Literature Criticism Databases
- Literature Criticism Online (Gale)Contemporary Literary Criticism Online covers more than 3,000 authors currently active or active during the later 20th century.
Almost 95% of critical essays from the print series Contemporary Literary Criticism Online are reproduced in full in this online collection, which combines multiple search and browse options with an engaging format that matches the look and content of the print originals.
Clear and accessible introductory essays are followed by carefully selected critical responses to help users engage with a variety of scholarly views and literary conversations. Anyone seeking a deeper understanding of contemporary literature will find this resource valuable.
- MagillOnLiterature Plus (EBSCOhost)MagillOnLiterature Plus, produced by Salem Press, is the premier literary database, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. This database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) (1926+)Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Books
Routledge Handbook of Asian TheatreCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- PN2860.R68 2016Part I: Traditional theatre in Asia (Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Indonesian)
Part II: Dimensions of traditional Asian theatre: Dance (India, China, Tibet, Uyghur, Japan, Korea, Southeast Asia, Cambodia) -- Music (India, China, Tibet, Uyghur, Japan, Korea, Southeast Asia) -- Masks (Tibet, Korea, Japan, Southeast Asia) -- Puppets -- Costume & makeup (India, China, Japan, Southeast Asia) -- Architecture & stage (India, China, Japan, Southeast Asia)
Part III: Modern theatre in Asia (Indian, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal & Sri Lanka, Japanese, Chinese, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Korea, North Korea, mainland Southeast Asia, Thailand, Burma /Myanmar, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, maritime Southeast Asia, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore)
Part IV: Perspectives of modern & contemporary Asia theatre: The beginning of spoken theatre in Asia: colonialism & colonial modernity (India, Indonesia, Japan, China) -- Gender performance & the rise of actresses in traditional Asian theatre (India, Japan, China, Southeast Asia, case study Indonesian dalang) -- Gender performance & the rise of actresses in modern Asian theatre (India, Japan, China, Korea, Southeast Asia) -- Modern Asian theatre & indigenous performances (India, Japan, China, Korea, Southeast Asia) -- Traditional Asian performance in modern & contemporary times (India, Japan, China, Korea, Southeast Asia) -- Intercultural theatre & Shakespeare productions in Asia (India, Japan, Sinophone theatres - China, Hong Kong & Taiwan, Southeast Asia) -- Modern musicals in Asia (Japan, China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Korea, Southeast Asia)
Topics
- Girish Karnad
- Ram Lila and Ras Lila