Practice Exercises 1
ENC3311 Library Module
|
 |
OED: Oxford English Dictionary
Let’s try another search for definitions in a different database. OED is an etymological dictionary which provides a definition and history of the term, root words, quotations involving the term, and a timeline depicting the date and context in which a term was used. Our topic is 'citizenship'
Start by going to http://library.ucf.edu/ and login with your activated 14 digit Library ID number and Pin. Click on ‘O’ in the alphabetical line under the “You have logged in” text. Find and click on OED: Oxford English Dictionary.
Type the term citizenship in the Find Word box.
You should see a definition accompanied by the pronunciation and several quotations with corresponding dates. The author's names and the title of the referenced book or work are also listed next to each entry.
Click on Thesaurus to view synonymns of the term. Go to the Historical Thesaurus to see a detailed view with etymologies. Click on Citizenship again to return to the original record.
Scroll up to the Etymology button to view links to the root words and their entries, as well as the date and context in which each term was used.
*Now type in a term that you would like to use for your extended definition essay… make the definition in OED your first posting for this assignment.
Close the window when finished.
Credo Reference
Planning an exploratory search on a topic and don’t know where to start? Credo Reference (formerly xRefer Plus) is a great database if you want general information on a topic, as it contains hundreds of credible subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference sources.
To access Credo Reference, go to http://library.ucf.edu/Databases/ and login with EZProxy as above. Click on ‘C’ in the alphabetical line under the “Successfully logged in” text. Find and click on Let’s start out with a basic search:
Type citizenship in the search box and click 'Search'. Notice how many results you receive.
Narrow the search by adding and global in the search box so your query looks like ‘citizenship and global’.
Click 'Search' again. From the results screen, scroll down and click on the record “Global citizenship and cosmopolitanism” in Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature.
Notice the email and printer-friendly options on the right hand side.
At the bottom of the page, click on 'MLA' to see a citation example. Also, consider using the new, easier MLA Guidelines, as found in the online UCF Libraries MLA Style Guide: http://libguides.lib.ucf.edu/content.php?pid=54398&sid=399069.