President & Agencies/Departments: Rules & Regulations

"The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis. The annual update cycle is as follows: titles 1-16 are revised as of January 1; titles 17-27 are revised as of April 1; titles 28-41 are revised as of July 1; and titles 42-50 are revised as of October 1. Each title is divided into chapters, which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Each chapter is further subdivided into parts that cover specific regulatory areas. Large parts may be subdivided into subparts. All parts are organized in sections, and most citations to the CFR refer to material at the section level."

"The CFR - Code of Federal Regulations file contains the full text of all titles from the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). The CFR is a codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published originally in the Federal Register by executive departments and agencies of the federal government. CFR archives are available from 1981. On Lexis Advance, if an archived version of a CFR section is available, then a link will appear under About This Document, followed by the number of archived versions in parentheses. "

"The Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) is "the codification of the general and permanent rules by the department and agencies of the Federal Government." This is a historical collection of the Code of Federal Regulations dating from 1938 - 1995. To access the Code of Regulations from 1996 – present, please visit the Government Publishing Office site."

"Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) , the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents."

"Federal Register (FEDREG) contains the full text of all documents that are published in the Federal Register. The Federal Register (FR) is the official vehicle for making the regulations and legal notices issued by the federal agencies and departments available to the public. These include federal agency documents, such as regulations (proposed, temporary, amended, and final) having general applicability and legal effect, documents required to be published by act of Congress, federal agency documents of public interest, meeting notices, and Presidential proclamations and executive orders. Documents from June 1979 to March 1936 are available in PDF format. Additionally, while these documents do not display in full-text, they are searched in natural language queries and will return with results. However, they are not searched with Boolean language searches."