Government Information Librarian
Students: Login to Get Off-Campus Access
If you have already logged in to other campus resources with your NID then you should already be able to access most library resources, but if prompted you might have to enter your NID and password again for some library resources.
Research Guides
Research Guides are created by UCF librarians to inform you of the resources we have in your research area and tips on how to use them.
Census - E-Stats: Measuring the Electronic Economy
- "E-commerce data were collected in four separate Census Bureau surveys. These surveys used different measures of economic activity such as shipments for manufacturing, sales for wholesale and retail trade, and revenues for service industries. Consequently, measures of total economic and e-commerce activity vary by economic sector, are conceptually and definitionally different, and therefore, are not additive.
- The Census Bureau’s e-commerce measures report the value of goods and services sold online whether over open networks such as the Internet, or over proprietary networks running systems such as Electronic Data Interchange (EDI).
- This report does not cover agriculture, mining, construction, agents, brokers, and electronic markets in wholesale trade."
Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (1971+)
This link opens in a new window
Covers advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, business conditions, trends, corporate strategies & tactics, management techniques, competitive & product information, company histories & new product development
Search ABI/INFORM for magazine, journal, and news articles, also company annual reports and reports on industries and markets from the following sources: Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports, First Research (D&B), and Just-Series Market Research Report.
- Business Insights (Gale) (1980+)A collection of company & industry information, including articles, financials, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and chronologies
(formerly Business & Company Resource Center) - Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)Covers management, economics, finance, banking, investment, and related fields. Full text included for nearly 2,300 journals.
- DemographicsNow (Gale Business)
- This link opens in a new window
"A comprehensive web-based solution offering up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information."
See Research Guide for tips.
Use DemographicsNow to make maps of consumer expenditures, market segments, forecasts & other demographics. Also create comparison reports for up to 16 geographies. See the Comparison with Other Resources chart to see whether this, American FactFinder, Social Explorer, or SimplyMap is most suitable for your needs.
- Hoover's Online*Hoovers was sunset on 12/31/2018. It is replaced by Mergent Intellect by FTSE Russell.
- IBISWorld - Industry Market ResearchA collection of Industry Market Research. Includes Industry Reports (NAICS) and Industry iExpert Summaries for the United States.
IBISWorld provides comprehensive reports for 700 U.S. industries. Each report covers Key External Drivers, Barriers to Entry, Key Success Factors, Life Cycle stage, Competitive Landscape, and list of "Major Companies" including each company's market share.
- Nexis Uni - Company Dossier
- This link opens in a new window
Links to Nexis Business pages. Scroll down for Company Dossier options.
Search for information about specific companies, executives, or industries. Create a company list based on criteria such as NAICS industry classification or geographic location.
- Snapshot: Executives, company hierarchy, brands, competitors
- Financials: M&A, analyst reports, SEC filings, investment research, and corporate affiliations
- Legal cases, intellectual property such as patents and trademarks
Dossier Compare Companies
- Enter names/tickers for up to 5 companies to compare
Create a Company List will create a spreadsheet with ALL businesses in an area + contact information.
- GlobalData ExplorerInternational industry and company information, including SWOT profiles.
Additionally, some MarketLine reports are available via Business Source Premier.
The industry reports include market value, market volume, and market share.
Also has case studies and country reports; good for SWOT analyses, company view--mission, goals--and history under Company reports. Has clear-cut link to Porter's Five Forces, appears in Industry reports.
- Mintel AcademicContains full text market research reports covering U.S. and global consumer markets, with an emphasis on European and U.S. markets.
- NetAdvantage (S&P)Database for searching information on stocks, companies, industries and mutual funds. Access to nine of the most popular S&P publications including Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, and The Outlook.
Industry Surveys. Each report begins with a survey of the current environment followed by an industry profile, a discussion of industry trends, how the industry operates, key industry ratios and statistics, an invaluable section detailing how to analyze a company in the industry, and concluding with a glossary, industry references, and comparative company financials.
- Statistical Insight (ProQuest)Provides some full text & indexes all types of statistical publications:
- American Statistics Index (ASI) (1974+)
- Statistical Reference Index (SRI) (1980+)
- Index to International Statistics (IIS) (1983+)
includes reports from the Pew Internet & American Life Project
- SimplyAnalytics (Geographic Research)
- This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics "enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and marketing data."
NOTE: Limited to 5 simultaneous users - Entrepreneurship (Gale Business)"Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites."
