Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

Women's and Gender Studies

Core Journals

The following journals are devoted exclusively to all aspects Women's and Gender Studies.
 
Peer-reviewed, scholarly social work journal addressing the concerns of social workers and their clients from a feminist point of view.
 
Provides a multi-disciplinary international forum for the presentation of feminist scholarship and criticism in the fields of humanities and social sciences.
 
Promotes cutting–edge feminist scholarship both within and beyond conventional academic disciplines. This includes discussion of feminist pedagogy; reports on local, national and international conferences; analyses of government, trade union, and United Nations policies that concern women; discussion in cultural, post-colonial and trans-national studies that involve feminist analyses.
 
Features up-to-date and accessible theme-base discussion on a very wide range of global issues and their impact on the lives of women in Canada and around the world.
 
Critical Matrix (1985-2009)
Feminist journal on gender and culture, publishing both traditional scholarship and new work that might encounter resistance within established disciplines.
 
Highlights theoretical debates across the disciplines that address the ways concepts and categories of difference—notably but not exclusively gender—operate within culture.
 
Focuses on the nature of the complex relationship between women and the diverse regions and meanings of Europe.
 
An international peer reviewed journal that provides a forum for debate at the interface between feminism and psychology.
 
Contains news and reviews of the latest print, audiovisual, and computer resources for research and teaching in women's studies.
 
Feminist Formations (2010+)
Formerly called the NWSA Journal, published by the National Women's Studies Association. A leading journal for innovative work in women’s, gender, and sexuality studies.
 
Committed to an international perspective and to the promotion of feminist work in all areas of law, legal theory, and legal practice. The journal publishes material in a range of formats, including articles, essay reviews, interviews, book reviews and notes on recent legal developments.
 
Contains scholarly research, essays, art book reviews, and poetry, fiction, and creative narrative pertaining to the feminist experience in the social sciences, history, politics, and literature.
 
Invites critical reflection on the relationship between materiality and representation, theory and practice, subjectivity and communities, contemporary and historical formations.
 
Encourages submission in all areas of women studies that cross and/or re-examine boundaries and that explore the diversity of women's lives as shaped by factors such as race, ethnicity, class, sexual orientation, and place.
 
Official publication of Sociologists for Women in Society.
 
Gender Forum (2002+)
The discussion of gender-related topics in the fields of literary and cultural production, media and the arts as well as politics, the natural sciences, medicine, law, philosophy, and religion.
 
Publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.
 
Recognizes the historical roots of feminist philosophy; created to help end sexism and provide a sense of relevancy to feminism.
 
Provides a holistic understanding of society, analyzing changing social attitudes and academic biases that obstruct a holistic understanding of contributions to the family, community, and the wider polity.
 
A unique cross-cultural and international forum to foster debate and dialogue at the intersection of international relations, politics and women's studies.
 
The first peer-reviewed professional quarterly to publish articles on bisexuality and its meaning for the individual, the community, and society.
 
Provides a forum for discussion among women and men of differing feminist perspectives as well as highlighting feminist scholarship in religion.
 
An internationally acclaimed, peer-reviewed publication devoted to publishing a wide variety of disciplinary and interdisciplinary scholarship to foster a thorough understanding of the complexities, nuances, and the multifaceted aspects of sexuality and gender. Includes articles on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer studies.
 
Provides a forum for scholars, activists and students to explore the relationship between feminist theory and various forms of organizing. It aims to create an opportunity for building bridges across the conventional divides of scholarship and activism; western and third world feminists; professionals and students; men and women.
 
Publishes research articles on the cultural, historical, and interpersonal impact of the lesbian experience on society. Interdisciplinary in scope.
 
Publishest research—both theoretical and empirical—in the emergent men’s studies field. The journal’s cross-disciplinary and cross-cultural character disseminates material by men’s studies scholars from various perspectives (political, social, cultural, and historical) as well as various disciplines (anthropology, sociology, history, psychology, literature, theology).
 
Aims to enhance the fields of Middle East women's studies, gender studies, and Middle East studies through contributions from multiple disciplines in the social sciences and humanities.
 
Contains scholarly and literary articles, reviews of new scholarship in the field of Jewish women's and gender studies and the arts.
 
Publishes original research articles, short communications, and review essays within women's studies.
 
Published by the National Women's Studies Association, offers research linking feminist theory with teaching and activism. Continued by Feminist Formations (above).
 
Aims to represent the full range of questions, issues, and approaches on gender and women across the major subfields of political science, including comparative politics, international relations, political theory, and U.S. politics.
 
Devoted to the dissemination of scholarship that advances the psychology of men and masculinities. This discipline is defined broadly as the study of how boys' and men's lives are connected to both gender and sex as well as the cultural and individual meanings associated with boys and men.
 
Published by the Division of the Psychology of Women of the of American Psychological Association (APA). Feminist, scientific, peer-reviewed journal that publishes empirical research, critical reviews and theoretical articles that advance a field of inquiry, brief reports on timely topics, teaching briefs, and invited book reviews related to the psychology of women and gender.
 
Examines the theories and methodologies from a variety of disciplines and provides important links between feminist theory and the realities of women's lives.
 
The journal for incisive analyses of gender, politics, and policy across the globe.
 
Offers a high-profile venue for innovative research and scholarship that contest the objectification, pathologization, and exoticization of transgender lives.
 
The official journal of the Jacobs Institute of Women's Health, this is a peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal that publishes research and review manuscripts related to women's health care and policy.
 
The premier feminist book review. Reviews scholarship as well as fiction, graphic novels, poetry, and memoir usually (but not always) by women. Published by the Wellesley College Centers for Women.
 
Provides a forum for the presentation of scholarship and criticism about women in the fields of literature, history, art, sociology, law, political science, economics, anthropology and science.
 
Formerly titled the Women's Studies International Quarterly (1978-1981). A forum for the distribution and exchange of feminist research in the multidisciplinary, international area of women's studies and feminist research in other disciplines.
 
The articles in this journal regularly include analytic reviews of research, theoretical articles pertaining to social work research, evaluation studies, and research studies that contribute to knowledge about social work issues and problems.

Scholarly or "Peer-Reviewed" Articles

Many journal databases have the capability to limit searches so that only scholarly or "peer-reviewed" articles are in the results list. Many instructors specify that only these types of articles (as opposed to articles that appear in popular magazines) may be used in students' papers and presentations. Scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles have the following characteristics:

> Reviewed by a panel of experts before they are accepted for publication

> Written by a scholar or specialist in the field

> Contain footnotes and/or references

> Frequently contain diagrams and charts but few glossy pictures

> Report on original research or experimentation

> Published by professional associations

> Employ terminology associated with the discipline

Journal Directories

DOAJ contains a list of approximately 1,300 journals that are freely available on the Internet. It aims to be comprehensive and covers all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
 
Magazines for Libraries, 15th ed.
Main Library Reference PN 4832 .32
Annotates and evaluates over 6,500 periodicals. Arrangement by subject with title and subject indexes.
 
A comprehensive directory of  journals, listing periodicals from many countries, arranged by category or subject focus. Entries usually include title, subtitle, sponsoring organization or publisher, editorial emphasis, date of origin, frequency, price, circulation, editors, place of publication, and where the title is indexed or abstracted.