ENC 3311 - Expository Writing: 5. PAIS International

General Information:

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Source) International contains more than 625,000 records from more than 4,000 sources and covers the period from 1972 to the present. Topics include social conditions and policy, politics, law and ethics, government, human rights, population groups and demographics, trade and trade policy, and more.

Search Tips:

Use the Boolean search operators AND, OR, or NOT to improve your search. Use the * symbol to truncate your search terms.

Using the Advanced Search screen simplifies field searching, makes your search more precise, and allows you to specify display options.

Several Search Tool options, such as a Thesaurus, are listed at the bottom of the Advanced Search screen or when you click the Search Tool tab. A Thesaurus allows you to search and browse the thesaurus available for this particular database. You can browse for terms via a hierarchical, alphabetical, or rotated index display.

Combine Searches enables you to combine results from two or more searches

History displays up to 50 searches conducted during your current session

Indexes have an alphabetical listing of terms used in a specific field of a database. For PAIS (Public Affairs Information Source) International, the indexes are author, journal name, and publication type.

Records are displayed in the format of your choice. Select one of the tabs (journals, peer-reviewed journals, books, etc.) to sort results by publication type. Clicking on View Record provides the complete information, including the references provided in the bibliography. Clicking on Table of Contents provides a listing of the articles found in that particular issue of the journal.

Save, Print, Email from the records list results acts on the records only, not the full-text. To save, print, or email the full text, you must work within the PDF, Adobe Acrobat options.

For More Help:

For more information on how to search in ‘PAIS’, click on the ‘Search Tips’ hyperlink located below the search box(es) on the left hand side. The ‘Search Tips’ menu includes links to tips on performing searches, reviewing results, and how to use the advanced search.

You may also seek assistance from the Ask a Librarian service http://library.ucf.edu/Ask. A toll free phone number is available. Feel free to email the UCF Librarians via course mail for more help.