Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Patents

It is recommended that an attorney be consulted when an interpretation of the law is needed. UCF library staff are not able to provide any legal advice. Patent Assistance Information

Tutorials

There are a variety of tutorials that will help in your ultimate goal of obtaining a patent.

  • This UCF produced video explains patent classification systems and demonstrates how to conduct a patent search step-by-step using the free global patent database, Espacenet. Using the USPTO database to search for a patent has changed. Just as you did before, you would search for a class and subclass number.  The change is, now you will obtain the class and subclass of a patent using the Cooperative Patent Classification System.  
  • This video/tutorial developed by the USPTO provides you with a step-by-step process for searching PatFT and AppFT using the CPC classification and, if your invention has not been previously patented or disclosed, the next steps to take.
  • The University of Texas tutorial/video discusses information to better understand one aspect of Intellectual Property – Patents: includes the description of the different types of patents, the reason for conducting a patent search and what is and is not patentable.
  • Penn State's PTRC video: How to locate patent classification information - http://www.youtube.co/watch?v=o5cQU2Rwvpg  Learn about the CPC hierarchy of patent classes, subclasses, groups and subgroups so you can find the right classification for your patented idea. Find schemes and their definitions for a more targeted search.
  • Cooperative Patent Classification System/CPC - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POxlp0PQF20   The new system, CPC, was developed jointly by the European Patent Office and the United States Patent and Trademark Office to harmonize the exchange of works between the two organizations and patent searching in general.  The system is based on the IPC (International Patent Classification) and the ECLC (European Classification).  The video gives you the history of the CPC and shows the different options when searching for a patent.
  • CPC Training - https://www.uspto.gov/patents/resources/classification/CPC_Training.jsp  The USPTO’s training module on the different aspects of the CPC.

 

How to Get Started

When you think you have a patented idea, before you begin the patent process, you should answer these few questions:

1. Understand what a patent does 

2. Keep a record of your invention 

3. Make sure your invention qualifies 

4. Assess the commercial potential 

5. Do a thorough patent search 

Once you think you have a unique idea, you can begin the process of seaching products that have been patented to make sure your idea has not already been designed, developed or submitted and not yet approved. 

The first place to start would be browsing the USPTO Web Site.

Seven Step Strategy

The Seven Steps in a Preliminary Search of U.S. Patents and Published Patent Applications

1. Brainstorm terms to describe the invention.

2. Use these terms to find initial relevant Cooperative Patent Classification using the USPTO website's Site Search box (www.uspto.gov). In the Site search box found in the top right hand corner of the home page enter "CPC Scheme [plus keywords(s) describing invention]".

3. Verify the relevancy of CPC classification you found by reviewing the CPC Classification Definition linked to it (if there is one). 

4. Retrieve U.S. patent documents with the CPC classification you selected in the PatFT (Patents Full-Text and Image) database.  Review and narrow down the most relevant patents publications by initially focusing on the front page information of abstract and representative drawings.

5. Using this selected set of most relevant patent publications, review each one in-depth for similarity to your own invention, paying close attention to the additional drawings pages, the specification and especially the claims.  References cited by the applicant and/or patent examiner may lead you to additional relevant patents.

6. Retrieve U.S. published patent applications with the CPC classification you selected in Step 3 in the AppFT (Applications Full-Text and Image) database. Use the same search approach used in Step 4 of first narrowing down your results to the most relevant patent applications by studying the abstract and representative drawings of each on its front page.  Then examine the selected published patent applications closely, paying close attendion to the additional drawings pages, the specifications and especially the claims.

7. Broaden your search to find additional U.S. patent publications using keyword searching in PatFT or AppFT databases, classification searching of non-U.S. patents on the European Patent Office's Worldwide Espacenet patent database and searching non-patent literature disclosures of inventions using the free electronic and print resources of your nearest Patent and Trademark Resource Center.

Seven Step Strategy Tutorial and Handout