Selected eBooks
Certified Nurse Educator (CNE) Review Manual by
"This is a treasure trove for those preparing for the CNE examination. For those adding certification to their goals list, this book is a must have."--Doody's Medical Reviews "I truly believe that your book made it possible for me to successfully complete the CNE exam It truly is the only book you need to pass the CNE exam - I'm living proof Thanks so much I learned a lot from your book and intend to keep it on my desk for future reference " -Sue Carroll, MSN, RN Sentara College of Health Sciences This is the only CNE review book for both novice and expert nurse educators that offers a systematic approach to preparing for the CNE Certification Exam. This concise Manual is aligned with the NLN's test blueprint to reflect not only requisite knowledge but also the percentages of content distribution in the new test plan. The book is organized into fifteen chapters that address the core content of topics outlined in the exam blueprint. Additionally, each chapter is organized into bite-size segments to facilitate ease of use. Chapters contains case studies, tips for test success, and critical thinking questions along with web links for accessing additional content on a particular topic. Review questions complete each chapter and a sample CNE test is provided. Three practice tests are also included along with an answer key and rationale for self-assessment. New to the Second Edition: Reflects shifting paradigms in nursing education Focuses on specific change theory, mentoring, incivility, curriculum design, and technology Revises content to reflect the new NLN CNL test plan Includes additional questions and teaching examples
ISBN: 9780826110060Publication Date: Springer Publishing Company, LLC. 2013
Affective Teaching in Nursing by
Although nursing education today offers copious amounts of information geared to test preparation, it does not adequately harness the emotional intelligence of individual students-a quality that can greatly enrich the nursing profession. This expert resource for understanding the importance of affective teaching-what it is and how to incorporate it into the classroom-provides a plentiful array of affective teaching pedagogy and references. Drawing from the emotional and social intelligence movement, the text offers both new and traditional insights into the importance of linking intellectual and emotional intelligence in knowledge acquisition. It provides helpful strategies for nurse educators to enrich their teaching with affective teaching strategies, methods, and skills in the classroom, and describes successful models for creating an affective teaching infrastructure that will endure. Designed for use in master's and doctoral programs in nursing and health care education, the book espouses a paradigm that is embraced by leaders in education and major institutions. It discusses the major themes of entrenched, traditional teaching methods, and contrasts them with the theory, research, and practice underlying affective teaching in nursing. The book follows the history of affective teaching from its inception in Bloom's Taxonomy to the present day. It addresses teaching infrastructure needs, affective teaching models, tools for measuring the results of affective teaching, the use of affective teaching in distance learning and at conferences, and international perspectives. The text also identifies the risks and advantages of affective teaching, and how they have been addressed by a variety of nursing educators and encourages reflective practices that help students gain inner awareness. It will be a valuable addition to the teaching arsenal of nurse educators who wish to go beyond the objective domain of teaching to explore the enriching possibilities of subjective knowing. Key Features: Provides the most authoritative information available on affective teaching in nursing Supports NLN's and AACN's nurse educator competencies to achieve desired outcomes in the cognitive, affective, and psychomotor areas of learning Clarifies affective pedagogy, how to discuss it, and what it implies for teaching success Addresses philosophy, taxonomy, teaching infrastructure needs, affective teaching models, and assessment tools Covers the use of affective pedagogy with distance learning and at conferences...
ISBN: 9780826117922Publication Date: (2013) Springer Publishing Company
eBook Databases
EBSCOhost e-Books
EBSCOhost e-Books (formerly NetLibrary) is a collection of more than 60,000 eBooks (books that have been digitized and are available online). Netlibrary is a great place to look for in-depth information on a topic.
|
Access Medicine
Provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted resources ; includes clinical case files, self-assessment questions, and textbooks such as Harrison's Online, Hurst's The Heart, Principles of Critical Care and the Lange series.
|
MD Consult
Full text of over 50 medical reference book, over 80 journals and Clinics of North America. Also includes peer-reviewed practice guidelines, patient handouts which you can customize, and drug information is provided by Gold Standard.
|
Merck Manual
A series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers that provides guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions. |
