Practice Exercise 2 - CINAHL Headings
CINAHL Headings:
Let’s try a search for articles which discusses the role of the nurse practitioner.
From the UCF Library homepage http://library.ucf.edu , click on Articles & Databases and Login. Scroll down to ‘Health and Nursing’ and select ‘Nursing’. Find and click on CINAHL.
Select CINAHL Headings at the top of the page.
Type Nurse Practitioner in the ‘Browse for’ box. Click Browse.
Click on Nurse Practitioners (blue hyperlink). Notice the tree view in the left hand side that Nurse Practitioners is one of several specialties listed under the subject heading ‘Advance Practice Nurses’, and that you also could choose specific nurse practitioner subjects headings if you wished.
Check the box next to Nurse Practitioners (just above the tree view). This will add the subject heading for 'Nurse Practitioners' to the top search box.
Click Search Database.
Type the phrase "critical care" or icu (including the quotation marks) in the second box. Leave the field as ‘Select a Field’.
Click Search.
On the left hand side of the results page under 'Narrow Results by', click on Nursing Role.
Find the article, “Matching service need with staff development: a project management experience.” Click on the title (blue hyperlink) to go to the full record.
1. Is this article in a peer reviewed journal?
a. Yes
b. No
Hint: To determine if an article is ‘Peer Reviewed’ (reviewed by a panel of experts or peers), scroll down and look at the ‘Journal Subset’ field.
Click on the Get Full Text link. Next, click on the link for Wiley Interscience to retrieve the full text.
2. What is the volume and issue of the journal for this article?
a. Volume 1, Issue 38
b. Volume 38, Issue 1
c. Volume 31, Issue 6
d. Volume 14, Issue 2
Close the SFX links and click on the link for ‘Univ. Of Central Florida’ in the top right corner to exit CINAHL.
Practice Exercise 2 - CINAHL Advanced Search
CINAHL via EBSCOhost – Advanced Search
Login through ARTICLES & DATABASES as above.
After you login, select CINAHL.
- Type job satisfaction or retention or mentor* in the first search line (including the asterisk).
- Leave the field as ‘Select a Field’ (this is similar to a ‘keyword’ or ‘Default Fields’ search).
- Type nurs* shortage in the second line (including the asterisk).
- Type (new or graduate) and nurses in the third line.
Look below the search boxes and change the Search Mode to Boolean
Click on Search. You should get about 225 results.
On the left hand side, click on Show More (under Refine Your Results).
Then check the box next to Peer Reviewed. Also, change the Journal Subset to Nursing. Click Search again.
From the results screen, scroll down and find the article, “Changing tides: improving outcomes through mentorship on all levels of nursing.”
Click on the Get Full Text 
button.
NOTE: ‘Get Full Text’(also known as SFX) links the resources of UCF databases together. So, if one database does not provide the full-text of an article, click on the ‘Get Full Text’ button to see a list of other UCF databases that may provide full-text. Please note that that full-text is not necessarily provided for all articles via SFX (‘Get Full Text’); use the SFX Interlibrary loan link as another option.
A new window should open. Which database is identified as potentially providing full text for this article?
Next, click on the link to retrieve the full text. Click on the link for ‘Univ. Of Central Florida’ in the top right corner to exit CINAHL.