Private Companies
-
Information on small, private companies is much harder to find. One database to use in the library is Mergent Intellect.
-
Often the best way to find information on small businesses is to search for articles from magazines, trade journals, and newspapers in the following databases:
-
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
-
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (1971+) This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world
-
Nexis Uni - All Content This link opens in a new window
See UCF User Help Guide
Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. -
Business Insights (Gale) (1980+) This link opens in a new windowA collection of company & industry information, including articles, financials, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and chronologies
(formerly Business & Company Resource Center) -
Orlando Sentinel (ProQuest Southeast News Stream) (1985+) This link opens in a new windowComplete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Classifieds and advertisements are excluded.
Click for earlier content from the Sentinel and other area newspapers.
