NUR 3825 Role of the Professional Nurse: Library Card Number

To check out books or other materials from the UCF Library in Orlando, to request articles or books using Interlibrary Loan, or to remotely access most of the library’s electronic databases, you must have a current, active UCF library card number. If you have a UCF student ID card, your library card number is the 14-digit number listed at the bottom front of the card. UCF student ID cards are provided at most UCF campuses.

You can go to the UCF Card Office on the Orlando campus, which is located in room #104 of the John T. Washington Center across from the UCF Bookstore. 

You can get a card from the following main and regional campus locations: http://library.ucf.edu/Regionals/Services.asp

If you prefer, you can also obtain a UCF student ID card by mail. You will need to send a passport quality photo, a copy of your driver’s license, a copy of your social security card, and a check for $15.00 to:

UCF Card Services
P.O. Box 160056
Orlando, FL 32816-0056

Complete information for obtaining a card by mail can be found online at UCF Card for Distance Learners (http://www.ucfcard.ucf.edu/ - look for information in FAQ) or you can contact the UCF Card Office at (407) 823-2100.

If you are unable to visit a campus to get a UCF ID and you are a UCF distance learner, or if you are unable to get a UCF ID, you may request a library ID number. The ID number can be used to access UCF Electronic Resources and other library services. To request a library card number from the UCF Library, fill out the online Library ID Number Request Form (http://library.ucf.edu/Circulation/ID/IDRequestForm.asp). Note that you will need to provide the registration number (the “key” number) for the distance or distributed learning course you are taking, or a reason you were not able to get a UCF ID.

You can also call the UCF Library Circulation Desk at (407) 823-2580 if you have questions about your UCF card. Activation of the card is no longer necessary.

Most of the electronic resources available in the UCF library are also available from off-campus on your home PC. These electronic resources include approximately 325 databases, 24,000 online journals and more than 186,000 electronic books. However, use of these resources is restricted to currently registered students; therefore, access from off-campus requires authentication.

The easiest and recommended method of remote access is to use the EZProxy. From the UCF Library Articles & Databases (http://library.ucf.edu/Databases) web page, enter your Library ID number (your Library ID number is on your UCF card) and the new default password is the last 4 digits of your PID. For example, if your PID is b123456, then your password is 3456. (Note to returning students: Your password may be the last four digits of your SSN.) Click the Login button, and then click “Yes” to accept the Security Alert(s). .

Wait until you see a message “Successfully logged in”, then from the alphabetical listing of databases, click on the database you want to search. To make sure EZProxy is active, check to see that the URL address contains “ezproxy.library.ucf.edu”.

Should you encounter problems with the EZProxy contact the UCF Ask a Librarian http://library.ucf.edu/Ask/default.asp service by telephone at (407) 823-2562 or toll free at (866) 271-7589 for assistance.

You no longer need to manually activate your card. The library ID number should work to login to the library databases when you receive it.

If you are having difficulty logging in from off campus, you can call the UCF Orlando Library Circulation Desk at (407) 823-2580, email the library at circ@mail.ucf.edu, or call the Ask a Librarian service at 407-823-2562 for assistance.

For more detailed information about off campus access, you can view this short video:

http://library.ucf.edu/Reference/Videos/Common/Overview/Overview.asp