Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning in the Travel Industry by Ben Vinod (Editor)Over the past decade, Artificial Intelligence has proved invaluable in a range of industry verticals such as automotive and assembly, life sciences, retail, oil and gas, and travel. The leading sectors adopting AI rapidly are Financial Services, Automotive and Assembly, High Tech and Telecommunications. Travel has been slow in adoption, but the opportunity for generating incremental value by leveraging AI to augment traditional analytics driven solutions is extremely high. The contributions in this book, originally published as a special issue for the Journal of Revenue and Pricing Management, showcase the breadth and scope of the technological advances that have the potential to transform the travel experience, as well as the individuals who are already putting them into practice.
Publication Date: 2023-05-27
Global Perspectives on Human Rights and the Impact of Tourism Consumption in the 21st Century by Maximiliano E Korstanje (Editor); Vanessa G. B. Gowreesunkar (Editor)Global Perspectives on Human Rights and the Impact of Tourism Consumption in the 21st Century is an essential reference book for those concerned with the interaction between tourism consumption, social justice, and human rights. With chapters covering topics such as human trafficking, geospatial discrimination, gentrification theory, violence, racism, child sex tourism, and the impact of COVID-19 on tourism and human rights, this book presents a rich conceptual debate on the impact of tourism consumption on human rights. It also provides practical solutions to promote sustainable tourism practices that respect and protect human rights, highlighting successful case studies where tourism has positively contributed to human rights. The book emphasizes that human rights violations in the tourism industry can no longer be ignored, and it's our responsibility to take action to ensure that tourism practices respect and protect the fundamental rights of all individuals involved. By implementing the solutions provided in this book, we can work together to promote sustainable tourism practices that benefit everyone involved and create a more equitable and just world. In conclusion, this book is a must-read for those concerned with promoting social justice, human rights, and sustainable tourism practices.
Publication Date: 2023-06-06
Migration, Tourism and Social Sustainability by Jaeyeon Choe (Editor); Peter Lugosi (Editor)The distinctions between tourism and migration are increasingly blurred. Tourism often drives various forms of mobility, and an international workforce is essential to maintaining functioning tourism economies. This book explores intersections of tourism and migration, considering their relationships with and impacts on social sustainability. The chapters explore in a variety of contexts how the planning, development and governance of tourism affects the sustainability of communities, which consequently influences attitudes towards migrants and tourists. They also consider how migrant-local connections may evolve, creating opportunities for positive, symbiotic co-existence or intergroup tensions and exploitative relationships. The book paves the way for future work examining new forms and interactions between migration and tourism that contribute to social sustainability. This book will be of great value to students, academics, and researchers interested in tourism, geography, migration/diaspora studies and sociology. The chapters in this book were originally published as a special issue of Tourism Geographies.
Call Number: JV 6035.M547 2023
Publication Date: 2023-03-21
Managing the Smart Revolution in Tourism Firms by Francisco Navarro-MenesesSmart Technologies are revolutionizing tourism, as they promise to change the way tourists behave and how companies interact with them and generate profits. The increasing availability of real-time data in combination with advanced machine learning techniques, artificial intelligence and business analytics, to name but a few, will transform the tourism industry forever and in unthinkable ways. The degree of sophistication achieved by Smart Technologies and the speed with which transformations are taking place means that those people lacking a relevant digital background may lag behind, therefore being unable to take advantage of the opportunities offered by the data economy and fully benefit from its applications. This practical book explains the key ideas that tourism practitioners and decision-makers must know to understand Smart Technologies, and the management principles supporting them. The contents: · Include real-life cases to illustrate to the reader the true dimension of the "smart" phenomenon and the new frontiers that are yet to open in the coming years · Bring together the knowledge and experience of leading experts from the academia, tourism sector and technology companies, who reveal, in a unified way, the fundamental points your organization must consider in the path towards being smarter · Create a practical knowledge tool that allows getting the most out of Smart Technologies, its products and future trends, while learning how to make them a competitive tool, and avoid being left behind · Features full colour figures and photographs The book will be a vital resource for Tourism practitioners, strategic planners and policy makers as well as students of tourism marketing, management and technology
Call Number: G 156.5.I5 N38 2023
Publication Date: 2023-05-09
Handbook of Tourism and Small Island States in the Pacific by Marcus L. StephensonThis timely handbook critically examines the development and role of tourism in small Pacific Island states located across Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia. The volume presents an expansive evaluation of current issues, challenges and potentialities for the 13 self-governing states. Interdisciplinary in coverage and borne of a varied and international authorship, this handbook incorporates 27 specifically commissioned and original contributions. Structured into four thematic sections and embellished with insightful tables and illustrations throughout, the overarching ethos of this volume is to contribute to framing the role of tourism, tourism development and the tourism industry within the context of self-governing Pacific Island states faced with the challenge of pursuing an independent path of development. In doing so, the work highlights and deciphers various tourism development perplexities in the Pacific, examining closely the intersecting sociocultural, geopolitical, environmental, organizational, operational and strategic challenges. This volume, thus, discusses a range of issues: facilitators and inhibitors of tourism growth and development; climate change, ecological concerns, and eco-tourism; non-tourism and undertourism; crisis management and the COVID-19 virus; transportation and tourism infrastructural concerns; tourism policy and planning (including tourism governance); sectoral links between tourism; food and agriculture; gender and micro-entrepreneurship; community management and participation; cultural and natural heritage sites; and the handicraft industry. The work pays critical attention to the various trajectories of sustainable tourism and the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. Despite the many challenges and concerns raised, the book implicates the importance of good governance, progressive post-COVID-19 recovery strategies and directives, and creative and imaginative options in the successful development, re-development and advancement of tourism. As a definitive reference resource for this subject area, this handbook will be of great interest to students, researchers and academics within tourism, development studies, geography, Pacific studies, sustainability and environmental studies.
Teaching Tourism: Innovation. Values-Based Learning Experiences for Transformative Practices by Johan Edelheim (Editor); Marion Joppe (Editor); Joan Flaherty (Editor)Tourism as an activity is increasingly being criticised for its exploitative and extractive industrial approaches to business. Yet, it has the power to transform and to regenerate societies, cultures and the environment. The desire to explore the world around us is deeply embedded in many people's psyche, but it comes at a cost to the environment and often to the residents of the visited communities. Much of tourism education has been closely linked to preparing students for future professional practice, but the challenges and opportunities linked to its consumption require that its future leaders must exhibit very different values and understandings to tackle ever more complex and wicked problems from which tourism cannot dissociate itself. This teaching guide brings together a compilation of values-based learning experiences that can be adapted to suit the needs and disposition of individual instructors. It aims not only to engage students in the subject matter but also deepen their understanding of its complexity and interconnectivity and help them become global citizens that lead lives of consequence. Academics and practitioners in higher education institutions around the world in many different disciplines will find the thought-provoking conversation starters and activities of help in encouraging students to take a multi- or post-disciplinary approach to explore tourism from a values perspective. Consultants and academics engaging community stakeholders in capacity building will value its practical, accessible information.
A Modern Guide to Tourism Economics by Robertico Croes (Editor); Yang Yang (Editor)Offering a kaleidoscope of economic perspectives, the Modern Guide looks at tourism economics from trade theory, choice theory, behavioural economics, public choice, institutional economics, environmental economics, developmental economics, cultural economics and more, with each chapter ending with insights into future research and directions.
Marketing Tourist Destinations in Emerging Economies by Ishmael Mensah (Editor); Kandappan Balasubramanian (Editor); Mohd Raziff Jamaluddin (Editor); Gina Alcoriza (Editor); Vanessa Gaffar (Editor); S. Mostafa Rasoolimanesh (Editor)While tourism is a key economic generator for many countries, emerging economies are confronted with additional challenges that those well-established destinations in North America, Australia and Europe normally don't have to contend with. The potential for terrorism, political unrest, natural disasters, accidents - not to mention epidemics - have the potential to derail tourism in emerging economies. To mitigate these risks, emerging destinations need well-coordinated management and marketing strategies. However, most texts on tourism destination marketing reflect destinations in more advanced countries. This book acknowledges the fact that emerging tourist destinations have unique characteristics and challenges, which have implications for destination marketing. Highlighting the marketing challenges, best practices and strategies relevant to emerging economies, this book covers core topics such as image creation and branding, destination marketing during crises and pandemics, market segmentation and the travel decision making process among others. Providing up to date knowledge on an otherwise under-explored topic, this collection is ideal reading for upper-level students, researchers and policymakers.
Publication Date: 2022
Pandemics, Disasters, Sustainability, Tourism : An Examination of Impact on and Resilience in Caribbean Small Island Developing States by Ian Bethell-Bennett (Editor); Sophia A. Rolle (Editor); Jessica Minnis (Editor); Fevzi Okumus (Editor)Caribbean small island developing states (SIDS) have witnessed great upheaval and change over the last decade and a half - from the global economic recession of 2008, the 2010 and 2021 earthquakes in Haiti, to hurricanes that devastated islands like Jamaica, Barbuda, Dominica and The Bahamas, volcanic eruptions, and health crises. These events are reminders of how vulnerable Caribbean SIDS are to external and internal shocks; today Caribbean SIDS are grappling with how to restart their economies and embrace a "new normal" in the wake of disasters and the sharp losses in tourism. Pandemics, Disasters, Sustainability, Tourism examines the resilience of Caribbean SIDS and their tourism industries from the perspectives of culture, economy, environment, politics, psychology, social justice, and socio-historical context. Pandemics, Disasters, Sustainability, Tourism's broad-based topics engage scholars, students, and the public in discourse regarding Caribbean SIDS' resilient Island economies that, facing calamity, implement new initiatives to forge environmentally sound policies for sustainable tourism and hospitality development.
Publication Date: 2022
Women and Tourist Work in Jamaica by A. Lynn BollesIn Women and Tourist Work in Jamaica: Seven Miles of Sandy Beach, A. Lynne Bolles examines Jamaican women tourist workers and their workplaces in Negril, Jamaica. A major component of Negril's tourism success is the labor of women tourist workers, ranging from housekeepers to hotel and business owners.
Handbook of Research on Sustainable Tourism and Hotel Operations in Global Hypercompetition by Hakan Sezerel (Editor); Bryan Christiansen (Editor)To compete effectively today and remain sustainable over the long term, business organizations must create flexible means of generating competitive advantage given the hypercompetitive nature of the global marketplace in all industries including tourism. The COVID-19 pandemic has exacerbated the situation, thus requiring the tourism industry to reassess itself and realign operations with global and local realities. The Handbook of Research on Sustainable Tourism and Hotel Operations in Global Hypercompetition examines various aspects of the hospitality, recreation, and tourism industries. It contributes empirical research, theoretical development, and current best practices to the field. Covering topics such as sustainable medical tourism, technology acceptance model, and cultural tourism, this major reference work is an essential resource for community leaders, business executives and managers, government officials, librarians, students and faculty of higher education, researchers, and academicians.
Publication Date: 2022-10-07
Culture as a Critical Enabler for Tourism Destination Development by Manuela Presutti, Francesco Barbini, Massimo Ferdinandi, Jessica CattabianiThe relationship between cultural heritage and tourism has stimulated the theoretical debate for many years. While it is evident that cultural attractions have the potential to be critical assets for tourism policymakers and destinations, tourist behaviors are often seen as potential harm to both the preservation of cultural heritage and the development of a profound cultural experience. Nevertheless, a growing number of experiences show that a sound management of cultural tourism can generate substantial social, economic, and even environmental benefits. This chapter aims to investigate the trajectories and strategies tourism destinations can adopt to leverage their (material and immaterial) cultural assets, improve their brand, and eventually, enhance their competitive position in the tourism markets, with particular reference to the case of Parma Italian Capital of Culture 2020.