UCF Research Guides: *Marketing and Consumer Behavior: Home

Key Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (1971+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From population and Census data to housing expenditures, users of DemographicsNow will have access to demographic information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more.

Run an unlimited number of reports in summary, comparison or ranking formats.

Compare statistics from multiple geographies in tabular format for easy analysis.
Summarize demographic information on a single geographic area or group multiple geographies into a single value.
Rank multiple geographies using a single demographic variable

See Research Guide for tips.
IBISWorld - Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
A collection of Industry Market Research. Includes Industry Reports (NAICS) and Industry iExpert Summaries for the United States.
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
International industry and company information, including SWOT profiles.
Additionally, some MarketLine reports are available via Business Source Premier.
To manually search MarketLine reports via EBSCOhost, connect to Business Source Premier, search for "Marketline" and then use the left column filter to limit Publisher to "Marketline"
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Contains full text market research reports covering U.S. and global consumer markets, with an emphasis on European and U.S. markets.
Each report analyzes market share, segmentation, and trends along with providing comprehensive demographic profiles and consumer patterns.

Check out this short "Intro to Mintel" video made by the Indiana University Libraries

APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+) This link opens in a new window
The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
"contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage
RKMA eBooks This link opens in a new window
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes 12 biennial market research handbooks for the following markets: restaurant, food & beverage; sports; consumer; consumer behavior; international consumer; business-to-business; consumer use of the internet & mobile web; healthcare business; retail business; entertainment, media & advertising; leisure business; and travel & tourism.
SimplyAnalytics (Geographic Research) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics "enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and marketing data."
NOTE: Limited to 5 simultaneous users
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. content includes:
- Census, 1790-2020+
- Crime, 2010+
- Elections, 2012+
- Environmental Summaries, 2001, 2006, 2011
- Religion, 1850-1870; 1990-2020
See Research Guide for tips.
UCF subscription now allows for unlimited simultaneous access!
International content includes:
- World Development Indicators, 1960-2015
- European Statistics, 1990-2014
- UK Census, 2011
- Canadian Census, 2011
- Ireland Religion Data, 1911-2001

Consumer Expenditure Survey

Consumer Expenditure Surveys (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
"The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) is a nationwide household survey conducted by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) to find out how Americans spend their money. It is the only federal government survey that provides information on the complete range of consumers’ expenditures as well as their incomes and demographic characteristics."
more...less...
"The CE consists of estimates derived from two separate surveys, the Interview Survey and the Diary Survey. The Quarterly Interview Survey is designed to collect data on large and recurring expenditures that consumers can be expected to recall for a period of 3 months or longer, such as rent and utilities, and the Diary Survey is designed to collect data on small, frequently purchased items, including most food and clothing. Together, the data from the two surveys cover the complete range of consumers’ expenditures."