Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

ENC 3311 - Expository Writing: Practice 2

Practice Exercises 2

ENC3311 Library Module
Practice Exercise 2 (Articles & Databases)

 

 

Academic Search Premier

Here’s an example of an exploratory search for journal articles on the issue of global citizenship:

From the UCF Library homepage http://library.ucf.edu , click Quick Links, then “Articles & Databases”.

Login with EZProxy using your 14 digit library ID number and PIN. Click on ‘A’ in the alphabetical line under the "Successfully Logged In" text. Find and click on Academic Search Premier.

  • Type global citizenship in the first box and click Search. 

 How many hits did you get?

  • On the right hand side of the results page, click on Show More.
  • Change the search mode to Boolean/Phrase so that you search these terms as a phrase. Click Search.
  • On the left hand side of the Results Screen, find Source Types. Check Academic Journals and click 'Update' to limit the results to scholarly journals.

Click on the title “Global citizenship education, school curriculum and games: Learning Mathematics, English and Science as a global citizen”.

  • In the article record, find the journal title, volume, issue, and page numbers (Computers & Education; Nov2008, Vol. 51 Issue 3, p1073-1093) located next to ‘Source’ on the left hand side.
  • On the right hand side are options to Print, Email or Save the article. Click on the icon that looks like a light yellow sheet of paper ("cite") to view suggested citation formats.

Keep in mind that not every database-generated citation is 100% accurate. Look at the MLA example, based on the new MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, Seventh Edition and the online UCF Libraries MLA Style Guide: http://libguides.lib.ucf.edu/content.php?pid=54398&sid=399069 for more information regarding the correct format for journal article citations.

  • Go back to the article record in Academic Search Premier. Note that a full text option (for this article) does not appear in the results list or the article record.
  • Click on the Get Full Text button. SFX (Get Full Text) links the resources of UCF databases together. So, if one database does not provide the full-text of an article, try the Get Full Text button to see a list of other UCF databases that may provide full-text. Please note that that full-text is not necessarily provided for all articles via SFX; use the SFX Interlibrary loan link as another option.
  • A new window should open up. Click on Science Direct to view the full text. See the right hand side for PDF and HTML full text options

Close out the pop-up windows to go back to the article record. When finished, click on Return to Results List in the upper left hand corner.

Scroll up and click on the article “Climate Change and Global Citizenship” by Paul Harris. Click on 'PDF Full Text’ to view the entire article.

Log out when finished.

CIAO

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a joint effort of Columbia University libraries and Columbia University Press and is a comprehensive source of information for theory and research in international affairs.

To access CIAO, login with EZProxy as above. Click on ‘C’ in the alphabetical line under the “Successfully logged in” text. Find and click on CIAO.

  • Click on Advanced Search in the upper right hand corner. Type citizenship rights in the first search box.
  • Before pressing search, let’s limit our results to documents published within the past five years. Change the Dates field to Publication date between 2005-01 and 2011-02.
  •  Click Search.

How many results did you get?

  • At the top of the page, click on Search Within Results.
  • Type European Union in the box and click Search.

How many results do you get now?

In the search results list, click on the working paper "Strangers as Enemies: Further Reflections on the Aporias of Transnational Citizenship" written by Étienne Balibar.

Click on the PDF link at the bottom of the page to retrieve the full text.

Logout when finished. FYI: the CIAO homepage also contains a detailed atlas with integrated political and economic reports, in addition to other neat features.

Academic OneFile 

Let’s do a search in the Academic OneFile Database

Login with EZProxy as above. Click on ‘A’ in the alphabetical line under the “Successfully logged in” text. Find and click on Academic OneFile.

  • Type citizenship in the first row.
  • Put emigration or immigration in the second row. (search hint: try putting synonyms on the same row and connect with OR)
  • Type world or global in the bottom row.
  • Click Search.

The first set of results should be listed under the ‘Academic Journals’ tab.

 

Scroll down and click on the article "Towards transnational studies: world theories, transnationalisation and changing institutions.”

Notice the ‘Related Subjects’ on the left hand side panel. You can click on one of the subjects (such as “Immigration Law”) to view results related to that topic.

You can also view other publication types (such as magazines or newspaper articles by clicking on the blue tabs in the middle of the page.

Log out (top right) when finished. 

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography is another database with a global scope. Our example topic is ‘the relationship between cultural or ethnic identity and citizenship’.

To access MLA International Bibliography, login with EZProxy as above. Click on ‘M’ in the alphabetical line under the “Successfully logged in” text. Find and click on MLA International Bibliography.

Try a search string using keywords drawn from your topic, such as the following:

  • Type Cultur* or ethnic in the first row (search hint: use the asterisk to cover for different endings of the term, such as culture, cultures and cultural).
  • Type Citizenship in the second row.
  • Put Identit* in the third row and click Search
  •  On the left hand side of the results screen, narrow your results by changing the ‘Source Type’ to Journal Articles.

Scroll down and click on “When Does a Settler Become a Native? Citizenship and Identity in a Settler Society” by Pal Ahluwalia.

Notice where to “Print, Email, and Save” results. Click on ‘PDF Full Text’ to view the entire article.

When finished, click on Results List in the upper left hand corner.

Return the libraries home page by clicking on ‘University of Central Florida’ in the top right corner.

PAIS International

PAIS International is a database that indexes articles and other resources about public policy/public affairs from over 120 countries throughout the world.

To access the PAIS International database, login with EZProxy as above. Click on ‘P’ in the alphabetical line under the “Successfully logged in” text. Find and click on PAIS International.

  • Click on the advanced search tab.
  • Put global OR international OR world in the first row. Leave the field as 'All Fields + Text'.
  • Type Citizenship in the second box. Change the field to 'Abstract - AB'.
  • Type Education in the third (bottom) box. Leave the field as ''Abstract - AB'.

Scroll down and click on “Citizenship, Citizenship Education, and the State in China in a Global Age" by Wing-Wah Law.

Click on Get Full Text button.

Click on Informaworld Journals. Try Academic Search Premier if the InformaWorld Journals link doesn’t work.

Click on View Article (PDF).

Logout when finished.