:

> Reviewed by a panel of experts before they are accepted for publication

> Written by a scholar or specialist in the field

> Contain footnotes and/or references

> Frequently contain diagrams and charts but few glossy pictures

> Report on original research or experimentation

> Published by professional associations

> Employ terminology associated with the discipline

Journal Directories

DOAJ contains a list of approximately 1,300 journals that are freely available on the Internet. It aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
 
Magazines for Libraries, 15th ed.
Main Library Reference PN 4832 .32
Annotates and evaluates over 6,500 periodicals. Arrangement by subject with title and subject indexes.
 
A comprehensive directory of  journals, listing periodicals from many countries, arranged by category or subject focus. Entries usually include title, subtitle, sponsoring organization or publisher, editorial emphasis, date of origin, frequency, price, circulation, editors, place of publication, and where the title is indexed or abstracted.